We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never let you down!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China Doll

China Doll
4/6 Cowper Wharf Road, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (City East)
02 9380 6744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $75
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Malaysian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: City East
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will never let you down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have dined at China Doll on numerous occasions and in different size groups and I can not fault any of my experiences. The food is always great, service is alway prompt and the staff are very helpful. This is a place I like to take anyone visiting Sydney. It is in a great location and hasgreat ambiance in the evening, sitting surrounded by the city lit up.
The dishes are best shared in a group. I have dined here with just my partner and it can be quite alot of food for two people.
My last dining was 2 weeks ago with a group of 8 people visiting from the UK. We chose a broad selection of the starters and entrees to share and then shared 3 mains (2 pork belly and 1 Massaman curry). The Pork Belly will always be my favourite! I am not a big pork eater, but this is just delicious!
All in all, we consumed 2 bottles of wine, about 11 beers and rolled out of there with very full and satisfy bellies. The total cost ended up coming to $60 pp including a tip.
This is great food, great location and great value for money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    146
    48
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

One of the best chinese fusion meals I have had. Any of the China restaurants are great.

Service was good, with the waiter willing to make recommendations on our first visit that catered to all tastes. The food is great to share and gives you the opportunity to try a lot more.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrific dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

What a consistently great dining experience we had at this buzzy restaurant in a beautiful setting by the water.
We had five entrees and three mains and nothing was a disappointment. The standouts were the scallops served on the shell, the wontons (which were a special on the menu) and the Penang curry of Wagyu beef shin.
The service was excellent, and a selection of desserts "on the house" topped off a most enjoyable evening.
Prices are reasonable and the location is priceless.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“always a great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Lunch at China Doll today was just as good as we had a year ago. In Sydney some places drop their standards. Not this place. Great Asian fusion food, emphasis on taste, presentation and excellent service. And the setting never tires.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Chinease restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

One of the best Chinease restaurants I've been to in the World! The dishes are not your usual Chinease but are very specialised and the flavours are amazing. Not cheap but you definitly get what you pay for: great service, amazing food and can't beat the location. Recommend for couples but also great for bigger groups!
The cocktails are also worth mentioning, have a few to start the night off!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Doll also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to China Doll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Doll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.