We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasting food with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mint

Cafe Mint
579 Crown St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
612 9319 0848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #345 of 5,486 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $13 - $34
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean, Turkish, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located at the Cleveland St end of Crown St, Cafe Mint is a small (40 seat)cafe by day, restaurant by night,establishment that celebrates the cuisines and flavours of the Mediterranean and the Middle East.Interesting breakfast items, quick and tasty lunches and delicious exotic dinner dishes keep this busy eatery full, especially at weekends.Licensed and BYO it's an ideal spot for a memorable meal in Sydney's most restaurant dense suburb, Surry Hills.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great tasting food with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

I'm a local and eat and Mint from time to time. Ate there last, chicken tangine was terrific and I washed it down with a good Italian red.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best breaky in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Mint is deinfately a winner!
Great coffee (Allpress), service and food is delicisous.
Try the eggs - buttery and scambled to perfection. Lamb mince and hommus, with caramilised onion - delicious. Baked eggs with spice baked beans - definately a winter favourite!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An exotic little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Arrived for lunch on a Friday and could see why staff had indicated on the phone earlier that there was no reason to book - there were only a couple of people seated in the small cafe. To be frank we debated lunching elsewhere as there was little atmosphere but was so glad we didn't!

The service was friendly and prompt. I opted for the potato & roasted garlic ravioli with minted yogurt & topped with lamb which was delicious and filled with flavour. My colleague was very happy with the pomegranate lamb fillet skewers which came with a very fresh salad. The lime cheesecake with watermelon jelly & strawberries filled the sweet spot. Good coffee & good selection of wines available. I will be back again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautifully conceived and cooked Morrocan fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Have been to this restaurant a number of times and am never disappointed. It's not the cheapest in the area but certainly one of the best in terms of quality. It has a shortish menu but caters for vegetarian tates and it does change every so often. The beef cheek tagine was delicious and the meat cooked to perfection and it melted in your mouth. The lamb was beautifully flavoured and not over cooked. Previously I have tried dishes such as the pumpkin gnocchi, duck and chicken. I have never had a bad or even average dish. Seating is laegly on wooden stoolsbenches and the place is quite small. The food never disappoints.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“quirkey, cool place, excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I found this restaurant in my travel australia book, it had a good recomendation and seeing as both my fiance and i love middle eastern cusine, being brought up on such foods we were eager to try it , we were extremely pleased it was beautiful food good friendly service.we shared a meze of 4 different dips including humous, tabuly etc with lovely crispy turkish style garlic bread and hallumi skewers , i had the fatoush salad which was great and pretty large portions with fetta and arabic pita and extremely good value, my fiance had a lamb dish which he also thought was excellent.
I definatly reccomend it the place was chilled out and a little quirkey but a nice setting, the only thing which i'd say that they awk to change is the seating arrangements where on one side of the table there is just a stool which is a little uncomfortable , but other than that excellent we were very impressed!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mint also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Mint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.