We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lobster restaurant in Sydney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Angel

Blue Angel
223 Palmer St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Inner East)
9380-5941
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,298 of 5,319 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner East
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best lobster restaurant in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is the only place to really experience outstanding live lobsters in Sydney. Fresh and wonderfully prepared exactly to your liking, here you can choose from the enormous tanks, lobsters from different states as well as King Island crab. My family has been coming here
since the 60's, and Marcello never ever fails to produce the ultimate feast. He also makes a
mean Crepe Suzette!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Excellent food with great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We went for late dinner on Friday. Most of the diners were at their desserts and we had the attention of all the servers. We ordered lobster sashimi and cappacio(spelling?) and we have never tasted anything so good in any renowned restaurants in the world! Main reason, we think is because of the freshness of the ingredient. The lobster soup using the left over from the sashimi was unbeliveably tasty. The wagyu sirloin steak followed was from heaven. Side dishes was perfectly done. We barely have space for the lobster shell cooked with pasta although it tasted so good. We will recommend anybody who knows how to appreciate good food to dine here. Price is so reasonable and we will definitely return with more friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ainslie ACT
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“essesce of freshness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Abit hidden away but a discovery to fedd the senses. Austrailian lobster at $100/kilo fresh out of the sea water tanks and Wagu Beed with the highest fat score. Pasta that is finger licking good, soup (lobster bisque) with multiple levels of taste sensation. Dessert cooked at the tale done propery in the traditional style.....alll soooo gooood!!!

We had lobster sashime to start off the th ehead and claws were grilled. It was done to perfection as lobster if over cooked grilled is just tough!! Sashime need to be cut preciseley as if cut wrong the meat is stringy and cannot be easy chewed!!! The know their lobster here!!!

The steak Wagu at $75/kile was just perfect. We chose a sirlion about 2 inches thick. Sirlion is the choice cut as it has flavour althought the eye fillet is tender it does not have the same flavour. My family is a bit difficilt as I like my steak rare to blue and my wife likes her's well done to burnt!!!!. We thought it would be a challenge fo rth echef and he came out to check the waiter had not made a mistake for my wife. Order was confirmed and when it came out my wife could not be happier and i was delighted with blue wagu!!!

Spagethi came next with a lobster sauce. Pasta waas tender and eldante to the taste, sauce perfectly balance with the seafood and there was no need to further enhance it with shaved parmesan chesse!!! a real delight

Service was attentive but not intrusive, plates were changed between courses and our glasses were always topped up

Desset was crepe suzette cookeat teh table and appropriately flambee with singe don our hairline to prove it. Sugar was properly caramelised and the liquor and brandy added separely to give ith the depth of taste. Serve with a quality ice cream and double fresh cream it was right that we ordered TWO more serve to sate out our desires

The ownere came out and chatted with us giving a bit of a history and his experience!!!
We are also restauranter owing a coule of Asian Eatereis in Canberra and could understand his penchant for quality and price with service tuned to the customeers.

I considered it real fine dining with serve which is not too fussy with oppurtuies wito interact with the chef and owner.

Overall for the quality and level of service I would not call it expensive... I would go so far as to say it was FAIRLY priced

Well worth it and a must do when in Ssydney...to taste REAL fine australian seafood and beef!!

I will return!!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food but poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been to this restaurant twice, the food was absolutely great, nice and fresh lobster, best wagyu beef.
However, the service was extrame poor. Waiter has a long face and impatience. We were arranged a table next to a very noise group (Many Chinese and Japanese tourist group eating here). We asked if we could move to the other room which seems quiter and received immediate reply: 'No, you didn't make a reservation so you can only seat here, we are fully booked'. However, until we finished our dinner at 10pm, only two table were seated in the other room!
We arrived the restaurant around 6:45 and finished our 4 course dinner at 10pm! We just wait wait wait wait and endless waiting for our food. The expensive wagyu beef came last, after our main dish. When it's on the table, we were quite full already and tired.
Overall, I wouldn't visit this place again, the service bring the food down!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Old School, Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Blue Angel reminds you of the old days when a steakhouse was a steakhouse, and man this is a steakhouse.

Hand cut beautiful Wagyu beef, prepared to perfection, and don't miss the beautiful mushrooms. Amazing!!

Great wine, service and ambiance tops a perfect evening at Blue Angel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Angel also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Blue Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.