We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Indian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blu Ginger

Blu Ginger
147 Blues Point Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
(02) 8904 1255
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,541 of 5,318 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My favourite authentic Indian in Sydney. Great quality food; so different to the cheap indian take-away you would find anywhere local. Friendly staff. Clean & Fast service. Great value for money. Nice atmosphere, especially in warmer weather when there is alfresco dining. Plenty of local parking.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our preferred local Indian. Tasty dishes, casual atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We regularly eat at Blu Ginger for our Indian fix. Service is pretty relaxed and friendly. Highly recommend anything from the tandoor for amazing flavour. We also regularly enjoy the almond pumpkin lamb, prawn Malabar and butter chicken.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty average and check your bill!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Pretty average Indian restaurant, there's definitely better restaurants in McMahons Point but is fine for a local. We used the entertainment book gold card and they told us we could only have 20% off as they had changed the offer which we knew to be incorrect (and we doubled checked the offer). They gave us some cash back but even that was incorrect but we didn't argue further. Lacking in atmosphere and the staff are a bit lack lustre. I had the pistachio chicken which was bland, my partner had the Aloo Matar Paneer which he enjoyed. All of this was fine for a Friday night bite but be sure to check your bill.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We're from England and it's hard to find a good Indian in Sydney. We've found one here, nice hot spices. Have to book at the weekend as not that big.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“YUMMM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Dined here as a catch up with friends. The smell from the place was very inviting. The staff were very friendly, attentive but not overbearing or hovering around. The food arrived to the table very quick and was well presented. Ordered the Goat curry which was beautiful & tender and the Sagwala Beef was outstanding.
Banquets are available also.
Prices were reasonable.
I will be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu Ginger also viewed

McMahons Point, North Sydney
Stanmore, Sydney
 
Rozelle, Sydney
 

Been to Blu Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blu Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.