We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Billy Kwong

Billy Kwong
3/355 Crown Street | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
(02) 9332 3300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #210 of 5,319 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Oh Dear.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Beginning to hit a low point on our Aussie culinary trip, and now fear cancelling China Doll in favour of Kylie's place may have been a mistake. It is essentially a cafe with tiny (I mean tiny) tables and stools to sit on, serving food of a very average nature. It also has a pretentious nature in relation to it's organic, sustainable context (is this an Aussie restaurant thing?). Don't misunderstand, we enjoyed it, but in the context of cost v experience it was well off the mark. Maybe we should have gone banquet menu, but we were worried about over-doing it. Crispy prawn won-tons with chilli sauce were wonderful. Sung Choi Bao of Pork, Ginger & Mushrooms less so, plus it is a very messy thing to eat for amateurs like ourselves un-used to folding lettuce to encapsulate the pork mixture. The signature crispy duck in orange was OK, bit too sweet for my taste (certainly not the "clean" taste Kylie espouses though. Not recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    70
    47
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cottesloe, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“WOW Kylie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Brilliant -Fantastic - authentic
Worth queuing up for this- had the banquet menu - surprise after surprise Kylies take on regional Chinese master dishes
So impressed that I have been raving about this experience Go and enjoy !!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
583 reviews 583 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“A FOODIE S&M EXPERIENCE.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This might have been one of the first so called up market ( in price ) restaurants to do the teeny weeny sit on the stool experience . I love Kylies food , but its way too expensive now for what it is especially having to eat at a cramped table sitting on a teeny stool . I wanted to go again , but I got outside the door , saw the stools are still there , looked at the crazy prices on the menu and thought NAAAAAAAAA...... i'll go and sit on a shabby vinyl chair somewhere and eat duck for a quarter of the price , at least I won't get a sore back and I will have enough money left over to eat well a few times again.
Some times things are good , and its good to go once , but then when you think you want to try to go back , you realise it just won't be worth it .
Kylies food is good , but the total concept is missing something ...Its like a kind of punishment , in order to eat her delicious food we need to be punished by paying too much for the experience and suffering discomfort while we dine .

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

One of the best meals I have had. Kylie kwong is amazing. The food is delicious. The presentation, the flavour. The location, the ambiance is delightful. Thank you billy kwong. Xo

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Recently took a family group for dinner. Fantastic food, great location, good wines. A pity about the seating. Cheap Ikea-looking stools do not encourage guests to linger and order more food. Uncomfortable seating (especially for more mature backs and bottoms) won't encourage further visits. Waitstaff are attentive and courteous, the food is excellent. BYO would make the price of meals appear less daunting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Kwong also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Billy Kwong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy Kwong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.