We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new Favourite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Billy Kwong

Billy Kwong
Shop 1, 28 Macleay Street | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
(02) 9332 3300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 5,486 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“My new Favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I only went to Billy Kwong's a month ago for the first time and have already been back. This food is another level, and foodies will appreciate. The produce is all fresh and beautiful and Kylie is an absolute legend in the kitchen. We had the pork belly, duck (I have never tasted duck so good in my life), which are her signature dishes. The san choi bow was also delicious and what surprised me the most was the biodynamic white wine. This was one of Kylie's home made wines and was absolutely delicious without feeling crap the next day. You need to get here early if you don't want to wait as there is a following. We arrived at 6pm and were seated straight away. Service is excellent. This is my new favourite. Well done Kylie and team.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    78
    53
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We had hoped for more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

First an observation: No reservations, opened at 6pm; by 6.20, they were taking down names. By the time we left, it looked like they would easily be full for the night.
The menu: almost every line had organic or similar along with a statement of philosophy opposite. This and the 'fair trade, make poverty history, or similar' signage was a little disturbing in the same way as one might feel in sitting down with a new convert who can talk of nothing else even though we largely share the sentiments.
The food: we had been quite some time back but returned having seen Kylie on TV and having read a lot of her recipes - the food wasn't like that. There is nothing wrong with using local ingredients with Chinese methods of cooking; however, for us, it didn't work but also we found some of the food a little overcooked.
Service very good except please don't respond to each of our selections when ordering with "great" or some other superlative - is that to imply that we missed things that weren't so good - of course not. And my ego doesn't require it.
Overall, I would have gone somewhere else with the benefit of hindsight. My wife was glad we went because she is the more inquisitive of the two. Both of us agree however that once was enough.
However, this reflects only the view of 2: see my initial observation above - you may just need to decide for yourself...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Delicious food but not a particularly relaxing night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We resented the expectation that you need to queue in the street to get a seat and when you were seated it was very uncomfortable...squashed into a corner and very noisy. We are both medium build but would not suggest this restaurant to the overweight, obese or anyone with mobility issues. It can be embarrassing trying to get in and out! I have had spinal surgery not so long ago and the seating here was a cause of mild anxiety! So perhaps the management needs to think about being more inclusive in that regard. The quality of the food is excellent - beautiful fresh ingredients cooked to perfection. We did feel the servings were rather small for the price; for example, the silken tofu dish...we often make a similar dish at home for a fraction of the price. The mark up on some inexpensive ingredients seemed excessive. However, we did find every dish we ordered delicious. We would return again if they adopt a reservation arrangement like most other restaurants and also the comfort of their customers is taken into greater consideration.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Deconstructed Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We took 2 friends there on our first night in Sydney without booking and were lucky to be early enough to get a table. It filled up pretty fast after that. The tables are small but the spacing of the food made it work as promised by the good waitress. Kylie Kwong was also eating there and was very gracious when I spoke to her and told her what a fan I am. We ordered 2 of the specials: salmon filled won tons and a noodles and chicken 'salad'. The Noodles salad was not really a cold salad but lovely hot, home made noodles dressed with shredded chicken/vegetables and some wonderful dressing! We all agreed that was yummy! Then we were presented with a freebie from Kylie of some sort of crackers with her delicious home made pickles. Then we had something else I forget what as well as some vegetable and her famous duck in orange sauce. Altogether a delicious dinner. Space was a bit squashed and a bit difficult to talk but well worth it. A VERY clean pure taste. I would be a regular if we lived i Sydney. Good price too for Sydney.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne - AUS
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Great food, great service and (for Sydney) not a rip off. 5*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you are looking for a cozy, romantic night with your other half - pick another place. If you are looking for a restaurant that is buzzy, casual and serves great food, then this is it.
Service is very good, the place is small and you are crammed together and sit on stools which can get uncomfortable after a while, but when you are digging into your food, your numb bum is forgotton about.
Serving sizes are good, flavour is superb. If you are looking for a quality, tasty and reasonably good value night enjoying some of the best Chinese food in Sydney - book ahead and reserve a table at Billy Kwongs'.
The menu varies but visit the website for a sample of what is offered.

I marked down on romance and special occasion because it is a little noisy - but that will only worry those that are looking for a quiet night together.
The food here is first rate.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Kwong also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Billy Kwong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy Kwong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.