We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carrington Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Carrington Apartments to your Saves list
Carrington Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   57 York St., Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Never stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Myself and my partner arrived here late one Saturday night in January 2011 after a flight. When we first arrived we were hopeful as the owner had left a key out for us as it was late, which we thought was very helpful. However, as soon as we opened the door we were horrified, the floor was dirty, it had stains all over it, the couch/sofa had tears and stains on, the bed had what looked like dirty sheets - at the very least they had black hairs on them anyway. The towels were stained, the fridge and microwave were dirty, and the dishwasher was still full of dirty plates and cultery. We were so discusted with our room that we immediately took photographic evidence of all of it and then had to go and find a last minute hotel elsewhere. Luckily we found a travelodge just down that same road which was so much better. It is a shame as the place could be made so much better if it was clean, painted and the furniture changed. The whole experience was upsetting and stressful. I would not recommend to anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Make sure you always check numerous reviews : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarringtonSydney, General Manager at Carrington Apartments, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
I prefer not to respond to any reviews either positive or negative but at the same time the items mentioned by all guests are noted and if necessary, action is taken to overcome any concerns.

Part of my assessment is the depth of experience the guest has in commenting on the standard of accommodation offered.

This reviewer, as stated on their profile has never submitted any other review from their sole trip.

I also note that the other accommodation provider mentioned is a Hotel wherein the Carrington Apartments are fully self contained residential Apartments with full cooking, laundry etc facilities. The Hotel accommodation, by their nature is a lot different, a higher star rating and cost consideration.

The ability to cook your own meals at the Carrington Apartments is a major consideration for many guests. The Carrington apartments is not a furniture shop and does wish to be but offers a good clean standard of family accommodation at a reasonable price.

When I look at the comments submitted other more experienced travelers, then take into consideration the massive bookings from repeat guest I firmly believe Trevor and his staff are satisfying the genuine family accommodation market.

The complex is generally fully booked which in itself is a good sign that it is meeting market needs.

I encourage intending guests to consider other reviews from more 'experienced' travelers

Bruce Morgan - Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    12
    7
    14
See reviews for
27
12
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

After reading various reviews, we had apprehension about this property, but upon entering our apartment, our concerns were removed from our minds. We had a 2 bedroom apartment and it was spacious, clean and very adequate. You cannot complain about its value for money. Trevor, the manager, is very friendly and helpful. We had fresh towels on each day of our stay, and that surprised us. The location is so central to everything in the city. For the budget minded traveler, especially with a family, there is nothing to complain about this property. We would definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We visited Sydney this Christmas to visit friends and family and, since we were looking for a place to stay for a couple of weeks that wouldn't cost us a fortune and that would be centrally located so that we could walk easily around the city, Carrington Apartments seemed to be the best choice we had.
Centrally located, our apartment was next to Wynyard station, and very very close to most of Sydney's sights and attractions, as well as the main down town shopping areas. We could start our day making our own breakfast at our kitchen and then walk down York street and go, practically, everywhere. At night the main entrance wouldn't open unless you knew the entry code to the property, so you could feel quite safe, since none could enter the hotel apart from the residents.
The apartment seemed a bit old, with certain little spots, like the bathroom tiles, the doorknobs, or the lights, needing some attention, but, generally, it was a good place to stay, away from home, if you are not after overpriced luxuries. It could be much improved if renovated, but that doesn't mean that it wasn't adequately pleasant for a short stay. When something would break down, it would be replaced by the same or the next day, as had happened with our dryer.
The service included a daily towel change and a weekly sheet change, plus cleaning the bathrooms and any dirty dishes left at the sink. I think that some more attention could be paid on the room's cleanliness. A little more attention to details would certainly be more than welcome and highly appreciated.
An other issue was that of finding a normally priced parking space for our car. It isn't possible to park the car at the front of the hotel, since parking is prohibited for all vehicles from 6am to 6pm. We left it once at a parking down the street, off Wynyard station, but we ended up paying about 140 AUD for just an overnight use. The next night we were looking for an other parking nearby, but after an unexpected drive over the Harbour Bridge and back, we ended using one we found at the Darling Harbour, not so far away for someone who does not get easily tired by walking, where we could pay just about 26 AUD for our usual overnight use.
I would certainly recommend this apartment hotel for families travelling with children or teenagers that have a limited or tight budget, or others who do not want to spend money on overpriced services and facilities, but I would also recommend the hotel's management to proceed with any renovation plans they may have, sine I think that with some small touches and a little bit more attention to small details it could become a first class apartment hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment with street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotorua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Five of us came from New Zealand for four nights to see Jersey Boys and visit the sites. On arrival we where given a map on the best places to eat and visit and advice on what other shows where on. Our apartment was close to supermarkets a short stroll to the theatre,shops Darling harbour, it was all so close. If you want to spend money on a flash apartment dont use the Carrington its shabby, that cannot be denied it needs a new TV the washing machine over flows But we loved it two toilets for five women was bonus! Comfy couches, decent balcony and a good sized fridge. We would all stay again and recomend these apartmentsas they are value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

carrington apartments is right in the middle of bustling sydney, giving you great access to all of sydney's attactions within walking distance. you can get to the apartment from the airport by airportlink train service and get off at wynyard station which is literally at its doorstep (just across the street..seriously). if you would like to cook in your apartment, the nearest coles supermarket is in the wynyard train station itself. great convenience! sydney harbour, sydney bridge, opera house, the rocks, QVB, martin's place are all within walking distances. and trevor the manager is very friendly and helpful. we stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment and it is very spacious with lounge and dining area. kitchen also has complete utensils. i will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

We had read previous reviews and were apprehensive but decided to chance staying at Carrington. Trevor was great. The apartment was adequate - spacious, but desperately in need of refurbishment. - a coat of paint, rusting air conditioners replaced, shower doors fixed, etc. Surely there is some way to clean the balconys. The children's feet were black every time they went out onto the balcony which doesn't help the condition of the carpets. Are the apartments inspected on a regular basis? A great location which enabled us to walk to all attractions. Would require a refurbished apatment if we stayed again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

The carrington apartments is an ideal place for those who are more interested in site seeing. Just a few minutes walk will take you to the main attractions of sydney. I stayed there for a week, in a single bedroom apartment with my husband and 2 kids. the apartment is very spacious and it also has a fully equipped kitchen which i found very useful when staying with young kids.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carrington Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington Apartments

Address: 57 York St., Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carrington Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Apartments Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrington Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.