We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location..all we needed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels to your Saves list
Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Kings Cross Road | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location..all we needed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

Stayed for five nights after doing a lot of research through trip advisor...Diamant stacked up for us. The area that the Hotel is situated in could be classified as a bit "seedy" ..a typical Kings Cross connotation..however in our view Kings Cross is a minor factor in the big picture!.. if you are here for great restaurants, great walks, shopping, leisure then this is the place to stay. We did not enjoy the "rougher" area of kings cross ..but felt safe..and if you can see past all that then what you really get is a great lively buzzy atmosphere....and to be honest we were not at all bothered by the environment at all..we chose to stay here for it's vibrancy, and accessibility to great restaurants etc.. A taxi from the airport cost $40.00 and the Diamant is literally 200 metres from the train station so getting around Sydney was a breeze. A trip to Bondi Junction for shopping is a must...as is Bondi beach, Manly..etc Public transport is very good in Sydney and safe....a week transport pass is the cheapest way to get around if you intend to use the train, ferries etc a lot.

The room was good...although could have been a little cleaner..(however as the decor and furniture is dark brown/black I understand it shows every mark! ) The Bathroom was compact and we found it a little claustrophobic but it was fully utilisable and the shower was good. ..The sound proofing from road noise/nightlife etc was pretty good..and air con worked well. It was a bonus to have opening windows also!

The Bed was one of the best hotel beds we have ever stayed in ( and we are super fussy about this)..the linen was second to none and changed daily. The shampoo and conditioner were of the highest quality...I have never seen such a lovely product like this in a hotel before. The only minor gripe was that the rooms and corridors are dimly lit (I know it's the style they are after)....but the rooms were a bit dark at night if you wanted a good reading light you are out of luck... however we were ok with this. The Ipod docking station was excellent, the safe a standard size and storage was good. The fridge was small..but ok. The view was great considering the location...we got great Williams St views....spectacular at night! We felt safe in this hotel and believe it is the best of all the hotels in this area..we have stayed at a few and viewed many and the Diamant stacks up well against it's competitors! Unbeatable in this area!



Front of house and concierge were good..Adrian was especially great to deal with! The other man was less friendly however the other staff were great.

Our tips for restaurants/eateries..all located on Victoria St and very close to hotel

Spice I am....the best Thai ever
Malabar...very good Indian cuisine
Wow Cow....frozen natural yoghurt....fabulous
Messina....genuine and top quality Gelato..
Pizza...I think it was called Mad Pizza (or similar)...very good meals here.
..and many many more options for every budget.

In the Potts point area we have a favourite breakfast cafe called Metrio...fabulous coffee, the best ever Mocha my husband has had and out of this world banana bread..it's also a great place to spot a few celebs on the weekend during brunch/lunch!


All in all this hotel fitted the bill for us...With Sydney accommodation it can be a compromise between location and the need for atmosphere...the Diamant isn't in the Best location if you are after the central city area, however that area is dead at night and for us we walked to dinner every night, got a gelato at 10pm if we wished...all so close and handy....if we stayed in the CBD we would have not had such superb accessibility to our fave restaurants..it gave us the flexibility to pop out for dinner, go for a walk..then out for desser..,all with such ease...we think for a five days stay... Diamant was great and we would always stay here..so close to Darlinghurst and Potts Point..two upmarket ares....where we ventured for all our meals..and these areas are very classy.. There is also a Coles supermarket very nearby to the hotel with all you need snack wise, water, fruit.....there is also a little massage/reflexology place in the Supermarket entrance area..it's not at all flash but the staff are very good and it is very well priced. The gym that is aligned with Daimant is of high quality also! We also enjoyed many walks from our Hotel, down to the Botanical gardens and around the waters edge to the opera house..this is spectacular and the views etc are wonderful!....

In summary..we will be back if this place stays in a good price range...and continues to be well placed on tripadvisor....it's a great middle/upper range hotel with the basics we needed and in an unbeatable location for us. Thanks Diamant!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    162
    59
    26
    18
See reviews for
20
218
65
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

We've stayed twice at the Diamont for two & four days respectively.
The rooms are great with a big tv, comfy bed and are quiet considering the location of the hotel.
The staff are friendly and accommodating had some post dispatched to the hotel prior to our arrival.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantSydGM, General Manager at Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 9, 2009
Dear Langdonhiott,
Thank you for your comments, and for taking the time to relay your feedback!

The Diamant Hotel Sydney aims to provide luxury service at an affordable price. The hotel has all the features of a small boutique hotel, in the most interesting location of Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you back, to WOW you again!

Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

I recently stayed 3 nights at the Diamont Hotel and it was three nights too many. The rooms were nice enough and we were able to get in early. The first night, though, I was awoken to the smell of cigarette smoke filling my room. The second day, there were two giant bugs in our room, one a moth and one bigger & scarier than the moth. The receptionist came up to check it out with some Raid; he didn't see it and did not think it was a big deal. He did leave us the raid. Then as night came the bugs continued to fly over our heads as the smell of smoke slowly returned to our room. I called down again and asked if this was a smoking floor, the receptionist informed me the whole building was smoke free. Finally, between the bugs and the smoke we asked to be moved. Once we moved to our new room, we were instantly met with the bad smell of smoke again and the sound of people partying until 5 am. If you don't mind smoke and are there to party all night and not sleep then this is the hotel for you. Otherwise, I would avoid this place!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantSydGM, General Manager at Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 9, 2009
Dear Lainey2332,

Thank you for your valuable feedback, it disappoints me that your stay was not what you had hoped for.

The Diamant Hotel Sydney has a strict no-smoking policy in place within the hotel, and guests who do not adhere to our signage and constant warnings are fined accordingly.

The Diamant Hotel Sydney also has a strict on party policy, and have on site security to handle those guests who do not cooperate, it saddens me that there were a few inconsiderate guests who spoiled your experience here.

Our staff is trained to deal with these situations, and as a result of your valuable feedback I will re-iterate this with all.

We trust that if you stayed with our hotel in the future, your experience will be different.

We do hope to have you back soon.

Kind Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

We stayed in one of the rooms with a balcony, I think rm 208 from memory. Room was okay but overall experience let down by a few key things.
Behind the TV the wall has been replaced with some sort of panel which meant we could clearly hear the guys in the next room who were there for a good time and still going into the wee hours. In the morning they had jumped over the wall separating balconies and taken our chairs, but worse still they had thrown their plastic cups and cigarette butts onto our balcony.
Not the hotels fault, so I went down to reception and asked the lady (I think the manager) to have someone clean the area up when the room got serviced.
When we got back later that day the balcony had not been touched. I went to reception again and they sent up a guy who went out, picked up half of the butts and left.
For us it was the noisiness of the room combined with the lack of effort to clean that made for a disappointing stay. I know it was not the hotels fault the guys next door were pigs but it wasn’t pleasant to come back to it in the same state.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantSydGM, General Manager at Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 5, 2009
Dear Konigv

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your feedback, it is disappointing when there are a few inconsiderate guests, whom can spoil the experience!

Your room should have been attended to by our housekeeping department. It is disappointing that upon arrival this had not been attended too. Normally housekeeping respond to this immediately.

Our courtyard rooms are ideal for combining alfresco living and to soak up Sydney, however they also can attract guests whom smoke and I apologies that you had to endure the wrath of this.

We hope that we can welcome you back to The Diamant Hotel Sydney, to experience our fantastic hotel again.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

We arrived in Sydney at around 6am on a Sunday morning and it suddenly dawned on us that the room was unlikely to be ready, we made our way to the hotel on the off chance. When we arrived it was clear they'd had a very hectic night and they were full to brimming however the guy on reception realised we'd travelled a long way and were in need of attention! He took us up to a shower room, gave us towels and shower gel so we could freshen up and even gave us an adapter so I could dry my hair!
They held on to our luggage and sent us off down the road to grab some breakfast at the Bondi Cafe (which I have to add is a great place to eat and drink with a very warm reception!)
They called us to tell us our room was ready, sooner than we expected so we headed back. The room was very much as described and shown on the website, not really boutique in the true sense of the word but it's modern, clean, bright and very spacious!
The bathroom was clean with all the bits and pieces you'd expect with great shampoo and conditioner!! Odd to comment on that but it was THAT GOOD!
The area does have a wide range of entertainment but it's not in your face and there are good bars and eateries around (I loved pie face), it felt safe, the train station was a stone's throw away, there's great jogging with lots of hills and steps if you're so inclined and the street the hotel is on is very quiet.
All in all we'd stay again and we thank the staff for a great service

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantSydGM, General Manager at Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, October 27, 2009
Dear Conkerz,

Thank you for your feedback. I am thrilled your stay here in Sydney was enjoyable, and The Diamant Hotel Sydney catered to your needs.

We understand the importance of good service, and will do our very best to accommodate your every need, no matter how difficult. We believe this is the charm of a boutique hotel, and it is this personable service that keeps our regular guests coming back.

I am pleased you took advantage of the location, and what Sydney has to offer. The Diamant Hotel Sydney looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We found this hotel to be just as described on their website. We stayed there from the 21st to 24th September 2009. The staff were really helpful, even loaned us an unberella when it was raining!!! The concierge was fantastic and helped us with everything from confirming a dinner reservation to toll charge payments online!!!

We booked a deluxe room and had an excellent television , tea making facilities and wetroom/bathroom. We were lucky enough to have a good view of the harbour bridge, but this was more out of luck than being requested. They also have access to a Fitness First Gym around the corner of the hotel, which was really good. There is also free access to the internet from the computer on the front desk at reception. The only thing is that you have to stand at the reception to use it. If you want to take it to your room I believe there is a charge for that.

The only things I would say worth noting is that it is a good 20 minutes walk into the town centre. On the plus side you are very near the Kings Cross train station which can take you to the Harbour Quay (you need to change trains to do this). As for the area, it is known as a red light district, with bars/clubs catering for both gay and straight people. Having said this, the hotel is not on a street that this nightlife is particulary evident. The main excitement and diversity is on Darlinghurst road which is perpendicular to Kings Cross Road.

I would say that the area is not nearly as bad as some people had made out to me before I went! Yes if you are looking for "seedy adventures" you will find them! But if you are just out for a few drinks in the area and to capture the atmosphere then you will have a good time.

Definately worth booking this hotel and would go again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantSydGM, General Manager at Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 5, 2009
Dear Toptravels

Thank you for your comments.

The Diamant Hotel Sydney really has a focus on personal service, and that is emolliated in our staff and concierge.

We are pleased that your stay proved to be a great experience, and that you took advantage of the great location and facilities.

We hope to have you back at The Diamant Hotel Sydney in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I stayed in Diamant for 2 weeks in Sydney and I have to say that it is the best accommodation I have stayed in Australia. The value was exceptional and the level of service and friendliness is not something I have come across often. I highly recommend anyone to stay here. It was a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Address: 14 Kings Cross Road | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sydney
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Darlinghurst, Kings Cross and Potts Point triangle, Sydney’s premier entertainment and cultural precinct, the Diamant Hotel offers a sensual decor, generous proportions and the latest in-room luxury amenities. Only a 10 min stroll to Sydney’s Town Hall, Financial District, Oxford St shopping, and the Woolloomooloo Wharf and short drive to Bondi Beach and the International airport, the Diamant's elegant design and world class views are matched only by breathtaking service and incomparable value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney
Diamant Boutique Hotel
Diamant Boutique Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.