We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Ignore any negative review!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larmont Sydney by Lancemore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Larmont Sydney by Lancemore to your Saves list
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Kings Cross Road | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (City East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Loved it! Ignore any negative review!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is perfection for what we wanted. We wanted central, boutique, trendy, clean and at a reasonably priced. After extensive research and despite some bad reviews a couple of years ago,(by people who couldn't sleep off their hangovers due to nearby construction site noise, idiots, I mean please, that has nothing to do with the hotel) we decided that The Diamant was the winner and we booked. And am I glad we did! From the moment we arrived, the hotel is clean and tidy, well decorated and really quite impressive for the price. The staff were super friendly and helpful, nothing was a problem, nothing was a drama. When we got to our room it was clean and tidy with comfortable bedding, lovely designed and clean bathroom and ample space.
The staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay and it really did make it that much more enjoyable.
I would recommend this hotel and will definitely be back. I would also not hesitate to give any of the other 8 Hotels a try.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelSyd, General Manager at Larmont Sydney by Lancemore, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Wow Laura K

Thank you for taking the time to broadly comment on your recent stay.

Regards
Team @ Diamant Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    179
    64
    27
    18
See reviews for
23
233
69
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I booked the room as a surprise for my partner's birthday and we were extremely well looked after - lovely room, lovely service and a great breakfast at Tiger Baker's cafe which is just around the corner from the hotel. Our room had a view straight down William St to the city, a large bathroom and very comfortable king sized bed. Will certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelSyd, General Manager at Larmont Sydney by Lancemore, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear fiona_editor

We very much appreciate your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Diamant Hotel Sydney.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated in the night life area of Sydney. The room is nice & comfortable. We arrived early at 8:00 am. & the front desk gave an outstanding service in accommodating us. They recommended some nice breakfast to eat at & got us in our room by 10:00am! Also gave us an electrical converter. We had a wonderful stay. Thanks for the outstanding service!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelSyd, General Manager at Larmont Sydney by Lancemore, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi deegigolo

Thank you for your lovely comments the team will be very excited to read them.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

On some websites this hotel rates themselves as 5 stars. 5 starts has all the trimmings and does it well. This places has no valet, no porter and worst still no restaurant. SO HOW CAN THEY BE 5 stars. The 8 hotel chain do this with many of their addresses. If they are cheap and close to where i was to be then I’ll book this and the one in Sydney and their one in Canberra.
It’s close to soem good suburban restaurants and transport other than that there are much better options.
Also you don't want to be near the back lane as the nigh clubs flow out on to this street at closing ( 3-5am)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelSyd, General Manager at Larmont Sydney by Lancemore, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi justcruizen

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at Diamant Sydney.

We appreciate your observations and comments. We agree with the location and proximity to the some of the best restaurants (and bars) in Sydney but would also like to add that our hotel offers much more than many hotels by providing complimentary access to two fully equipped gyms in the area - one of those is located in our building and opened 24/7.

Furthermore we provide free wifi - whereas other hotels charge or is free up to a certain down load maximum.

While we await the restaurant in our lobby to reopen we offer dinner in-room dining and have arranged a breakfast offering that can be packaged at two of the best cafes in our zone.

Our guest rooms are stylishly designed, providing mini-bar, ipod docking station, amazing beds that have a thick luxury topper that is incredible to sleep in, and rooms can be requested on the front of the hotel.

We thank you for commenting and do hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stay at the Diamant Hotel in Sydney on a regular basis and the service is always excellent, rooms clean, large television, comfy beds, superb location. The fantastic staff always make me feel welcome and have good knowledge on the local restaurants. Highly recommend the Diamant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelSyd, General Manager at Larmont Sydney by Lancemore, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Elizabeth2859

The team at Diamant Hotel Sydney thank you for a wonderful review.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here last month upon returning from a trip to Cairns. We had previously stayed at one of the sister 8Hotels apart-hotels and were extremely happy with the Diamant. There's basically nothing to fault and everything to praise. We were personally greeted in the lobby and escorted to our room with a minimum of fuss. Upon entering the room, we were staggered at the amazing nighttime view of the Sydney skyline and were then equally blown away when we were ushered onto the large terrace. I'd never actually seen the stars in central Sydney until that night and this really did give the entire room (and hence the over all experience) a magical quality. The views are expansive and impressive (looking down across the city from the top of William Street), the peronalised service is surprising and welcome, the rooms could not be cleaner if they had only been built the day before (and actually it looked like the entire place had just been built or refurbished). I would highly recommend this for those who seek a plush, contemporary, easy, comfortable experience while in Sydney. I've stayed in lots of other hotels in Sydney and the Diamant definitely ranks among the best.

Room Tip: They're all good, from what I can tell. Ask for one with a terrace or balcony for the full effe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelSyd, General Manager at Larmont Sydney by Lancemore, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi kevinrounce

Wow thank you for the detailed and glowing praise of Diamant Hotel Sydney.

We very much appreciate all feedback and know that readers of Trip Advisor do too.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed for one night in May. The room was really hot. It sounded like old, in need of a service air con, banging and whirring though I never had it on. The toilet hadn't been flushed when i got into my room. I was woken a few times during the night with bottles going into a deep rubbish bin and rubbish collection noise. The conference room had no natural light and awful water to drink.

Room Tip: Not on a rubbish collection night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelSyd, General Manager at Larmont Sydney by Lancemore, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Good Afternoon realistic5

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay and we are very sorry that it was not as you should expect it to be.

I will send a private message to ascertain further details on your stay.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Larmont Sydney by Lancemore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larmont Sydney by Lancemore

Address: 14 Kings Cross Road | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > City East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#19 Business Hotel in Sydney
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Larmont Sydney by Lancemore 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Darlinghurst, Kings Cross and Potts Point triangle, Sydney's premier entertainment and cultural precinct, the Larmont Sydney by Lancemore offers a sensual decor, generous proportions and the latest in-room luxury amenities. Only a 10 min stroll to Sydney's Town Hall, Financial District, Oxford St shopping, and the Woolloomooloo Wharf and short drive to Bondi Beach and the International airport, the Larmont's elegant design and world class views are matched only by breathtaking service and incomparable value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Larmont Sydney by Lancemore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney
Diamant Boutique Hotel
Diamant Boutique Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larmont Sydney by Lancemore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.