We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels to your Saves list
Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Kings Cross Road | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kabul, Afghanistan
1 review
“Great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here over the New Years period. I would say our stay was good, but not great. The front desk was nice and polite, and housekeeping was excellent and timely. The wifi didn't work well in my room although it would connect in the hallway.

The location was good for us and although there are alot of clubs and bars nearby, I don't recall any street noise being heard in my room and had no problem sleeping on a very comfortable bed.

I knew there wasn't a restuarant, which is OK because there are plenty of places to eat closeby. But one microwave in someone's office seems a little strange. So you shouldn't want to warm food up in a hotel?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelSyd, Manager at Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear DanH22,
It is very good to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us over new years.
I apologise for the WiFi signal not working appropriately, though we have been monitoring this of late and have resolved our network issues. I am confident that your return will note a great improvement in the quality of this service.

We are hoping to reopen the restaurant very soon, though as you mentioned there are many great restaurants nearby that are fantastic temporary substitutes.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best,
The Diamant Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    171
    63
    27
    18
See reviews for
21
225
67
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Staff are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We were early yet it was no problem for them to take our luggage leaving us to walk around freely.
The room was clean, gorgeous bathroom and the bed, wow, so comfortable.
From the vicinity the hotel we were able to walk or catch public transport to where we were going.
The only prob, I wish hotels would have fresk milk in the fridge for a cuppa.
Thanks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelSyd, General Manager at Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear teresa_vasey

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Diamant Hotel. We couldn't be happier to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us here at the Diamant.

And for your suggestion of fresh milk - please advise reception we'd be happy to arrange for your next and onwards stays.

We pride ourselves in providing our valued guests with the most top of the line service. We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future!

All the best,
From the Diamant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is my second week at Diamant. Decor showing its age & needs a refresh, but comfy beds & aircon, that worked superlatively on the hottest day for decades, meant restful sleep. There is adequate room & cupboard space for the business traveller. The big plus at this place is Joseph on reception, who is friendly, polite &, best of all, helpful. I'm a happy bunny, but then again I'm not paying for this stay, which was arranged by the company.

Room Tip: Free wifi is good but signal is stronger at the front of the building. Ethernet connection works fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelSyd, Manager at Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Tortoise3,

Thank you for taking the time to review Diamant Hotel Sydney.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful hotel. We are currently refreshing the furnishings in our rooms so hopefully the next time you stay with us you will be satisfyingly surprised with a recently refreshed room. Our fantastic bedding and superb air-conditioning units do lend themselves to a very restful sleep so we are cheerful to hear that you were able to enjoy take advantage of this.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
The Diamant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight conference in the city and couldn't be happier. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out the staff couldn't be any friendlier. Everything was great there, we needed to use the bar fridge to store personal items, though the fridge items were magnetic and we thought we would be charged immediately if we took one of them out, after speaking with reception they were more than happy to deactivate the magnets so we could store our food. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is definitely a Diamond in Pott Point.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelSyd, Manager at Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Sam W,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to review Diamant Hotel Sydney. Our staff here at Diamant hotel Sydney pride themselves on the quality of their service and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
The Diamant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in the penthouse for four days over the Christmas break and I believe that it may be managed separately from the rest of the hotel? The space is magnificent with three bedrooms, three bathrooms and huge Living areas and kitchen. It is very expensive but not too different to renting a house at the beach and it enabled our family to spend Christmas together. We were able to feed 10 people Christmas lunch with sweeping 180 degree views of the harbor and the city.
There were some annoying problems such as no wifi for the first day, missing light bulbs, leaky toilets etc but the front desk could not have been nicer and most things were sorted out quickly. A strange man wandering into our apartment from the fire escape was a bit of a worry as I thought fire stairs were locked from inside the stairwell. Aside from these minor problems, overall it was a great vacation with views to die for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelSyd, General Manager at Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Aussie055

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Diamant Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and to personally thank you for mentioning your thoughts on the Penthouse - it really is an amazing space.

We were however very concerned to read about the person who entered your apartment through the fire stairs door. This is highly unusual for the fire stairs doors are key locked from the inside and require a master key to open, however, please be assured that safety and security are two of our top priorities.

Our level of dedication to our valued guests is paramount and we are happy to know that we could be of service to you during your stay.

All the best,
The Diamant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over the New Year period so it was incredibly over priced, however I have no doubt it would be much more reasonable at another time of year.
While there is nothing particularly bad about this hotel; it is in a reasonable state decor-wise and most of the staff are friendly and helpful, there's nothing here to wow you either.
The tap in our bathroom was broken and the wifi didn't work too well in our room (unless you sat on the loo!).
There was no hotel bar/restaurant -I assume this was once "Time to vino" but it had closed down when we were there. That's not too much of a problem though as there are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.
Our room cards kept deactivating themselves so on 2 occasions we were locked out and had to tailgate other hotel patrons to get let in at night. I assume the intercom doesn't work as there was someone at the reception desk but he wasn't letting us in!
The real stars are housekeeping-excellent service and incredibly cheery, even on New Year's Day!
It's very close to a train station and despite all the noisy bars outside it was very quiet and we got a good couple of nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelSyd, Manager at Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Flaffles,

Thank you for taking the time to review Diamant Hotel Sydney.
We are sorry to hear about the maintenance and Wi-Fi issues which you experienced during your stay, however we have ensured that our maintenance team has investigated the issues which have now been rectified.
Unfortunately the restaurant that operates within our hotel is not open at the moment, however we have no hesitation in recommending several fantastic restaurants in the local area as you have mentioned.
I hope that the issues did not ruin the rest of your stay, and that we can welcome you back again to the hotel in the near future.



Warm regards,

The Diamant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Rooms here are a little dusty, the furnishings and bathrooms are tired and in need of a revamp. The old air conditioning system is especially noisy. I asked to change rooms but was told all rooms have noisy, vibrating air con.

The location in the centre of Kings Cross is ideal for those who wish to party. This hotel should be fitted with double-glazed windows to reduce outside noise. If you are a light sleeper you should avoid the back rooms (which face onto a lane way) on Friday and Saturday nights. 

As is standard in Australia - breakfast is not included, however there are plenty of wonderful options nearby in Darlinghurst 

Kings Cross rail station is a 5 minute walk

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelSyd, Manager at Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Darren M,

Thank you for taking the time to review Diamant Hotel Sydney. We are disappointed to hear that you found the room to be noisy on this occasion. We have sent our maintenance team around the whole hotel to double check all of the air conditioning units to prevent further issues from ocurring.
We also have rooms situated on different sides of the hotel, which allow for quieter nights and are more than happy to assign rooms to best meet our guests‘ needs should availability permit. As you pointed out, there are a large variety of restaurants and cafes in the vicinity and out hotel offers vouchers for 3 different local cafes for breakfast, all within walking distance to the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Diamant Hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,

The Diamant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Address: 14 Kings Cross Road | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sydney
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Darlinghurst, Kings Cross and Potts Point triangle, Sydney’s premier entertainment and cultural precinct, the Diamant Hotel offers a sensual decor, generous proportions and the latest in-room luxury amenities. Only a 10 min stroll to Sydney’s Town Hall, Financial District, Oxford St shopping, and the Woolloomooloo Wharf and short drive to Bondi Beach and the International airport, the Diamant's elegant design and world class views are matched only by breathtaking service and incomparable value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney
Diamant Boutique Hotel
Diamant Boutique Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamant Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.