We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top staff, great boat and the whales even came out to play!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whale Watching Sydney

Whale Watching Sydney
Darling Harbour | Cockle Bay Marina, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
+61 2 9583 1199
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Small Group
$107*
and up
Sydney Eco Whale Watching Small Group Cruise
Ranked #100 of 416 Activities in Sydney
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale watching Sydney offers daily cruises from Darling Harbour and Circular Quay to watch Humpback whales. Whale watching Sydney (Bass & Flinders Cruises), have been operating since 1979 and whale watching since 1991. Award winning Australian certified eco-tours. Success rate is 98% and all cruises are guaranteed to see whales. Also, see other marine wildlife such as dolphins, albatross, seals and the beautiful coastline of Sydney. Check website for rates & specials.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top staff, great boat and the whales even came out to play!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had such a great time on this cruise - the staff were great, even with so many people being sick (TAKE SEASICKNESS MEDICATION, EVEN IF YOUVE NEVER BEEN SEASICK BEFORE. There's a lot of waiting around for the whales to surface and if it's choppy, it will get to you! Also think about not feeding your kid a large piece of cake RIGHT AS the skipper is telling you not to go hard on the coffee as there is choppy water where we're going - then acting surprised when he vomits all over the chairs downstairs.) apart from all the people ignoring the staffs directions to spew in bags provided and instead putting all of the toilets inboard out of order, this cruise was fantastic. We saw so many whales, babies, mothers, breaching whales, all of it.

The boat was large and roomy, we hardly had to hustle with other people of photos. Sometimes the staff member with the microphone was too busy taking photos to tell us about whales breaching until after it had happened, but if you watched out yourself you can catch heaps of action. Great value too, as we got an online deal. Our cruise went from 10am -1pm. Top is the best for viewing, though front deck is nice too (after you get out to sea it opens up).

Free drink for spotting a whale, which we did but didn't claim - should have taken the late tour!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    46
    17
    6
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Good experience for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

$54 for a 2hr trip on a fast boat through the harbour and then out through the heads to search for whales is a pretty good deal. We were blessed with good weather and saw a pod of 4-5 humpbacks between Dover Heights and Coogee. Our trip the previous day had been cancelled due to the fleet review but this was communicated to us well and the refund for our two friends who were unable to make the next day was processed quickly with no issues. The staff member on board was friendly and whilst this isn't the scientific or "Eco" experience you can find elsewhere in the world, it's good fun and the whales provide more than enough entertainment.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Whale of a Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Decided to celebrate a birthday by getting a group together to go whale watching in Sydney Harbour. Booking was easy online, we booked well in advance since we had such a large group of about 14 people. When we arrived it was easy to find and the staff were fun and friendly. I must admit I did not expect to see any whales since the ocean is so big. What I didn't get until we got out there, is that the Sydney Harbour region is part of a "whale super-highway" so we got to see about ten whales!

The trip was two hours, about half of which was speeding out to the Maroubra over some pretty choppy waves. Some people experienced sea sickness, so perhaps if you think you will feel ill take some pills for that. Also i recommend a raincoat because its pretty splashy. I took a camera and managed to get some great closeups of the whales as some surfaced within a few metres of the boat, which i think was very lucky of us. Operating a camera on a rolling boat with fast moving subjects is quite a challenge.

Seeing whales blowing water and flipping their tales is an amazing experience and quite a thrill. They are huge and beautiful animals and their journey across the ocean is fascinating and epic. Definitely go and see them at least once, this is a quick trip and reasonably priced, with great info from the boat driver too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect day second time around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 days in Sydney and were really excited to go whale watching as it was top of the to do list! We were warned when we got on the boat that it was going to be a rocky ride and that if you got seasick you could come back another day - unfortunately we didn't take their advice! We took sea sickness tablets so weren't sick, but a lot of people were and we didn't see any whales on our trip. The good news is that we were allowed to come back the next day and the sea was a lot calmer and we saw whales on numerous occasions right up close to the boat! It was worth the second trip, they were amazing! Only advice would be that if they advice it will be rocky, go back on a different day when it isn't! Great day out

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“sea sick and no whales to be seen”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

As soon as we headed of even after taking a sea sick tablet more than 13 of us were all sea sick and vomiting in bags, with no sympathy from the crew who were laughing at us complaining how sick we were. I could not bear 3 hours of this and asked to go back 15 minutes earlier that was a bug fat no. And what did we see nothing 2 dolphins and just the hump of a whale so dont think your going to see what they show you on the brochure and on the web site you have to buy the dvd for those photos. So we were just sitting out there for over 1 hour to see nothing and just being sick, so if you get a bit sea sick do not try this.
So i did not think even with being sick or not being sick its not worth the money.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydneywhalewatcher, Manager at Whale Watching Sydney, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We get so few complaints from our crew about passengers. The are normally very tolerant and understanding and try to help people if they are feeling unwell. They do as much as they can to help everyone on board and especially those that feel seasick ,which is not a nice feeling.
I happened to be in the office when this reviewer called in, it was 40-50 minutes into the cruise and there was a threat to post a bad tripadvisor review if the boat was not turned around because they were feeling seasick.
Unfortunately seasickness is an issue with our tours, because the whales are in the ocean there is always this risk. But we do what we can to minimize it and give a full and frank review of the sea conditions before we head out , let passengers change bookings to different days if concerned and recommend strongly to take preventatives. Sometimes this does not work and some people get sick, but it would be very unfair to turn the boat around for 1 or even 5 sick people when 70 more passengers were watching the whales and enjoying the cruise.
We are sorry the reviewer did not enjoy their cruise, but we will always try and do the best for all the passengers on the trip and not give preference to one above the others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Watching Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Whale Watching Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whale Watching Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.