We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor reception - apartments OK” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Save Saved
You added Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2 Nights & Save 10%!
Ranked #37 of 130 Specialty lodging in Sydney
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Poor reception - apartments OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Reception unfriendly. Position questionable but easy access to Darling Harbour. Noisy. Apartment spotless and well equipped.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    358
    250
    147
    149
See reviews for
273
281
48
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed one night at these apartments on the way to the Blue Mountains. We arrived exhausted at midnight on a Friday night and on pressing the security buzzer were quickly registered and in our room. We were delighted to be on the 10th floor and enjoyed a fantastic view over Darling Harbour.

The one bedroom unit was spacious, clean and comfortable. It was also the quietest hotel we've ever stayed in. It is just so well designed. As well as a comfortable lounge the one-bedroom apartment featured kitchen, bathroom, and laundry facilities (in bathroom). The bed was comfortable and the overall apartment was fresh with a good vibe.

In the morning after checking out we walked across to Darling Harbour via the walkway and enjoyed a delicious breakfast at one of the cafes.

All the staff were courteous and helpful and we will definitely be back and hope to stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

A good location close to monorail and Darling Harbour. Our room on the 10th floor was clean, comfortable and quiet - no views though. The TV controls were very complex with no instructions. Felt more than a bit ripped off when booking a single fare for the airport shuttle through the Concierge - $28 whether one or two persons. If you go to the Information Centre in Darling Harbour you can book a single for $14 and they pick you up from Reception.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

I secured a studio apartment at a good rate. The room, on level 8, was modern, clean and comfortable, with a balcony view to the lane (but with blue sky above), an excellently appointed kitchenette (well equipped), a modern bathroom (with washing machine and dryer). The bed couldn't have been more comfortable. I had no problems whatsoever with noise and found the staff quite helpful. This area is not my favourite in Sydney, but it's easy enough to go places -- only a few minutes along corridors and walkways to Darling Harbour for ferries and an attractive walk to the CBD, frequent buses from close to the hotel to Town Hall and Circular Quay, and about 20 minutes' walk to Glebe.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

The worst service, quality of room, outside view (parking lot) we ever experienced. For the price they charge, you could expect at least a descent place as is the case in any other big city all over the world. However, it didn't happen. No safe deposit in the rooms, nor any other option to deposit your valuables, impolite and unprofessional staff, noisy rooms and a general feeling of "we don’t want you here". The only thing I can say is "stay away of this place".

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nailsworth south australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Spent 3days in a one bedroom apartment. Very clean and comfortable, great kitchen, large fridge/freezer, ect. Daughter slept on foldout, mattress a bit thin. Had been worried about the poor reveiws, maybe we got lucky. Staff helpful although some seemed to have language issues.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Great Location, monorail stop opposite hotel, but very easy walk into darling harbour. We stayed 3 nights. The room was very well appointed, big comfy bed with lovely soft white sheets, everything was very clean . The full kitchen was a surprise as we only had a studio room, but it was spacious and well equiped for basic cooking. The other surprise was the washing machine and tumbledryer in the bathroom a useful addtion if you are travelling which we were. They even provided soap detergent.The room was serviced each day with fresh towels The only negative comment is that we looked out on a alley, but it really did not matter we were on the 6th flour so no noise and we sat out on the little balcony to have a wine. The clothes airer was another useful addition which we could put out on the balcony. Its a little odd between the rooms because the building is a converted warehouse, so its very open a bit like I imagine a prison. However if you can get over this then its great value and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Address: 243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 130 Specialty lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.