We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for young travellers!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments to your Saves list
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor Autumn Offer!
Ranked #98 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for young travellers!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

Hey. I lived in the Goldsbrough mort for 5 months while I was in Sydney and we all thought it was great! There were 5 of us, all early 20's and it suited us perfectly, good sized pool, jacuzzi, sauna, gym (didnt even go in it) and theres's an internet place, a GREAT coffee shop and a newsagents all situated within the building. city is ten mins walk, the beauiful darling harbour is a minute walk away, the shopping centre is joined onto the building by a walkway tunnel type thing so you dont even have to go outside! loads of shops resaurants and most importantly, loads of bars close by. The Pyrmont Bridge Hotel is a 24 hour bar!!

all in all, I loved the goldsbrough. we didnt want to slum it in hostels and for young travellers, its a perfect place (and you feel a bit posh cos its a posh looking building)!!

and yes, the corridors do look like a jail, see attatched pic

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — swipe cards to gain access NEVER worked!
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    486
    309
    176
    171
See reviews for
349
379
68
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, UK
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

Having decided to go to Australia to watch the Ashes, we booked the apartment via a travel agent. With only a brochure photo to go on, we were interested to see what we had paid for. The Goldsbrough is on Darling Harbour, about 5-10 mins walk from the city. We had a 6th floor 2 bed apartment overlooking the harbour area, over two floors, two large bathrooms, lovely kitchen, well equipped. Ok, it was possibly in need of a quick lick of paint, the sofas had definitely seen better days and no Sky Sports. However, with two teenage boys, and Channel 9, the rest was not a problem. The apartment we stayed in overlooked the expressway - not a problem noise wise, and providing some lovely night-time photos. We stayed for 3 weeks, would have stayed longer given the chance, would buy the place given half a chance and can't wait to go back. The concierge, Brett, was great. All the housekeeping staff were great - new soap and towels every day. They even put away my drying pots. Absolutely Loved It and would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for home away from home. The supermarket was only 10 mins away so nice and convenient.

  • Liked — Spacious and comfortable
  • Disliked — sofas were old and needed replacing
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay as long as you can
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2006

After reading some very bad reviews, i was sceptical taking my parents (from UK, visiting on holiday) here. I was pleasantly suprised with the 4.5* 2 bedroom apartment although i asked for a harbour view and didnt get one....even though i asked several times, and booked well in advance.

The layout of room was good and the bigger bedroom was very nice....smaller one had no natural daylight.

Noise wasnt a problem but if you are a light sleeper, dont sleep on the corridor side!

It did remind us a little of a prison with the layout....but it was unique and the old beams could be seen.

Staff were quite friendly but didnt suggest the best places to shop or dine....

Nothing amazing, just reasonable for price.....

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Very big and impersonal
  • Tips/Secrets — Good base for attractions but not romatic
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2006

Booked this hotel through wotif.com for $116 per night as I was attending a conference at the convention centre. Great location. Agree with original poster - walkways a bit iffy if you have young children but I loved the uniquness of the hotel. Had a 1 bedroom apartment near the top at the end of the corridor so I had no sounds from other people. The apartment was spacious and perfect for post conference meetings.

Would definately staff there again.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK family travelling Japan, Oz, NZ & Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2006

The Oaks Goldsbrough has an impractical layout with the corridors of each floor open to a central atrium area, a bit like a prison. This means that you can easily hear guests on multiple floors coming and going, especially on the main entrance from Darling Harbour on the 2nd floor.
Our 3rd floor apartment had the bedroom at the front of the flat, with the window onto the central atrium. It is brightly lit at night and so the bedroom was never dark. It was very noisy throughout the night, we were regularly woken by other guests returning a little worse for wear throughout the night / early morning.
The flat itself was fine, clean and the standard chocolate brown walls / IKEA furniture set up.
This place would suit people who were staying in Sydney to go out drinking and partying, but it was a nightmare for us (early 30s with young child who wakes at 6 am regardless of how much sleep his parents have had). Yaaaaawwn....

  • Liked — The living area and proximity to monorail station
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Take your ear plugs and eye guards!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2006

The apartment provided was rated as 4.5 star but in our opinion it was barely at three star standard, and that is stretching it. The door was filthy and had recently been roughly patched up, the bathroom was dirty and very small, the stove top was rusted and basically unclean and the room itself had an odour about it that smelt as if it was masking something. The only redeeming factor was the king bed looked OK but because of all the other issue we didn't use it and checked out that afternoon. All in all a very disappointing experience, particularly as it cost us one nights accommodation. I've stayed at Oaks apartments before but this one is definitely sub, sub-standard.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The "cattle pen" setup
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't book here
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Address: 243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.