We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments to your Saves list
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #33 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Herts, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Was slightly concerned after reading some of the reviews here but was pleasantly surprised. The staff were fine, although we only had contact with them on arrival and departure (there is a side door with card access that offers a shortcut to the harbour area so you can bypass reception)

The apartment we had looked as though it had been recently refurbished. Everthing was clean and modern and the two double bedrooms and two bathrooms on the lower level were spacious, had high ceilings and plenty of storage space. The living area was on the upper level and had a kitchen, laundry room, large dining/lounge area, even a storage room for suitcases. All the equipment worked and the TV was a large flatscreen model. The furniture looked new and was comfortable and clean.

We didn't have any problem with noise, either from other residents or from outside. Our room was overlooking a main road bringing traffic into the city but the soundproofing was good and we weren't disturbed. The fifth floor location did give us a partial view of the city but I suspect if you went higher the view would be even better.

My children who used the gym reported that everything was working and the pool water was warm. It was very quiet with hardly anyone else using it.

The communal landings did have a slight prison feel about them which is down to the industrial structure of the original building but it made for an interesting walk to and from the lifts. The location is good for catching the monorail which loops around Darling Harbour and the CBD but we often strolled round the harbour and over the bridge to get to the city centre. If you want to eat out there are plenty of places along the harbourside open from breakfast to dinner.

For the same price in a hotel I would have regarded just the sleeping accomodation here as reasonable value. You still get the daily room servicing like a hotel and the large living area is a bonus giving you the option of relaxing/eating as a family without having to be perched on a bed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    418
    278
    161
    160
See reviews for
317
324
60
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Stayed a night in a one bedroom apartment facing Darling Harbour . The only negative thing was it was a bit to noisy both inside the building and out. Our room was clean and spacious with lovely veiws and everything you need. This very unique hotel was once a wool shed and has most of it's old charm still present in amongst the remodeling. It's a short walk to Darling harbour and Star City. We found it very convenient . Would stay again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Stayed here for Long Weekend at short notice. Stayed in an apartment, our view was into an empty building next door and above a alleyway. The hotel and rooms incorporate the history of the building, which was a wool shed, which is nice if you're into history and like that sort of thing... we found it rather depressing. The building is open and you can look down on floors below/up on floors above.. which makes it rather noisy, especially at night when the floor below is having a party. Also not helped by the fact the bedroom is right on the corridor and you can hear everything.

The rooms were quite clean and spacious, with wooden beams in the room fitting in with the "australiana wool shed" theme. No Foxtel either. However one fantastic thing was the shower - plenty of water pressure! Very washing hair friendly.

Location is not that great, it is very difficult to get a park just to check in, and parking is across at the public parking station. Guests of the hotel get a discount but it is a very complex system to use, and we kept getting it wrong and just ended up paying more than we needed to. Those using public transport however are very well looked after, as the monorail and light rail stations are a short walk from the hotel.

While I would not personally stay here again, I would not discourage others as my main disapointment was the "heritage wool shed" feel to the hotel. Perhaps this is enjoyable to others.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

My husband and I have just stayed at the Goldsbrough for 3 nights and would thoroughly recommend it. We stayed in a one bedroom 4 star apartment which was spacious, clean, modern with a comfortable bed and lounge furnishings, overlooking the harbour onr the 11th floor. The pool, spa and sauna were great. The staff we friendly and helpful. We could hear people walking past our apartment at times but it wasn't often enough or loud enough to be intrusive. The only minor inconvenience we experienced was with car parking in the Harbourside Car Park, we feel we didn't receive clear instructions on using the 3 vouchers we had to feed into the ticket machine but the following day the staff at Goldsbrough gave us a complimentary voucher as we had incorrectly used our previous ones. Overall, wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE - We booked the Oaks Goldsbrough for a special weekend away for two family birthdays. The horrible experience started the minute we walked in the door. There were three staff at the reception but none even looked up to say hello. We had booked a 4.5* two bedroom apartment through Wotif.com for about $360 NZ per night (expensive but we wanted to splash out). Our 4.5* room looked nothing like the website photos. It smelt, had holes in the wall and a very steep staircase down to a dungeon type area to sleep. We called the reception and asked to see another room due to the smell. To cut a long story short we viewed three different apartments, all identical layout with varying degrees of smells and damage to walls and furniture (we're talking scratches, chips, cigarette burns in couches etc). Not the kind of place you want to sip champagne and celebrate! The hotel agreed (thankfully) to let us move out the next morning. We couldn't wait to leave. The only things worse than the rooms was the service. A surly female duty manager would not release my auntie's booking for the second room (we argued that it did not make any sense that we were allowed to leave but she wasn't). We ended up having to pay for another night's accommodation and although it left a bad taste in our mouths we thought it was worth it to get out of there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Welcome from staff was not very friendly. When we went into the apartment we could smell a strange damp smell coming from the kitchen. Great view of Darling Harbour but very noisy due to being located next to a busy road. I have stayed at a number of Oaks and this one certainly doesn't meet the standards of the others. I was a little disappointed and won't be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Stayed here for 2 weeks, with an additional room booked for part of that as well. We asked weeks in advance for that second room to be near the other, it ended up being 10 stories below
Its like a freeway with hundreds of people milling around aimlessly on Level 1 and 2
We changed rooms from level 2, don't stay on this level (or level 3 if possible, especially the North end of the building), you will get no sleep as its the main access to Darling Harbor and the view outside is of bins against your window.
The noise levels are unbelievable. The lifts are the worst, we waited 15 minutes on one occasion. Parking? the front desk validated our parking tickets and they were not accepted by the machine on exit.
The room service staff were excellent
There is better rooms to be found in Sydney, shop around

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Address: 243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.