We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Option” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Save Saved
You added Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2 Nights & Save 10%!
Ranked #38 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

We stayed at the Goldsbrough over the New Year period in a studio apartment. The room itself was spacious and clean if not particularly modern. It had full cooking facilities including an oven, a dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer. The crockery was a little hit and miss, three large & one small dinner plate, and only one mug, I had to have to cups of tea in the morning to get my fix, as hubby bags the big cup!

The staff were friendly, though the maid did leave our door unlocked one day which was a little annoying, but as nothing taken it wasn't a major issue.

The location is good for Darling Harbour, but as we prefer to walk we did find it a bit out of the way if we wanted to go further into the city. The monorail and metro as okay for the top half of the city, but there didn't seem to be any nearby buses, and the closest rail is Town Hall.

Overall a good experience, nothing special but it did the job.

  • Liked — All of the in room facilities
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    369
    258
    152
    150
See reviews for
285
286
53
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

Stayed here with my two children son 13 and daughter 7, we had a lovely time. The rooms were immaculate, cleaned every day with clean towels supplied each day. The staff were great and very helpful. The building has retained some of its original character which was great. It was in a fabulous location with a walkthrough straight to the monorail station and Harbourside Shopping Centre. I have stayed in apartments all over the world and this was one of the nicest. Don't believe the bad reviews you just can't please some people! Would definitely reccommend it for all ages and all groups, young, old, family, singles, couples etc. If I go back to Sydney for a holiday I will definitely stay here and I have stayed in other locations in Sydney which were not half as good!!!

Ann, Perth Western Australia.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

We stayed as a couple at Oaks Goldsbrough in January 09 seeking decent accomodation while attending the cricket test at the SCG.

The Oaks Goldsbrough was found to be of reasonable quality, well priced and handily located to Darling Harbour with inner city transport using the monorail and light rail systems virtually at the door. (Very handy for getting to central station and on to the SCG)

The apartments are located in an old woolstore which provides character to the accomodation but can also contribute to a little noise due to the internal arrangement and wooden floors. In all honesty it was noticable but not all that significant unless one is extremely sensative.

The apartments themselves are fine without being graded luxury . Spacious enough, basically laid out and just a little tired in the decore. Again, it depends on what you seek in grading. For our purposes, where we spent very little time apart from sleeping in the room, it was quite adequate. We experienced an issue with a bathroom roof leak from an overworked air con system but it didn't adversly impact on our stay. The apartment had standard tea/coffee making facilities, enough crockery and and utensils to cook a basic meal and the bed was extremely comfortable. Washer and dryer included in the bathroom. All was very clean.

There is a small independent cafe on the street front of the building that does a good breakfast at a very reasonable price. A small supermarket with ATM and internet facility is 3 minutes walk away and Darling Harbour with all it has to offer is a safe and quick walk over the road. Parking facilities are in a public paid carpark also across the road. One of our party suffered the misfortune of vandalism to his vehicle in this carpark which detracted just a bit from our visit. An issue worth noting

The apartments front desk staff are efficient, courteous and
helpful. The internal security of the building is very good with card access to lifts etc. There is a great pool if that is your scene.

Overall experience of Oaks Goldsbrough is positive. We have in mind a family visit later on as they do accomodate families in larger apartments. Negotiation with the desk could obtain you an apartment with a view of the city and Darling Harbour where as on this visit we were accomodated on the southern side of the building that had a balcony but no significant outlook apart from the building behind.

  • Liked — value and location
  • Disliked — poor car parking security
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2008

What a great place, good value for money too. The building is an old Wool store and they have made good use of the interior for creating the apartments. If you are looking for sleek ultra modern fittings then this isnt the place for you. But if you want a place in a great location this is it. The apartments have a walkway over to Darling Harbour shopping centre and the monorail which is great if it raining and you have forgot to pack an umbrella. It also has a swimming pool and sauna on the ground floor which was good.

The apartment had a washing machine and dryer as well as Kitchen which had all you need to survive in the city being a home from home.

The only downside I would say is the apartment we had looked a bit tired and needed a lick of paint and new furniture but this still didn't take away from the fab view overlooking the harbour and quickness of getting into darling Harbour.

Staff in reception were great we arrived very early in the morning and they allowed us to freshen up and kept our cases until we could check in.

  • Liked — Location Location
  • Disliked — Tired looking furniture
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

This was the first place my Wife and I stayed on our Honeymoon in Australia touring the east coast.
Check my other reviews for Australia

Booked through hotelclub.net - No problems with online booking - Cost - $200 AUD per night for a one bed apartment which consisted of kitchen, living / dining area, double bedroom, bathroom with seperate shower.

Bad points first - Our 1st apartment was on a low floor overlooked by the car park with hardly any natural light. We asked to be moved.
It is not the most attractive of buildings. The gym is poor so dont bother. The pool looks ok but we didnt use it.

Good - We were moved to a high floor on the harbour side for no extra charge. See the view under photos. This was a much nicer apartment due to he light and view.
The apartments are next to Darling harbour and they are in a fantastic position to easily explore Sydney. Clean and tidy, beds quite confortable and as we were in Australia for a month the washing machine and tumble dryer in the room were a real bonus. The mono rail which takes you into the city is next door and Darling harbour is a 2 min walk

These apartments are actually pretty good value for money considering the position.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms at rear are poor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

The room we stayed in was nothing like the picture we saw on the internet. It was nice but a bit unclean. It's great they have all the facilities you need with a toddler. The hotel is VERY noisy though. Wooden floorboards in the rooms mean that we could hear every foot step from the floor above us as well as outside our room. Very annoying. Also called to make sure we had 2 single beds but when we arrived we had one queen size. Tried to change it but was told that wasn't possible. We left one of our items in the room upon checking out and 3 months later are still waiting for them to send it to us c.o.d. Not very helpful.

Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyttelton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

Had seven days in one bedroom apartment on 10th floor with fantastic views over Darling Harbour and back to the city. Found location handy to everything, room and facilities great, Pool and gym Level one were a bonus. Would recommend to anyone without hestitation.

  • Liked — Location - Value for money
  • Disliked — Drier didnt work properly
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Address: 243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.