We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not just about location, location, location....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments to your Saves list
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #101 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It's not just about location, location, location....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in the Oaks Goldsborough Apartments for 4 nights at the end of November.
Firstly, the good point about this hotel - the location... approx 3 minutes walk out of the hotel and you're on Darling Harbour (although there is still somewhat of an 'however' here, as it means you access the harbour via the 2nd floor of a multi-storey car park), but apart from that, the location of the hotel cannot be faulted. Darling Harbour is amazing. More eateries than you can shake a stick at, beautiful views across the harbour, plenty of attractions to keep you busy (Madame Tussauds, Wildlife & Sea-Life centres) as well as the traditional Saturday night firework display is a massive treat!
Now, the reasons for my 'poor' rating of this hotel...
On check-in we were 'upgraded' from a Studio to a One Bedroom Apartment, so initially thought 'great'.. however, on our arrival into the room we couldn't help but think 'well, if this is an upgrade, what are the Studio rooms like?'
We were located on the 3rd floor, where we took the elevator from reception. As the elevator doors opened on the 3rd floor and we turned right onto the landing, our faces dropped. Looking along the wooden-floored and beamed corridors, it simply looked like an 18th century dormitory (or my wife's actual description, a prison). I know the hotel manager keeps replying to reviews over and over again on here saying “The open atrium and the original hardwood floors have been maintained to uphold the authenticity that it was created”, but 4-foot tall punched-hole metal sheeting outlaying the border of each room’s outside space is definitely not authentic! The hardwood floors may be authentic, but also lend themselves to the constant clip-clopping of feet, not to mention the noise created by wheel-on suitcases at all hours.
The rooms are tired and need a little TLC to say the least. Definitely a 'no-frills' approach. We were in room 333, which has the amazing views of the back street (complete with the wheelie-bin collection point directly underneath the balcony) and looks straight into the multi-storey car park. Needless to say, the room hardly gets any natural sunlight – not that you’d have any reason to open the curtains anyhow.
Overall, Darling Harbour is an amazing place to visit, but the experience was definitely spoiled somewhat by staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher levels for the harbour views. Lower levels for beautiful views of the multi-storey car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your post. I am very pleased to hear that you found the location to be so convenient. Thank you for your room and travel tips, I am sure that other travellers will find them very helpful. The building is a Heritage listed building that was established in the 1800’s as a Wool Store. The building being two faced we have apartments at the front with Harbour Views and the Standard apartments are located at the back. In regards to the noise we do try to monitor this by doing regular nightly patrols and having additional security on during the weekends. We also place extra signage at entry points to the building to ensure that guest is aware they are entering a quiet area and to be mindful of their voices. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our property in the near future to show you that we can provide an efficient and enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    455
    294
    173
    167
See reviews for
335
352
64
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The oaks is a bit jaded in decor and style but what it lacks in appearance it made up for in customer service.

Bonny at reception was outstanding and helped my friend and me access wifi, get the best available room and was generally supportive and friendly during out 2 night stay.

The apartments are in a great location at darling harbour and represent great value for money for Sydney.

I'll be back on my next visit.

Julie and Melanie

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I would like to sincerely thank you for your post. I am very pleased to hear that Bonny was able to look after you and attend to your needs. I will be sure to thank him for his efforts and customer service. Next time you are in Sydney I hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were loyal customers of the Oaks group and appreciate their consistency......until we stayed at the Goldsbrough. The building was lovely and the staff were great but thats where it ended. We were shocked to find the apartment was tired, old and the bed was terribly uncomfortable.

Basically we paid good money for the worst nights sleep we have ever had. Very disappointing considering we had babysitters and a rare opportunity to holiday without children in over two years.

In short, do not stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I would like to apologise for your dissatisfaction regarding your stay. We are currently embarking on a refurbishment of our apartments. We are aiming to lift the overall standard by modernising these rooms and bringing them inline with the 4 star standards of Oaks vision. I will be sure to take your comments onboard and address them with the staff and other departments with the goal to improve our overall level of service and operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our family of five stayed here for two nights after a cruise from Sydney. We had a two bedroom apartment on the 12th floor, with nice views over parkland.

The apartment is old and dated, but clean and spacious. It is a very convenient location, and it was very quiet where we were.

I think we would come here again, as for a family it is great being able to self cater, or do washing and ironing if required. The front reception staff were helpful and friendly. It was an easy walk to Darling Harbour precinct, and convenient bus to Circular Quay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. Thank you for your and the positive feedback regarding the location and the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I guess my rating says it all, it was an average stay.

Stayed in a 2 bed apartment, 4 adults and one baby. I called the day before to confirm a baby cot and how much, told it would be set up and nothing mentioned about the charge. When we got there, a young man tried to tell me it would be $20 per night. Let him know that I called the day before and I would have brought my own had I know this and he kindly waived the fee..... just something for parents to be wary of.

Unfortunately, we were in Apartment 501 which had all windows looking out level with the motorway so it was very noisy. Not great with a baby but we did only book our room 6-8 weeks out from Christmas school holidays so I guess we were last in.

Rooms were very clean and tidy, all amenities were there including fridge freezer, dishwasher, oven, microwave etc.

Make sure you clarify which car-park to park in. We were not advised that we were supposed to park in harbour side car park not the one directly joined to the hotel and it seemed upon checkout that we were not the only ones with this problem.

Staff were very friendly, just think that communication of certain things could have been clearer.

Location is superb for darling harbour and surrounds, very easy to get around. We would stay there again if the price was right. There was just nothing that made the stay "excellent".

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. I do apologise about the difficulties you experienced. Please rest assured after your conversation with management the issues have been strongly addressed and discussed with the entire team. The extra bedding incurs additional charge due to its limited availability. The apartments are allocated on the day of check in however staff have always been proactive in providing the best possible solution of room moves for any such concerns. It is not a pleasant experience to receive unfavourable feedback; however your comments serve as an invaluable source of information that will ensure we continue to improve our operation and service standards. I hope that in the future you will give Oaks Hotels & Resorts the opportunity to show you that we can provide an efficient and enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Friendly staff and great location. Room had lovely views over Darling Harbour.
Room badly in need of refurbishment. Paint chipped off all woodwork, threadbare carpet, stained settee - no matching furniture. Badly fitted bathroom furniture where cupboard doors and drawers constantly opened by themselves. Windows were filthy. Communal area looked like cattle pens and are surely a health and safety risk. Insufficient lifts (3) to service hotel of this size, meant lots of waiting around. At 2.20 a.m. on Christmas morning the fire alarm sounded. Guests gathered in corridors and after approx 30 minutes an announcement over the speaker said we could return to our room. We weren't told what had caused the alarm to set off, and we spent a sleepless night wondering if it would happen again. We were too tired to enjoy Christmas Day. Would never stay here again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Should probably be a 2 star - only the view would give it a better rating.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your post. I am sorry that your expectations were not met. We are currently embarking on a refurbishment of our apartments. We are aiming to lift the overall standard by modernising these rooms and bringing them inline with the 4 star standards of the Oaks vision. We are also looking at upgrading the lifts to improve the overall efficiency. The building meets all fire safety requirements and has 4 fully graded fire stairs. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our property in the near future to show you that we can provide an efficient and enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

The accommodation warrants 4* but I now deduct a star for NO FREE WIFI. The location is great and a harbour view is recommended. The accommodation is functional, comfortable and well equipped. We spent most of our time out and about but when we did crash out it was more than adequate.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your post. I am very pleased to hear that you found the location to be so convenient. In regards to the Wi-Fi services unfortunately this is through a third party provider however we have negotiated best rates including first 30 minutes free per day per room. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Address: 243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.