We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Large Apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments to your Saves list
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #33 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location and Large Apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visiting Sydney for work, the hotel is in Pyrmont and so is central and close to everything. The apartment is quite large and spacious. There is a walkway that takes you to the harbour. Very good apartment hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. Thank you for your and the positive feedback regarding the location. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    417
    275
    161
    159
See reviews for
315
322
59
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Our stay here was lovely the first 2 nights, great room! GREAT service the whole trip! Close to everything!
Then came the last 2 nights, our phone didn't work at all in our room! People were very loud leaving their rooms and slamming doors and gates ( we were on level 2 room 226)bed was hard! our air conditioner stopped working completely, went down stairs to see staff.. TWICE! Second time staff member was a bit rude! Then this happened again the next night! Then to top off our trip the fire alarm went off, my partner and I had no idea where to go or what to do. Don't believe I'll recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I would like to apologise for your dissatisfaction regarding your stay. I do have your booking details and will certainly be contacting you in regards to the concerns raised. I completely agree that it is unacceptable for the situations to occur that may hinder your memorable stay. Also we do take Customer Service very seriously and it is an essential attribute of our business. We thank you for your positive comments as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Really good apartments for a few days in Sydney stayed with family after long flight from UK lovely comfortable bed great views well equipped kitchen. The building is startling inside old beams and high roofs

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the apartment and that the location and facilities were desirable for your needs while in Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Well worth the price to have so much room in such a brilliant location.

Only suggestion would be to have advice on how to access initially via the walkway. We did some extra miles trying to figure it out walking from the train... Granted most people are brighter than us and arrive by taxi or shuttle!

Loved it and would return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am please that you were happy with your overall stay at the Oaks Goldsbrough. I do wish to inform you that there are signage’s put up near the walkway for directions to our building however I will take your comments on board and discuss to further review them and improve this shortfall. I hope you choose us again for your accommodation needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment and were upgraded to one with an amazing view over darling harbour. It was a perfect vantagepoint to watch the fireworks on the Saturday evening. The location of the oaks is great. A very short walk to darling harbour and walkable distance to the city centre. The apartment itself was clean and spacious.
We would definitely stay at the oaks again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also happy that the staff were able to offer you an upgrade and that you enjoyed your two bedroom apartment. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It met the brief:
1. Short travel time from home; easily accessible via public transport & then by foot
2. Indoor heated pool & spa
3. Nickelodeon, DVD player & 30 min free Wi-Fi/day
4. Darling Harbour playground, McDonald's, Mother Chu's in China Town
5. Heritage features alongside the modern conveniences of a good hotel
6. Functional kitchen for prep and storage of food/drinks
Misc. Comments:
1. Friendly and accommodating staff
2. Close to reasonably priced IGA supermarket and a variety of food options - many that will deliver to your door.
3. Loved the layout of the 2 bedroom apartment and the wonderful views of the Sydney city skyline by day and by night.
4. I highly recommend the Goldsbrough if you have the above requirements in accommodation, location and holiday experience. One should try to be a tourist in one's city more often - there is a sensory treasure trove of things to experience if you open yourself up to the possibilities.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. Thank you for your helpful tips and recommendations. I’m sure other travellers will find this helpful. Thank you again for your postive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visited Sydney in April 2013 and wanted to base ourselves near Darling harbour. We arrived quite early at the Oaks, expecting to only be allowed to leave our luggage until the regular check-in time of 2pm. (We were there before 10.30am - our flight from NZ arriving by about 9am). To our surprise, the friendly and helpful receptionist checked room availability and sent us up to our apartment. We were having coffee in it by 11am! Further - I had advised that I have no head for heights and wished to be accommodated on a lower floor. This was done - we were on level three. I was pleased about this as the lay-out of the building means large vertical spaces and walkways to the apartments.
The apartment itself, while 'tired', was meticulously cleaned - and each day during our week-long stay. For location and value for money, we doubt that this accommodation can be beaten in Darling Harbour! We would definitely choose the Oaks for our next stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. I am very pleased that we were able to accommodate your request and that you enjoyed the apartment and location for your needs while in Sydney. I will be sure to pass on your nice comments regarding the staff and we look forward to welcoming yourself back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Address: 243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.