We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent service appartments” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments to your Saves list
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor Autumn Offer!
Ranked #95 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent service appartments”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed in Oaks Goldsbrough Appartments Hotel for 2 months and found it to be a really nice place for long stays. Considering its proximity to Sydney CBD it is one of the best places to stay in and is not too expensive as well. The darling harbour facing rooms are a bit on the expensive end but do not have the advantage of open blaconies. There are a few restaurants close to the appartment hotel as well. The housekeeping staff do weekly cleaning and one can pay and get daily cleaning done as well. The only negative point is the time taken for you to get a lift. Wait times for lifts can be as high as 10-15 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms with Darling Harbour view on the higher floors (10 and above) are really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your long stay with us at Oaks Goldsbrough, and that the location of the hotel to the shopping and dining precincts was perfect for your needs.

We do apologise for the delay with the lifts and we will address this with the maintenance department to ensure there are no problems.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    512
    320
    180
    177
See reviews for
363
396
70
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We arrived to check in later afternoon only to be told the computers were down at the time. With nowhere to park, we had to drive around the block a few times and check again. After lugging our bags (family of four) up the stairs because there was no ramp access for prams or luggage trolleys, we were able to check in. The security deposit was actually frozen on our card, rather than a hold. It takes 5 to 7 days for the freeze to be removed! The room was awful. We had two children, a 14 month old and a 3 yr old. It was split level which we were not told about. I was so frightened to leave my 14 month old for more than seconds in case she was going to topple down the stairs. There were "hidey holes (ducted a/c vents)" everywhere for kids to access, they could actually climb in them like a tunnel! The staff at the front counter were unfriendly and not willing to help at all. Anytime we asked a question, they basically shrugged their shoulders and apologised. The pool was meant to be heated, it was not. Overall, for the cost and location to Darling Harbour it was ok. The rooms are very average and I would not recommend them for a family. The biggest let down was the staff, not helpful in any way. If you are staying in a mediocre place usually the staff will be very helpful and do what they can to ensure you come back. Not this place!

Room Tip: Ask for harbourview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us at Oaks Goldsbrough.

We were very unhappy to read of the poor level of service you received and we would like to apologise for this.

It is also disappointing to note that the apartment wasn’t suitable for you’re young family. We will ensure to address these issues with our Hotel Manager.

However, on another note we are glad that the proximity of the hotel to the CBD was suitable for your stay.

We do hope you will stay with Oaks Hotels & Resorts in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Checked in mid afternoon, no greeting or welcome of any kind.
When handing over my credit card for the security deposit I felt that I had already done something wrong. They proceeeded to take the money of my credit card there and then, most hotels I stay in take it but don't process it.

However this is not a hotel not quiet sure what it is but the guests in the rooms above me and beside me, could be in the same room as me.
I can hear them using the cutlery,the children are screaming, somebody just had an argument and I feel that they are in the bed beside me,
I will be checking out at 8 am in the morning and not coming back.
Too afraid to take a shower, but will check into a proper hotel in the morning and do that.


4 television remotes, only one socket free to charge laptop and several extension leads, each with 4 or more items plugged in.

Location- Harbour a joke, a highway is the only view
Finally, how do people enter with children in strollers, or those with suitcases, impossible.
One word, a Dump

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Upon arrival at the Goldsbrough Hotel it was difficult to find a parking spot. When parked in the parking lot on the first level, we went to check into the hotel, While doing so we asked how we were to bring our luggage across from the parking lot (having six people we had quite a bit), the attendant at the desk shrugged her shoulders and asked if we had very much whilst we all were standing there.

After making two trips bringing our luggage upstairs (having not been told there was a loading zone available, upon later discovery) we arrived to our room to find it was not split level as advertised to accommodate our family.

The first night we stayed, we noticed the upstairs toilet and handshink would leak and drip constantly. As well as a power point not secured to the wall in the kitchen. The ensuite of the main bedroom had a broken showerhead and would not supply warm water, only hot or cold. Lastly, the fold out sofabed was broken at the foot of the bed.

In general. the appearance of the apartment seemed as though the maintenence and upkeep were not of very high importance. These faults were reported to the reception staff that night and we were told they would be attended to the next day.

The next morning the dishwasher was packed and turn on before we left for the day. When we returned around 6pm, it was still going. There was no housekeeping done, except for 2 out of the 6 beds being made. Again we reported this problem to the reception staff, they assured us it would be fixed the next day. They sent up a cleaner to try to fix the shower, toilet and sink only to have him let us know there was nothing he could do.

After nothing very helpful being done, we approached the management with our complaints. A few of the minor problems were fixed and on the last night of our stay we were offered another room. We declined as we were checking out the next morning and it wasn't worth the hassle.

Upon checkout, the reception staff were not very helpful as they preferred to ignore us and read a newspaper rather than help us check out.

Overall, we were not happy with the hotel or it's customer service, which is a shame as it is a lovely location very close to the Harbor and good public transport. We will not be choosing this accommodation in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Various family members have stayed in the Goldsborough over the years, and I have always found it to be a great option in it's price-range, for the good location on Darling Harbour. The apartments do vary considerably though, so if you're not happy, then try to move to a different one (for example the ones on the lower floors can be very dark, vs. some lovely views from the ones higher up). The inside of the building/the coridors aren't glamourous at all, but if you're in Sydney then you're probably not going to spend much time there anyway. The small kitchen comes in handy for drinks/breakfast etc. as do the washer/dryer if you're travelling around Oz for a while. Recommended if you want a convenient base in the centre of town for exploring Sydney - not recommended if you're after a hotel with facilities to relax in.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms tend to be quieter and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Oaks Goldsbrough.

We are certain that other fellow travellers will find your review very helpful when planning their long or short stay holiday.

We do hope you will stay with us again at Oaks Goldsbrough in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had a wonderful time staying at this hotel. It was everything we were looking for and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Look for their deals. We had 40% off our room for four nights. Had to pay up front and no refund but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review on trip advisor. We are glad you had a fabulous time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

stayed here for one night and the apartment had a good location, just accross from Darling Harbour, it was well equiped and had the benefit of a washing machine and a dryer which was a godsend, they also provided powder!

A little over priced I think but then that seemed to be the norm in Sydney.

A little tip do the free Sydney tour, it was quite good and you just leave a tip if you liked the tour !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you for your review of Oaks Goldsbrough. We are so pleased to read that you found our location and facilities to be ideal for your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you when next in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Address: 243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.