We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool area. Not so good elsewhere.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments to your Saves list
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #33 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great pool area. Not so good elsewhere.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is a big complex with a mix of residential and hotel apartments. Part of the old wool stores building, it is a shame that more attention wasn’t directed to retaining some of the charm of the old buildings. I think the dollar may have been the driver here.

For a family holiday the apartments have everything you need although things are a little tired. They offer a three and a four star option and we opted for the four. Given that we noted a state of ‘tired’ I probably wouldn’t be risking the three star option.

Noise can be a problem – the crazy open space that runs ground floor to roof top is an enormous chamber with no insulation whatsoever and just a myriad of metal staircases and walkways. When the revellers come home from a night on the town you do tend to hear them. Take plugs if you are a light sleeper.

Pool, spa and gym area are fantastic and , at least, in this part of the building, the charm has been kept. Very impressive pool – perfect for laps. Excellent spa. Strangely only accessible by wandering through the hotel reception (yes – bad design!)

Sydney’s retro monorail can be accessed from one of the floors but the whole place really seems very remote. It is a fair hike to find anything supermarket like so if you are self catering the circle route into the CBD via monorail (15 minutes) is your best bet. Darling Harbour is close by for eateries but it is still a 10 or so minute walk by the time you get out of the maze that is this building.

If we got it for a good rate we’d stay again but really do prefer something that is a bit more in the action.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    417
    275
    161
    159
See reviews for
315
322
59
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed in these apartments for 4 nights with our 3 children and despite the fact that the outside area around the apartment resembled a prison, we would definitely stay here again.
The apartment had two floors, two double bedrooms and an extra bed for one of the children. We had 2 bathrooms, one with shower and one with bath. The main bedroom had stunning views of the Sydney skyline. The other bedroom was tight on space and you had to keep the blinds down at all times , as you overlooked the outside area.
The pool was narrow but attractive and we spent some time in the excellent jacuzzi!
A lift ride and short walk to level 2, via a bridge took you right to the monorail which gives you access to the whole of Sydney.
Lots of choice re restaurants in Darling Harbour, although you could cook in the apartment if you wanted to. We had breakfasts there, took a packed lunch and ate in restaurants every evening.
Sydney is an amazing place and there is so much to do, we could have spent 2 weeks here.
When we visit Sydney and we would go back tomorrow, we will stay at The Oaks again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your family holiday with us at Oaks Goldsbrough. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the apartment and the stunning views of Sydney and that the hotel was in a great location for you to experience all that beautiful Sydney has to offer. We would love to welcome you back to stay with us at Oaks Goldsbrough or another one of our Oaks properties in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

After staying there for a week, I realized that more than a half of the rental was for the location. The location was superb just cross a small road to darling harbour, monorail station and harbourside shopping centre. It was convenience as they had car parking provided with 19$ charge. Other than that, it seemed to be this apartment was not really money value. Don't excpect too much with the staff. They will be only your receptions nothing else, check in -out. You have to take care all of your luggages yourself. Air volatile in the room was very poor when cooking. Some days the room was not cleaned properly only throwed garbage away. Toilet items such as soap, shampoo etc. were poor quality (three stars hotel in Vientain or in remoted Thailand even used higher quality items). Shower cap was not provided. I never stayed in other hotels in SYD so not sure if this things were Sydney hotel standard. So compare with other hotels carefully. Swimming pool had a very strong chlorine. Be careful if you are easily allergic.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melboutne
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

on arrival for check in , which we waited in a long line for almost an hour, i must say the apartment was well worth the wait, we had a two bedroom apartment with magnificent views of darling harbour. the hotel has an indoor pool , also very centrally located to all its city sights ' train station a five minute walk, right on darling harbour which you can access from the second floor.
a 1 minute walking distance and you are at all shops, restaurants, mono rail, buses, convention centre, ferrys and much more

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
It is nice to hear that you were happy with your recent stay with us at Oaks Goldsbrough and that the apartment and hotel facilities were in a great location for your holiday. We would love to welcome you back to Oaks Goldsbrough in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed here in a studio apartment for a week on business. Great to stay somewhere different from the usual bland hotel experience.
The room itself was fine, bathroom modern and clean, kitchen was well equipped and all working although a little dated. Servicing and heating/cooling were all up to the mark.
Positives
+ Location - Darling harbour and right by the monorail stop
+ Pool, spa and gym clean and well equipped
+ Decent TV with Foxtel sports

Negatives
- Lifts old, slow and not all working, had to wait several minutes at busy times
- If you're not harbour facing then the view of a brick wall/car park was not great but then again I got a discount rate and it's not like I was on holiday.
- A little noisy from wooden corridor outside and room above, as others have stated this is an apartment block not just a hotel

Personally I won't be staying here again I think there is better value to be had elsewhere, but it was not an unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
We are glad that you enjoyed your recent experience with us at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments and that your room was well equipped. It appears the property was in a great location for your business trip being close to Sydney services. We would welcome you to stay with us again at Oaks Hotels & Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Ask for a room with a view as will get a brick wall to look at. Great location as 5 mins walk to darling harbour shopping, food an bars, although travelling on my own I found the walk back at night via the walkway a little daunting. Hotel is right on the main highway which is floors 3 and 5 of the hotel so lots of traffic noise at night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
We appreciate your review regarding your Stay with us at Oaks Goldsbrough. The property is in a convenient location within walking distance to shops, restaurants and transport. We do hope you will consider staying with us again for business at Oaks Goldsbrough or another on of our Oaks properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This place was reccomended through beauty expo because it close to darling harbour, monorail and convention centre. first of all there were no concierge, rude staff and we had to lug luggage up a massive staircase in our room after we brang our bags up to the room ourselves (mind you there were loads of staff and 4 luggage trolleys downstairs). The rooms need updating. Bad hot water/shower pressure. The phones didnt get answered after a certain hour and we couldnt find heating.

Room Tip: for basic budget hotel with no service - stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Whilst it is disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay with us, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments is a serviced apartment building and as such does not offer a concierge service. There is however luggage trolleys available for our guests to use. It is concerning that your phone call wasn’t answered as reception staff are available 24 hours and this issue has been addressed with hotel management. If you would like to discuss your concerns further please do not hesitate to contact our customer feedback team at -------------.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Address: 243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.