We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant But Bizarre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments to your Saves list
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor Autumn Offer!
Ranked #94 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Perth
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Brilliant But Bizarre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Convert an old wool shed into a 6 storey apartment block, add open walkways across all floors and include comfortable apartments and you have one of the most bizarre places I have stayed in awhile.

If heights are your problem, dont stay at the Oaks upper levels, as the look down from the walkway going to your apartment is unsettling, thought the decor and rooms are clean, comfortable and the hotel is situated in a great location near Darling Harbour and transport.

The negatives - Finding parking if you drive is difficult, though a nearby carpark and walkway is manageable, though expensive. As a out of towner, it is difficult to traverse the roads and motorways around the CBD to get there. We ended up across the Sydney harbour Bridge twice before we got close to getting to the hotel. Dont be fooled by some of the advertsing photos either, some rooms face brick walls, though it didnt matter for us but a view of Darling harbour would have been nice.

Room Tip: If driving, work out where to go before hand
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    521
    321
    180
    177
See reviews for
367
400
71
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed on level 9 for 3 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment. Everyone that walked past footsteps could be heard in the room as well as voices as the wooden floor was very noisy outside. If they carpeted it the problem would be solved. In the room we could hear the people in the next room. The room was run down and is in need of a make over. The only good thing about this place is the close proximity to Darling Harbour. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Overall, we found the hotel very clean and in a fantastic location. The one complaint that we have, is that even though we paid for our whole stay upfront, they still took a $150 security deposit from our credit card .... we were not told this until we arrived. When we checked out, I asked about the security deposit being put back into our account.... and was told that it can take up to 10 days!!! I was so not impressed about that!!! What a shame that one little policy, spoiled the whole visit and for that reason alone, we won't be back. If they had been honest and upfront at the time of booking and payment, it would have been ok, so be aware!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

The photos on this site, are not the rooms, so don't be fooled by those. The rooms are very dated, cold (high ceilings) and the bathrooms are filthy. The shower was grotty and small. Our room looked right out into the carpark which was only a laneway wide. You couldn't have the curtains open or windows as the fumes from the carpark and also people looking in. HOWEVER, it was only $107 per night, cheap by Sydney standards. The rooms have thins walls so you can hear everything next door. We thought it was okay but we weren't hanging around the room either, it was only a place to sleep, and should be only considered as that. Their is a bus behind the hotel on the corner of harris st that takes you into the city for $2 which is pretty good. Take warm PJs as in winter months the room is cold and the blankets are thin. We didn't take a car but I'm told the parking is VERY expensive

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Oaksborough is great value for money. The rooms are clean and spacious. Great central location, just opposite monorail and train station, access to Darling Harbour, short walking distance to Casino.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

I arrive at the hotel and stand at the front desk for about 5mins, whilst the receptionists giggle and chat amongst themselves before someone finally realises there's someone waiting. After I'm given my key, I'm not given any directions at all to the room, just a piece of paper with "general hotel info"...after finally finding the room, i walk into the bedroom and discover blood stains on the floor, a broken lamp, and an extremely dusty wardrobe. Then as I enter the lounge room, the balcony door has been left open so the room is freezing. Also, there's 4 remotes on the table, non of them labelled as to what they do, so there I am trying to turn the television on, i eventually gave up and called reception, who said they'd send someone up to help me but no one ever came!! It was a 3 night stay for a business conference, so it would have been nice to go back to the hotel and relax on the couch with a bit of telly after a busy day. Luckily, I had my laptop with me but ended up spending in excess of $100 on internet because they charge ridiculously high prices, with most hotels providing free wireless these days, I was certainly very surprised to have to pay such a high rate for internet - and that was just the first night! Second day, I asked the receptionist to order me a cab, to which he pointed outside and said "there's a taxi rank outside, just get one there"..when i went outside though, there was no sign of any taxi rank and I had to walk to a main road and hail one myself... I WOULD NEVER COME BACK AGAIN AND DON"T RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE. THE STAFF ARE TERRIBLE, THE ROOM WAS DISGUSTING AND DILAPIDATED. The only good thing was the location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Very Basic - no sofa or comfortable chairs, Dull room overlooking car park. Landings ressembled a prison. Antique TV - will stay elsewhere next time we visit sydney

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Address: 243 Pyrmont Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.