We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, spacious, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street to your Saves list
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Central, spacious, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Good place to stay when you are in Sydney for a few days. The ability to cook your own food rather than eat out each night is great. Rooms are spacious and service is great. Definitely worth staying at in future

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Jane H,

You’re certainly correct – just one of the perks of staying in a Meriton Serviced Apartment is that all apartments are oversized and come fully equipped with your own full kitchen (studios have kitchenettes). We find this to be extremely popular among families and groups which are travelling together as it provides extra convenience and flexibility offering a self-catering option.

Jane H, we are aware that Sydney has an abundance of accommodation options and to hear that you would definitely stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street on your next return is fantastic feedback and such a great motivator for the team as we strive to ensure we provide an even better experience on your next return.

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,356
    732
    122
    61
    26
See reviews for
533
852
97
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cootamundra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Great location if looking for somewhere to stay in city. Only five minutes walk to Darling Hoarbour etc. Room excellent. Will stay again. booked a studio and ended up in one bedroom apartment so even better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Inspiration53,

What a great start to ones stay when you are complementary upgraded on arrival!

Thank you very much for you feedback, it’s great to read that you found the apartment you were provided with to be “excellent”.

Sydney is such a beautiful, bustling city and we are so fortunate to be situated right in the heat of it all. Only minutes’ walk to exciting areas such as China Town, Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, our location really can’t be beaten!

Inspiration53, your five star review really is an inspiration and motivator to the team as we continue striving for excellence. Thank you once again for your comments, we look forward to seeing you return again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

The Meriton was an excellent base to explore Sydney and all it has to offer. Rooms were modern, spotless and a generous size. Everywhere in the city was within walking distance or had trains close by. Will return on my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Jennieg84,

Wow thank you so much for your lovely review. “Faultless” – what more could we ask for!

It’s great to see that you had an all-round fantastic stay with us and enjoyed everything that Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street has to offer. We are very fortunate indeed to be located in such a central city location, allowing easy access to an array of eateries, shopping centres and famous attractions.

Jennieg84 thank you once again for your positive feedback, the team and I are excited to see that you will return next time you’re in Sydney and we can’t wait to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Had a good stay at the Meriton at Kent Street. Reception was efficient and the concierge was helpful to our needs. We requested for a one bd rm apartment but was placed in a two bd rm apartment with one room locked off. No worries cos it was a high floor and the view was pretty good! The bed was comfortable and the room was fairly clean, albeit slightly dated. Only single housekeeping complaint was I don't think the sheets of our baby's cot as well as our bedsheets were changed though we requested for it. And maybe I'm nitpicking but no effort was made by housekeeping to tidy up the baby cot either, the sheets and blankets were just tossed haphazardly in. On the whole though still a good stay, and would definitely consider returning!

Oh, location is great too. Lots of good food around. Home Thai is just nearby and was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Jd3000,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback after your stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street.

We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that the reception and concierge teams were helpful assisting you with any questions or queries you had.

How lovely that you were placed in a larger apartment than originally booked and allocated on a high floor of the building, that definitely makes a great start to ones stay!

Please be advised, we have just recently completed a full refurbishment of two thirds of the hotel and the final stage is set to be completed mid 2014. We are updating the apartments with new modern furniture, new décor and re-painting.

On behalf of the team at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street thank you once again for your feedback, we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We are regular visitors to Sydney and on this occasion, we decided to try the Meriton Serviced Apartments in Kent Street. Based on our experience of Sydney, we felt that its location would work well for us given what we were planning to see and do in the city.

We booked a studio apartment and it had great views. Indeed its location was second to none, being only a short walk to Chinatown, Darling Harbour, Pitt Street Mall, QVB and Central Station. It is tremendously central to everything and food was absolutely convenient. The Spanish Quarter and good Vietnamese cuisine are virtually next door.

Would we stay again? Definitely! However I will qualify this by saying that their room rates are quite high, even by Sydney standards. At the full rate, it could be argued that the establishment is not value for money. Hence my recommendation is that you check the likes of TripAdvisor and Wotif for the best rates available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Skis-gitz,

We are thrilled to read that your first Meriton experience was positive and that you would definitely return again in the future!

We are indeed very fortunate to be situated in such a wonderful Sydney city position, allowing easy and convenient access too many restaurants, shopping centres and all the major famous attractions our beautiful city has to offer.

Skis, we understand that Sydney has many accommodation options to choose from and we appreciate you choosing to stay with Meriton Serviced Apartments! Please feel free sign up to our monthly E-Newsletter on our website, you will then receive monthly email notifications of Meriton Serviced Apartments special news, offers and information.

Thank you very much for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you return again soon!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Staff very friendly, very welcoming! Rooms were immaculate and very roomy. Great location also! Had a nice stay here with my mum. Would definitely stay here again. Mum is a smoker and you can't smoke in the rooms but the balcony is a great size and quite private too so she spent a lot of time out there.

Room Tip: Stayed in a 2 bedroom and it was great. Great roomy balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Bailey8kylie,

Thank you for your “excellent” five star review!

It’s so great to read your comments that you had an all-round great stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, your comments that you found the staff to be friendly and welcoming are most appreciated and motivating for the team.

As you mentioned, Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street is located in a fantastic city location which really can’t be beaten! All apartments are fully equipped, spacious and many have private balcony’s offering stunning views over Sydney and beyond.

Bailey8kylie it’s so great to see that you and your mum enjoyed everything that the apartment has to offer, thank you once again for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

First time in Meriton appts, very impressed. Staff on reception helpful and efficient. Studio for two very spacious, well equipped, comfortable and clean. Daily service no problems.Free WiFi allowance adequate. Would stay again
Couple on three days visit for leisure

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Plowst,

Our aim at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street is to provide our guests with a quality product together with first class customer service and it’s so fantastic to read this was your experience.

In a city where there is a wide range of accommodation options available we are aware that we need to stand out from the crowd. Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street is proud to provide oversized, fully equipped apartments in a fantastic location together with complementary extras such as 1GB Wifi per day per apartment, an indoor heated swimming pool, spa, sauna and gym!

Thank you for providing feedback after your recent stay, we look forward to hosting your next Sydney stay on your return from Leeds, UK!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Address: 528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#12 Family Hotel in Sydney
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#13 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street 5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street positions you in the heart of the city with an impressive 431 apartments consisting of studio, one, two and three bedroom configurations all with luxury finishes. Here all the nightlife and entertainment options are so close you will really need to stay an extra night with so much to do.We are situated right in the Spanish Quarter and a minutes’ walk from Chinatown. With one of the many lively pubs or bars so close the action never stops as there is always something new to see and discover. Enjoy the trend-setting shopping just across the street at the new World Square Shopping Centre, enjoy a show at the Entertainment Centre or see the latest release movie on the big-screen at Event Cinemas - all right on our doorstep. Plus all of Sydney's major attractions are all within walking distance; Darling Harbour (IMAX), Cockle Bay Wharf, Queen Victoria Building, Sydney Aquarium, Powerhouse Museum, Sydney's business district, many corporate headquarters and Law courts. The oversized fully equipped apartments designed for living will allow for the most comfortable stay in apartment accommodation in Sydney. Each apartment has a kitchen (studios have kitchenettes), and a separate laundry, which includes clothes washer, dryer, iron and ironing board. The apartments are also fully air-conditioned and most have opening windows and balconies to allow for fresh air. This property is the last designed building of the world famous Australian designer, Harry Seidler. Why stay in a hotel, when you can stay in a iconic Meriton Serviced Apartment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Meriton, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.