We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Save Saved
You added Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi*
Ranked #10 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

During our 5 days stay at Meriton Kent, everyday we have to change our card key.
We were so tired when we arrived from outing and have to wait until somebody to come up
to open the door for us, and it happened everyday.

The first night one of the heater was not working well.
When we came home, then an invoice also came charging us with the bottled water which
we did not realize are not compliment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
DearLydia688,

Thank you for providing feedback after your stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street. It’s disappointing to read your feedback about the problems you faced during your recent stay, please accept my sincerest apologies that your stay was below expectations.

Meriton Serviced Apartments provides bottled water in all apartments which are at a cost of $3 per bottle. Each bottle of water is individually labelled to ensure guests are aware of the $3 charge.

In regards to the issue you faced with your apartment key not working correctly, I would like to investigate your comments further and get a specialised technician out to check the door of the apartment you were staying in to ensure there are no problems as such in the future. If you could please email me personally on taken@Meriton.net.au with your booking details it would be greatly appreciated.

Lydia688 we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. I hope the comments you have mentioned don’t detour you from staying with Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street again in the future as we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to ensure you have an enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,131
    624
    110
    57
    26
See reviews for
461
729
87
296
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked a one bedroom apartment but when we were checking in we were upgraded to a two bedroom apartment for the same cost. More room for us we were told! It was a beautiful apartment with views from the large balcony to the Blue Mountains and overlooking Darling Harbour. The apartment was spacious well appointed and very clean. A well equipped kitchen with everything you would need if you felt inclined to cook! A short walk to restaurants and Queen Victoria Building where Town Hall station is. The bedroom was large and the king size bed very comfortable. A bath in the en suite and a large shower. It was value for money. All staff were very good and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Rambler1923,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, I’m pleased to read that you had a relaxing three night stay with us!

It certainly makes a great first impression and an exciting start to a stay when you are advised of a complementary upgrade. It’s fantastic to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the spacious apartment and took time to take in the spell bounding views over Darling Harbour and beyond to the Blue Mountains!

Thank you for your appraisal of the staff, it’s always fantastic to receive feedback that indicates they are providing a high level of service.

Rambler1923 thank you once again for your review, the team and I look forward to hosting your next Sydney stay!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

the room is great quality, the space is very comfortable and the price is excellent. The location is excellent in the heart of the city. I very much like the balcony. This is an excelent functiton. I would highly recomend to anyone going to Australia. Much better value then any 5 star hote.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear RickRicciardi,

“Meriton is the best” wow thank you for your amazing review!

I’m thrilled to read your feedback that you found the apartment to be of great quality, spacious and comfortable! You also kindly made mention to our fantastic central location, thank you.

RickRicciardi it’s so great to hear that you would choose to stay with Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street over any other five star hotel. Thank you for recommending us to fellow travellers, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom harbour view apartment for 4 nights. Very spacious, comfortable beds, nice pool, great views and excellent location. Not cheap but well worth the money. Will definitely stay there next time I'm in Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Pauline H,

Many thanks for completing your first Trip Advisor review in regards to your recent five-star stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street and welcome to the exciting world of Trip Advisor!

I am delighted to read that you found the two-bedroom high floor apartment to be spacious, comfortable, with great views and all in a convenient location!

We appreciate your fantastic feedback and we are thrilled to read that you will definitely be back the next time you’re in Sydney; we look forward to your next return!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for a week and found the location was close to Darling Harbour. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was roomy. Easy check in and check out,luggage storage until you leave. Free city bus was a short walk along George St which we found helped as this took us to Circular Quay and also many stops around the city area. Freindly helpful staff. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: One bedroom apartments are well designed and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Sharon2307,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street!

You made mention to our fantastic central location and it’s great to read that you made use of the free city loop bus which makes stops at many exciting areas such Circular Quay, China town and the Queen Victoria shopping centre.

Sharon2307 thank you for your feedback and for recommending Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street. We look forward to hosting your next Sydney stay in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at this property 3 to 4 nights per week for two years while working on a project in Sydney. The staff are always welcoming and the property functional and clean. My experience while working in Sydney was excellent and consequently my wife and I now always stay at the Meriton in Kent St when in Sydney to attend shows and have a holiday. We last stayed in the Meriton on Kent in August as we were flying out of Sydney on an overseas trip the following morning at 0630. It is in a great location for shopping, theatre, Darling Harbour and Central railway station. The staff are excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Fin001,

Thank you for your continual loyalty to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street and for sharing a review with the online travel community, we certainly appreciate your fantastic feedback!

The comments I appreciate the most is that you find the staff to be excellent and always welcoming! The staff at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street pride themselves on providing exceptional service and to hear great feedback such as yours is a motivator for the team to continue striving to provide excellent service.

Fin001 we are delighted to be you and your wife’s preferred accommodation provider, we look forward to welcoming you back in the close future!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in a studio apartment and it was exactly as shown on their website. Check in was easy & staff were excellent. We were on the 28 floor and it was extremely quiet for sleeping. The bed was comfortable & the only negative was that there was only one large single arm chair/settee so the other person could choose one of three other chairs that were used at the small dining table (ample size for 2 People) & for the small office type desk. We stayed 3 days & maybe from a relaxing settee situation watching TV was a little cramped. We really didn't spend a lot of time there so we were quite happy & the price for the location & closeness to both bus & train station was excellent. We came from the airport by train directly to Parliament Station & that was so easy just a very short walk to the Meriton Kent St.. We thought it was very good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Elizabethoz,

Receiving a detailed review from a Senior Contributor is greatly appreciated, thank you for your feedback!

I am pleased to read that you found the studio apartment to be quiet, of good value and matched the description which is advertised on our website. You also made mention of our convenient central city location, thank you.

In regards to your comments about the furniture in the living room area, unfortunately we are restricted for the amount of living room furniture that can be placed in studio apartments due to the amount of space available. May I suggest trying a one bedroom apartment on your next stay where the approximate floor space is 56 meters squared as opposed to 38 meters squared in studio apartments.

Elizabethoz, thank you once again for providing the travel community with a review following your recent stay, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Address: 528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#12 Family Hotel in Sydney
#13 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street positions you in the heart of the city with an impressive 431 apartments consisting of studio, one, two and three bedroom configurations all with luxury finishes. Here all the nightlife and entertainment options are so close you will really need to stay an extra night with so much to do.We are situated right in the Spanish Quarter and a minutes’ walk from Chinatown. With one of the many lively pubs or bars so close the action never stops as there is always something new to see and discover. Enjoy the trend-setting shopping just across the street at the new World Square Shopping Centre, enjoy a show at the Entertainment Centre or see the latest release movie on the big-screen at Event Cinemas - all right on our doorstep. Plus all of Sydney's major attractions are all within walking distance; Darling Harbour (IMAX), Cockle Bay Wharf, Queen Victoria Building, Sydney Aquarium, Powerhouse Museum, Sydney's business district, many corporate headquarters and Law courts. The oversized fully equipped apartments designed for living will allow for the most comfortable stay in apartment accommodation in Sydney. Each apartment has a kitchen (studios have kitchenettes), and a separate laundry, which includes clothes washer, dryer, iron and ironing board. The apartments are also fully air-conditioned and most have opening windows and balconies to allow for fresh air. This property is the last designed building of the world famous Australian designer, Harry Seidler. Why stay in a hotel, when you can stay in a iconic Meriton Serviced Apartment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Meriton, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.