We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Save Saved
You added Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi*
Ranked #11 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great apartment, within walking distance to haymarket and darling harbour. Stayed in a One Bedroom Skyview apartment, worth paying the extra had an amazing view of the city and the harbour. 3 air cons in the apartment were great to come home to after extremely hot days.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a skyview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Bec T,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the apartments and the superior views from our sky views apartments!.

Again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us, and do look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,040
    591
    108
    57
    26
See reviews for
419
691
84
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Well appointed 1 bed apartment on 35th floor. Balcony and superb views over Sydney. Friendly staff and excellent facilities including a lap pool and gym which we used frequently. Perfect location. 20 min walk to opera house, 5 minutes to darling harbour. Will only stay here on our next trip to Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear bohemian_traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a fantastic review on your most recent stay.

As you noted, we are located in a very central city location which makes it very convenient when shopping and visiting Sydney's most famous sites.

Thank you again for your 5-star review, on behalf of the Kent Street family we look forward to welcoming you on your next return to Sydney!

Kind Regards

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The great, spacious, clean and a great location but the approach ability and attitude of the majority of the staff was absolutely appalling. Put it this way, if everything goes well on your stay (i.e. you don't need the staff for anything, you will have a great stay, if you do need them for anything, consider yourself ignored) Upon arriving to the Meriton we interrupted an argument between a guest and the hotel staff - the guest was so annoyed we initially thought it very un -called for but in hindsight we totally understood his point, basically he had been given a lift and room card which didn't work and he kept returning to reception for a new one, when we arrived this was his 12th time on returning to reception, still he received no apology and the staff were very very rude to him. This hotel seems to accept no responsibility for their actions and seem to think it rude of the customer for complaining - we complained about something very important to us and they threatened to throw our friend out of the hotel. It was quite simply shocking - and something you would never come across in a 5 * anywhere else in the world - i had better service when i stayed in a 28 backpackers when i traveled here years ago!
Hotel - lovely, service - very very distressing to say the least to the point where it ruined our trip...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Thortonhallfarm,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your most recent stay at MSA Kent St.

I am please that you enjoyed your 3 bedroom apartment (the views are most spectacular) and also our superior location in the heart of the Sydney CBD.

Thortonhallfarm, I do apologise for the comments you made in regards to the ‘poor service’ you refer to during you encountered during your stay. I am puzzled by your comments; however I will be monitoring your feedback closely.

Please rest assured that our front desk team are trained to offer our guests the best service possible and our management team monitor our service standards daily.

If you would like to discuss further then I would be more than welcome to go through the points you raise. Certainly so of the issues are worthy of further investigation.

Thank you again for your time and I do hope that you will reconsider returning to Meriton Serviced Apartments and I wish you all the best for 2013.

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Modern apartments with everything we needed. Single beds a little small but comfortable. Great location. Requested 2 adjacent apartments which we received. Great views of Darling Harbour. No complaints. Would stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Kiwiangela,

Thanks for your great review! I'm thrilled to read that you had a fantastic stay with us! As you noted, Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street offers well sized apartments in a convenient, central city location.

Again, thank you for your feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street on your next return to Sydney!

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just stayed one night and we were delighted with the cleanliness and furnishings of the room. Ours was a studio and comes with a kitchen and washing machine. We did not make use of these facilities but if you are planning a longer stay then you have the choice of saving some money and doing a bit of cooking for yourselves (Coles Supermarket 2 mins away) or eating at any of the hundred?? eateries within a short walk.
The bed was very comfortable and aircon was easy to adjust to our requirements.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Timber Blue Mountains,

Thank you for completing a review on your recent stay, I’m thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

As you mentioned, Meriton Serviced Apartments offers fully equipped, spacious apartments which are perfectly suited to a long stay in the harbour city.

In regards to your feedback about our cleanliness and quality of accommodation, thank you for your kind words. These are the essentials of what Meriton Serviced Apartments represents!

Timber Blue Mountains, thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you on your next return to Sydney!

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Found the apartments very central for our needs. The staff are friendly and most efficient.While ours was only a few days stay we would highly recommend the Kent Street facilities and excellent service.

Room Tip: WE were on the 39th floor and had no road noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear SteadieNZ,


Thank you for completing a review on your recent stay, I’m please to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

As you mentioned, Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent St are ideally located in the Sydney CBD yet close to all the cities main attractions making us an ideal destination.

SteadieNZ, we look forward to seeing you on your next return to Sydney!

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

When I phoned to book, the operator greeted me as a returning customer and i was bumped to a skyview room, 51st floor. The check-in process was a breeze and the apartment was immaculately clean and maintained to a very high standard. I was very happy with my stay and would recommend this property as a very central point for your Sydney travels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Narelle R,


Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street. I was most delighted to read your comments and note that you enjoyed your stay and the services we provide.

I was thrilled to hear that your enjoyed the skyview apartments and that you found it maintained to a very high standard.

Our team appreciate your kind words and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Address: 528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#12 Family Hotel in Sydney
#13 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street positions you in the heart of the city with an impressive 431 apartments consisting of studio, one, two and three bedroom configurations all with luxury finishes. Here all the nightlife and entertainment options are so close you will really need to stay an extra night with so much to do.We are situated right in the Spanish Quarter and a minutes’ walk from Chinatown. With one of the many lively pubs or bars so close the action never stops as there is always something new to see and discover. Enjoy the trend-setting shopping just across the street at the new World Square Shopping Centre, enjoy a show at the Entertainment Centre or see the latest release movie on the big-screen at Event Cinemas - all right on our doorstep. Plus all of Sydney's major attractions are all within walking distance; Darling Harbour (IMAX), Cockle Bay Wharf, Queen Victoria Building, Sydney Aquarium, Powerhouse Museum, Sydney's business district, many corporate headquarters and Law courts. The oversized fully equipped apartments designed for living will allow for the most comfortable stay in apartment accommodation in Sydney. Each apartment has a kitchen (studios have kitchenettes), and a separate laundry, which includes clothes washer, dryer, iron and ironing board. The apartments are also fully air-conditioned and most have opening windows and balconies to allow for fresh air. This property is the last designed building of the world famous Australian designer, Harry Seidler. Why stay in a hotel, when you can stay in a iconic Meriton Serviced Apartment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Meriton, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.