We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed - and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street to your Saves list
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi*
Ranked #10 of 183 Hotels in Sydney
Coolum, QLD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Everything we needed - and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We always choose apartments over hotel rooms for our family of two teenage girls plus mum and dad. Having previously loved Meriton Danks Street, we thought we'd try their city version. What a great idea!

Stayed for a week over Christmas to make the most of everything Sydney has on offer at this time of year. By day, we travelled easily by foot and on trains, getting to Circular Quay or Bondi Junction is just a couple of train stops. Darling Harbour and the inner city are easily accessible. If you walk along Kent Street for one block you will be at an entry to Town Hall arcade and can be on a train to anywhere in ten minutes. This is an easy walk and would be suitable even for small children and able bodied seniors.

Coles is nearby, so we stocked up on groceries on the first day and made use of the excellent kitchen facilities for most breakfasts and some dinners. These cheaper meals let us be extravagant for the others at the huge range of fabulous restaurants on offer in Sydney.

The lounge and beds are comfy and it was lovely to come home and put our feet up after a busy day. There is lots of room to hang your clothes and spread out comfortably. Ten minutes of careful unpacking at the beginning and it really is a home away from home.

Staff are unobtrusive, we can't say more because there was nothing that needed attention. From check in to check out everything ran smoothly. If there was anything that could be improved, and it is only minor, it is that the towels are somewhat past their use-by date. Nevertheless, they were changed regularly and did the job efficiently.

The thoughtful, efficient layout of our apartment made our stay an absolute pleasure. Whilst our South West view was mainly buildings, there are worse ways to spend an evening than sitting on a balmy balcony with a companion and a wine to gaze at the city lights.

Meriton has done it again for us, and we will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Views of Darling Harbour would be lovely and there are fireworks \\every Saturday night which you co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Still_lots_to_do,

“Meriton has done it again for us, and we will most certainly be back!” – Thanks!

Thank you for your fantastic detailed report regarding your most recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found use of our oversized, well-appointed apartments allowing you to feel like it was a ‘home away from home’. Our location is certainly very handy being so close to all the wonderful sites that Sydney has to offer. Not to mention the great dining options and transport facilities.

Please kindly note that we are always injecting new linen into our supplies to ensure our product is always at a high standard. I was disappointed to see that you found our linen out-dated. Please be advised that I have passed on your comments to our Executive Housekeeper for further investigation. Please accept my apologies for this.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Meriton Serviced Apartments. Your business is valuable and we appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to your return in the near future.


Kind Regards
Alison G
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    649
    113
    61
    26
See reviews for
479
756
88
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We had a Xmas booking at the Meriton Kent Street for over 2 months. On arriving at 10pm after a long flight we were given our first key that did not work. Our 3rd key worked so we unpacked and I went out to get some water. On returning the key would not work or any of the 5 they gave me. He security guard escorted me upstairs and told us we had to Tay the night and they would get us a Key the next day after people checked out. We then fled to the Westin after getting abused or telling the security guard we would not be styling.

Absolutely appalling avoid it at all costs

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Mitchpa,

Thank you for taking the time provide feedback on your experience.

Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have reported. Due to an unforeseen computer issue at the time of your arrival unfortunately we were unable to activate the security keys for the lifts. I understand that our staff did offer to escort you to your apartment until the problem was rectified, however initially you declined and then decided to leave us.

I can certainly understand your frustration after a long haul flight and the urgency of getting to bed. Unfortunately computer situations like this cannot be foreseen, however when they do arise we make every attempt to correct them as soon as possible to minimise disruption to our guests. It appears that on this occasion you were not satisfied with our attempts and for that once again I apologise.

Kind Regards
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at Meriton on Kent street for 5 nights was very happy with everything. We will stay again when we go back to Sydney. It was a gret location as there were a lot of places nearby to eat, the Sanctuary Hotel across the road had great meals. There was a monorail station closeby. The staff were very freindly & helpful. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

These serviced apartments are the way to go if you're traveling with more than one person (or even when traveling solo). My sister requested a high floor to get away from street noise, balcony and harbour view, all of which we received. Note that the hotel is actually quite a bit away buildings-wise from the harbour so the view is limited, but not a big deal!

The flat had a fridge, microwave, oven / hob, toaster, water boiler, utensils (but no plates or frying pan), dish washer, laundry machine and dryer. Perfect as we had just come from the whitsundays and were in dire need of doing some clothes washing. laundry liquid was provided.

This location is very central - 5 min from darling harbour, walked to surry hills for dinner, walked about 20 minutes to circular quay and the sydney harbour bridge / opera house. The only time we took a taxi was to Bondi Beach. The concierge recommended we take a taxi to The Australian museum too, but that is unnecessary - it's a 10 minute easy walk. You basically can get everywhere touristy that you want to on foot from this location save Bondi and the airport.

The service people were friendly.

Not the most luxurious place on earth, but the flats are spacious, the beds sleepable, and it's worth sacrificing luxury for the conveniences/amenities.

Oh and not that we made it there, but it has quite a decent pool and gym too.

Will definitely try to book this place again if returning to Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear leorl23,

Thanks for your great review! I'm thrilled to read that you had a fantastic stay with us! As you noted, Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street offers over sized apartments in a convenient, central city location.

Again, thank you for your feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street on your next return to Sydney!

Kind Regards
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a great stat st the Meriton on Kent. We stayed 5 nights with our 9 year old twins in a 2 bedroom apartment. Great location for dinner and Darling Harbour plus the free 555 bus to Circular Quay was near by. Lots of dinner options nearby also especially if you love Asian cuisine. Good value as well as Syndey can be expensive. The daily maid service was great and the place was very clean. The pool was the only real downer as it is not really family friendly - more of a small lap pool. We were also delayed in checking in - we arrived at 10am which is well before 2pm check-in but we finally git a room at 3:15pm. with young and tired kids that was a challenge especially after a long flight. Overall a great stay for us. We will come back!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Well Meriton does it again with ZERO customer service. Booked a 2 bedroom at this property and was to be given as a gift, but when I went to prepay so guests wouldn't be asked for payment, I was told I would ave to go to all this extra trouble and have to do 48 hours before arrival. Like my god, every other hotel chain or independent will take a fax or email authority to charge. Credit card, NOT Meriton. Even spoke to management (after speaking with five other unhelpful people) the reply was its our policy. So I cancelled and got my guests to stay at Fraser Suites, just down the road. One call one person, was booked and paid for in less then five minutes. Wake up Meriton and start making it easy for guests. Customer service is terrible and not just at this property, must just be a corporate thing.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Colin L,

For protection against fraud it is one of our policies that payment and bond is taken upon check-in. Information regarding this and what is required at check-in is available to our guests when making your reservation online and is explained when making a booking over the telephone.

I am sorry that you feel that we didn't offer any customer service on this occasion,however we did offer alternatives such as Bpay, Direct deposit, and paypal for this booking.

Kind Regards
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We recently stayed for one night after a Christmas party in the city, in a 1 Bedroom apartment and were really impressed with the comfort and space the apartment offers. We have stayed before in a Studio room and were happy with that, but it is well worth the extra for the upgrade.
Location is ideal within walking distance of Town Hall and Darling Harbour and you basically are paying the same price as you would for a standard hotel room. Our accommodation choice in Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear AussiefamilySydney,

I note that you have made reviews from over 23 cities around the world, WOW what a milestone! It’s fantastic to have such a glowing review from such a well-rounded traveller.

Its certainly convenient staying in a Meriton Serviced Apartment as you have all the perks of being at home –over sized, fully equipped apartments which include full kitchens and even your own washer and dryer.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Address: 528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#10 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#12 Family Hotel in Sydney
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#13 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street 5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street positions you in the heart of the city with an impressive 431 apartments consisting of studio, one, two and three bedroom configurations all with luxury finishes. Here all the nightlife and entertainment options are so close you will really need to stay an extra night with so much to do.We are situated right in the Spanish Quarter and a minutes’ walk from Chinatown. With one of the many lively pubs or bars so close the action never stops as there is always something new to see and discover. Enjoy the trend-setting shopping just across the street at the new World Square Shopping Centre, enjoy a show at the Entertainment Centre or see the latest release movie on the big-screen at Event Cinemas - all right on our doorstep. Plus all of Sydney's major attractions are all within walking distance; Darling Harbour (IMAX), Cockle Bay Wharf, Queen Victoria Building, Sydney Aquarium, Powerhouse Museum, Sydney's business district, many corporate headquarters and Law courts. The oversized fully equipped apartments designed for living will allow for the most comfortable stay in apartment accommodation in Sydney. Each apartment has a kitchen (studios have kitchenettes), and a separate laundry, which includes clothes washer, dryer, iron and ironing board. The apartments are also fully air-conditioned and most have opening windows and balconies to allow for fresh air. This property is the last designed building of the world famous Australian designer, Harry Seidler. Why stay in a hotel, when you can stay in a iconic Meriton Serviced Apartment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Meriton, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.