We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street to your Saves list
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Bathurst, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We love the Meriton. It's such a nice pace to stay. The rooms are large & spacious, the beds are comfy & the facilities are well looked after.
When staying in the city we always try to book here first. Its location is very convenient & the ability to leave our car and walk everywhere is a huge plus.
Our most recent stay was in Nov 2012. We flew in from London at 7am, arrived at the hotel at 9am & were given a room straight away (even though the previous night was at max capacity). The room we booked wasn't available, but a two bedroom apartment was (we usually book a studio apartment). The staff were very helpful and we appreciated it so much (after a long flight all we wanted was a shower).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear flutterbybecs,

As you noted we have the perfect Sydney CBD location – all you need to do is walk out the front door and you’ve got everything at your fingertips!

I am pleased to hear you were lucky enough to be able to check in early especially after your long flight , thanks for the positive comments about the service you received, the staff at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street strive to provide the highest level of service possible and its fantastic to see that you were happy with the service provided.

Again, Thank you very much for your review, I hope to welcome you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street soon!

Kind Regards
Meriton Serviced Apartment Kent Street Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    738
    122
    61
    26
See reviews for
536
854
97
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We found this hotel to be really good although we got it at a discount due to a mix up with the booking agency so value for money aspect I can't comment on. The room were really spacious and clean. The location was brilliant for us. Close to everything in the CBD and close to the train station. Only downfall was just one person on the reception desk but if we stood and waited for her to leave or be busy with someone else then the service was really great. And just one other thing was the spa was empty and although not the worst thing if you booked with that in mind it would have been really bad to have this happen to you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear BaliBern,

Thank you for your feedback and review. It is always pleasing to read such comments and I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. The location of Meriton Serviced Apartment Kent Street is certainly a reason to return! As you have noted it is within walking distance to all of Sydney’s sites and attractions!

In regards to the spa, this is emptied then refilled every Monday for essential cleaning/maintenance, it does take a couple hours to refill and reheat.

Once again thank you for your time and feedback. We look forward to your return!

Kind Regards
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at this Meriton for about 10 days in November, as part of my moving overseas process. The hotel is pretty huge, but I found that the front desk was always available if needed. The hotel is clean and the serviced apartments are nice, with a washer/dryer combo, fridge and enough seeting. The location is very convenient, with a ton of dining choices nearby (especially if you like Asian food!) and public transport is close by. In terms of value, for Sydney prices it is quite reasonable. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear beantown2sydney,

As a senior reviewer, thank you for taking your time in providing your experiences with fellow travellers.

I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and made use of our over-sized and well equipped apartment, the location is very central and close to everything you could need.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Meriton Kent Street Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have stayed at Meriton Kent St 3 times before and Pitt St twice before. There was no recognition we were multiple repeat clients. There was a disgusting smell coming up through the vents in the bathroom floor with a worker coming up to spray disinfectant and drop bicarbonate soda down the vent shafts which provided temporary relief. The water drained out of the sink so slowly that scum accumulated on the sides of the basin. The furniture is badly uncomfortable. Dining table is too high by far and the seats are too low in relation to it. The couch is wool and extremely uncomfortable without multiple pillows. The beds are narrow gutted singles and most uncomfortable. We stayed for 7 days and not once in the whole stay did the apartment get made up without several phone calls to reception. On one occasion when we had guests arriving the apartment only got cleaned by 6pm. All in all a horrible experience. It is not a cheap place to stay either. They seem to have a charging system that ramps the price up dramatically as demand increases. For instance our stay (a couple) for 7 days cost $1500 but to book my family in for that weekend (2 nights only in a 2 bedroom) was going to cost the same $1500????

Room Tip: Do not choose floor 15. It is the swimming pool floor and the lift rumbles all night. Apartment 1504...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear investa,

Thank you for your review, I would like to apologise for your service experience not being up to our regular high standard.

If you would like to contact us at tripadvisor@meriton.net.au, we would be happy to look into your feedback further.

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

Meriton Kent Street Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

In early October we stayed with our UK visitors for 2 nights. Originally we had booked a 2 bedroom sky apartment, but after we looked at the apartment my husband - who suffers from vertigo - became quite upset when he saw the balcony had a low rail. There was no problem changing to a lower floor with an enclosed balcony, and the new accommodation was very comfortable for us and our visitors.
The apartment was situated in a good area, and was an easy walk to Chinatown and Darling Harbour.
If we came to the city again we would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear jacdeeS,

Thank you for taking the time to review Meriton Serviced Apartment Kent Street. I am pleased that you found the apartment comfortable.

I am glad our staff were able to offer you and your husband an alternative room. We do work to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay and strive to achieve a high level of customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Meriton Kent St.

Kind Regards
Meriton Kent Street Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The view and location was great and the apartments were OK. Elevators were very bad - at one point it took 15 minutes for an elevator to stop at the floor. I could not get into my room for over 2 hours and because they were busy I just had to wait. Housekeeping did not service my room from the night before .. when I asked I was told that they could come anytime up until 5.00pm. At 5.45pm I ended up cleaning the room myself because I had to go out. Even after speaking with the duty manager there was no offer of anything to make ammens for the inconvenience. In total I booked 6 rooms. I think the hotel would be OK as long as you do not have a problem that needs resolution..

Room Tip: If you ask for a high floor ... be prepared to spend a lot of time in the elevator ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear GlennB,

We appreciate all guest feedback, as this valuable tool allows us to act in a positive manner and to constantly improve the services we provide and pride ourselves on.

Let me firstly offer my apologies for the delay with the lifts, however during peak periods they are quite busy, as you can appreciate we have 431 apartments over 56 floors.

I was disappointed to read your comments that your room was not serviced, I have passed your comments on to our Housekeeping Manager also I'm sorry the Duty Manager was not able to rectify your request, this has been address with our staff.

We do hope to welcome you back to Meriton Kent St in the near future.

Kind Regards
Meriton Kent Street Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This place is fantastic value compared to the cost of hotels in Sydney's central district. Nice staff, really great rooms, and a surprisingly big swimming pool. Obviously you don't get some of the things that you would at a hotel, like an onsite restaurant, but there's hardly any need for that in Sydney where you are surrounded by places to get food. I'd assumed they wouldn't allow short-term rentals since they are apartments, but we stayed for one night and there were no problems - and the studio apartment was larger than a hotel room would be. Shame that there is no free wifi in the rooms, but there is some wifi access in the lobby and it seems to be common in Sydney for hotels not to offer free internet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear TootingLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Meriton Kent St Apartments.

Our apartments are located in the heart of the city, they are well appointed and conveniently close to Darling Harbour and China town, as you have kindly noted.

We appreciate your loyalty to the Meriton Apartments, and look forward to welcoming you back to Kent Street again soon.

Kind Regards
Meriton Kent Street Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Address: 528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#12 Family Hotel in Sydney
#13 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street 5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street positions you in the heart of the city with an impressive 431 apartments consisting of studio, one, two and three bedroom configurations all with luxury finishes. Here all the nightlife and entertainment options are so close you will really need to stay an extra night with so much to do.We are situated right in the Spanish Quarter and a minutes’ walk from Chinatown. With one of the many lively pubs or bars so close the action never stops as there is always something new to see and discover. Enjoy the trend-setting shopping just across the street at the new World Square Shopping Centre, enjoy a show at the Entertainment Centre or see the latest release movie on the big-screen at Event Cinemas - all right on our doorstep. Plus all of Sydney's major attractions are all within walking distance; Darling Harbour (IMAX), Cockle Bay Wharf, Queen Victoria Building, Sydney Aquarium, Powerhouse Museum, Sydney's business district, many corporate headquarters and Law courts. The oversized fully equipped apartments designed for living will allow for the most comfortable stay in apartment accommodation in Sydney. Each apartment has a kitchen (studios have kitchenettes), and a separate laundry, which includes clothes washer, dryer, iron and ironing board. The apartments are also fully air-conditioned and most have opening windows and balconies to allow for fresh air. This property is the last designed building of the world famous Australian designer, Harry Seidler. Why stay in a hotel, when you can stay in a iconic Meriton Serviced Apartment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Meriton, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.