We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Suites Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fraser Suites Sydney to your Saves list
Fraser Suites Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Frasers Summer Fun
Ranked #34 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at Fraser Suites. We stayed for two nights in a 1 bedroom deluxe suite overlooking the Darling Harbour area. The staff were friendly and accomodating.

The location of the hotel is good. It is on a quiet street but close to food and entertainment. Our room was neat and tidy with a modern feel. Everything seemed new apart from some scuff marks on the wooden floor near the window.

The kitchen was more compact than expected. The fridge is quite small and is mostly full of minibar items. It has a small compartment to keep things frozen. Even when the minibar items are put on the counter, the fridge is still very small for those who are staying more than one night and plan to cook their meals. We did appreciate that the cleaning staff cleaned the kitchen without an extra charge from the hotel.

A cooked buffet breakfast was included with our stay. The buffet was small to medium sized though the food was good. The food attendants make espresso coffee on request.

We will be visiting again!

  • Liked — Value for money, clean modern rooms, service
  • Disliked — Compact kitchen
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    210
    63
    24
    10
See reviews for
88
185
27
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

stayed here for wedding anniversary. everything nice and new. we found staff to be very accomadating and helpful. we requested early check in and it was no problem. we had breakfast while there wasnt huge range it was enough. im glad it was included in hotel deal cause i read on review some one paid 32 dollars definetly not worth that. can eat out side for lot less with better choices. found the bed fantastic it was latex mattress and very very comfy. would just go back for that. definetly would stay again.

  • Liked — fantastic view and great bed. no traffic noise.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

Having got a good deal on wotif.com I stayed here for 3 nights. Having read the other reviews I was a little concerned before the stay regarding some of the issues but found very little to find fault with. The studio room was fine for one person and the bathroom was top end - although no bath might not suit everyone - as I like walk in showers I was very happy. The choice of TV stations was a pleasant surprise too as it was a delight to be able to watch Liverpool beat Chelsea ! I was most impressed with the Gym/pool area - so often even in 'top' hotels the gym appears to be an afterthoght in a small windowless room somewhere. Here there is a decent sized gym with 3 solid running machines - my choice - as well as other steppers /weights etc which I didn't use. There was also a nice 20m lap pool and small jacuzzi both of which were good. The only minor quibble was the lack of fresh towels in the leisure area first thing in the morning when I used the facilities. I tried the breakfast one day and it was fine though not particularly cheap 22 aud for continental buffer or 32 for including cooked option. That said it was high end and a relaxing way to start the day. The cleaning I found to be fine in the suites and the Molton Brown stuff is nice and they seemed fine about fresh supplies every day. The location is good - you can get to Town Hall station in no time - lifts availabe there if you come by train from the airport so no steps from the train to the hotel which is handy if you only have light luggage and don't fancy the taxi queues. You can also walk underground to the main shopping area via town hall station and the QVB from the corner of Kent and Bathurst Streets which is handy if it rains.

In summary if you fancy an up to date , contemporary good value lodging experience then I would recommend it.

  • Liked — location and value for money
  • Disliked — no towels in the gym
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

I have stayed in the Fraser Suites on a couple of occasions now and have really enjoyed both stays. The best thing about the hotel would have to be the wonderful spacious suites, I stayed in a one bedroom deluxe and it has everything you need for an extended stay - kitchen, washer, great work desk etc... The only thing I would say is that the bathroom is rather small in relation to the size of the room, and with only a shower and no bath. The design is very nice, warm and contemporary with hardwood floors, huge floor to ceiling windows and limestone bathrooms. Everything has been executed to a nice quality. There is also a nice pool and a decent sized gym with good equipment.

My only one true reservation is that the housekeeping was slightly cursory, and with so many glossy luxurious surfaces dust, grime and fingerprints quickly become apparent - certainly not a disaster but also not really up to 4 or 5 star standard.

While the street isn't the most salubrious, on the slightly run down Kent, it is fantastically convenient to the city. You can walk literally anywhere in the city center from there in no time, it is close to both the restaurants of China town and hundreds of other great eateries that Sydney has to offer. Also right near both Town Hall train station and the monorail stop. All in all the location cannot be faulted.

All up this is a super new hotel, the rooms are light, large and very comfortable - both of the ones I have stayed in have been on high floors with really pretty views out across Darling Harbour. Its not a true 5 star experience, but when you see what you're getting compared to other hotels in Sydney it represents fantastic value for money. Shop around online and you can find good deals.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms with lovely outlook
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

Great location, beautiful setting. Great shower & bath facilities. Disappointing service for the price paid. Lacks attention to detail.
A few examples. Bedside lamps x 2 did not work. Bedroom TV did not work. Iron made marks on my dress when I tried to use it. Wardrobe lacked lighting so going through clothes was mainly in the dark. Tried to get staff's help but receive lacklustre responses. Cutlery were not very clean, obviously not checked upon after previous visitors' departure. On a few occasions we gave way to staff with cleaning equipment in the lifts. Do they not have/use service lifts?

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Lack of attentionto details in service personnel
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

We booked a mystery hotel package though WOTIF and were given this hotel. We booked a single deluxe room to attend a conference at Darling Harbour for the June long weekend.

The reception was efficient and as requested they allowed us an early check in to change for a matinee show we were attending.

The front office staff member Belinda went beyond what I expected as great hospitality when my wife asked if the room we had booked had a bath. Belinda showed us our booked room and another room on the 37th floor which had a bath. We were upgraded to this second room and the view was exceptional to encompass the harbour to north head and also around to include some of Darling Harbour.

We stayed for two nights and the staff were always friendly and hotel was above all clean and well appointed. Comfortable beds good kitchen and furnishings. Easy access to Sydney CBD and also to Darling Harbour, great restaurants nearby as well.

Contrary to some of the other reports our stay was above our expectations and we shall be returning to this place for next years conference.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

I took a punt on Fraser Suites, booking a one-bedroom suite in the hotel's opening week. I've stayed in a couple of brand new hotels, and the experience can be topsy-turvy: not everything or everyone does what they are meant to!

No such luck here - the room was twice as big as any other one-bedroom suite I've taken - plenty of room for work and play. The two plasma screens are probably a bit excessive but handy for a long stay. There was also a full set of crockery and cutlery (an included microwave would complete the kitchen).

I found the staff to be friendly and efficient, but only dealt with them at breakfast and at check in/out.

  • Liked — Delightful property
  • Disliked — Expensive internet
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraser Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Sydney

Address: 488 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#29 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fraser Suites Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fraser Suites Sydney ~ deluxe 5 star rated and multi-award winning serviced apartments located in Sydney's central business district and next to Darling Harbour. Accommodation ranges from studios, one bedroom suites, two bedroom suites or stunning duplex penthouses, embodied in a striking glass tower. The building is complemented by modern design elements, with decor and furnishings that evoke a sense of Manhattan style. Guests enjoy complimentary access to an inspiring leisure centre featuring a fully equipped gymnasium, spa, sauna and heated pool. Breakfast is served daily on the Mezzanine level and room service is available in the evening. Guests may stay overnight, a week or even longer, as many of our suites offer a full galley kitchen (incl stove top, oven, microwave, dishwasher, cutlery and crockery), washing machine, dryer, dining table and lounge area.Guests can immerse themselves in a kaleidoscope of shopping, cinemas, entertainment, restaurants, bars, banks, corporate headquarters, supermarkets, picturesque walks, theatres and children's activities all within walking distance from the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fraser Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Fraser Hotel Sydney
Sydney Fraser Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Suites Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.