We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Suites Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fraser Suites Sydney to your Saves list
Fraser Suites Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Vivid Package
Ranked #31 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
“Solid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and for a family wishing to stay centrally in Sydney there's not really much to complain about.

Excellent and helpful staff, first class location and decent rooms with a fast and free internet connection. Quick lifts too!

Will remain our 'go to' location for staying in Sydney.

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartments are excellent for either families or friends who wish a little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminNesbitt, Manager at Fraser Suites Sydney, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for posting a review!

"Excellent and helpful staff, first class location and decent rooms with a fast and free internet connection."

That pretty much sums it up! I am so pleased the team looked after you during your stay, and we are so pleased to be your 'go to' location in Sydney!

See you next visit,

Ben Nesbitt
Operations Manager
Fraser Suites Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    240
    69
    27
    10
See reviews for
104
207
29
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel one night on a business trip. It was very central to transport. The staff were excellent and the rooms were what you would expect for this level of hotel.

There are plenty of eating areas within easy walking distance and only 10 minute walk to Darling Harbour or China Town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminNesbitt, Manager at Fraser Suites Sydney, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for posting a review!

" Very Central to Sydney with Excellent Rooms"... we couldn't have said it better!

See you next time you're in Sydney,

Ben

Ben Nesbitt
Operations Manager
Fraser Suites Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed last weekend on 30th floor. Views are second-to-none which was a huge positive and the gym is really good for a quick workout. For the price, the negatives are significant: tiny parking spaces for a 4wd (had to climb through the passenger side to get out, toilet flush kept sticking, room was not very clean (grout in shower was brown and marks on walls) and breakfast for $22.00 was not good (had better at ikea for $2.95). This hotel would be excellent for a 3 star, good for a 4 star and average for a 5 star. $310 per night for average.................

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminNesbitt, Manager at Fraser Suites Sydney, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for posting a review!

We are so pleased you enjoyed our sweeping views of Sydney from the 30th Floor as well as your workout in our fully equipped Leisure Centre.

We pride ourselves on our quality product and as such have a comprehensive CARE preventative maintenance program in place to ensure that all our Suites are of the highest standard, however following your review I will review the program to ensure this situation does not reoccur for any other guests.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again on your next visit to Sydney,

See you then,

Ben

Ben Nesbitt
Operations Manager
Fraser Suites Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed Fri & Sat last weekend, overall a good experience. We had a studio and were attending a conference so not allot of time at the hotel. Found the check in exp good, friendly and accomodating. Room was a little tired (scratches on walls where paint had been removed and chair deteriorating), but tidy and attractive. Bed was a bit 'soggy', not great if you like a firm mattress (like I do). Used the pool and spa/sauna, not bad but the spa had WAY too much chlorine in it, very difficult to enjoy when your eyes are stinging so much and my swimmers change colour from the experience.
I would stay there again IF I got a great deal, not full price. Very handy for chinatown, darling harbour. Also, I was on the 27th floor and did experience quite allot of noise from late night party people, take your ear plugs.

Room Tip: Perhaps a higher floor to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminNesbitt, Manager at Fraser Suites Sydney, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for posting a review!

I am so pleased the Front Office Team looked after you during your stay with us at Fraser Suites Sydney.

We have just replaced 150 deteriorating chairs with brand new ones to maintain our exceptional product offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel during your next conference or trip to Sydney,

See you then,

Ben

Ben Nesbitt
Operations Manager
Fraser Suites Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is really a typically Australian inner-city hotel experience. You've got a nice fairly new building, flashy lobby etc, and that's about all that stands out - except for price.

In other words we're expected to accept that the newish building and location alone justifies the insane room fee, somehow making up for:
- mediocre cleanliness (just look under a lounge - food scraps, peanut shells, dust etc)
- saggy mattress
- at times disinterested service
- price at least twice a comparable experience in the US, Asia or Europe.
- partially functional appliances (TV and iron)

A few other annoyances
- sharp edges throughout the spa, both my daughter and I cut our feet on separate occasions.
- fire alarm problems as other have reported. The gym level was evacuated, but no explanation was ever offered
- cleaner repeatedly blocked the corridor by leaving the janitors closet open and bags strewn across the floor, making 'kid herding' an even greater challenge.
- having to use keycard everytime in the lift, but the card frequently not being recognised
- very narrow car parks
- a personal issue, but as an allergy sufferer I found the room and pillows dusty enough to cause an unpleasant night's sleep

Nevertheless it is a great location with Darling Harbour only a couple of blocks away, and great views - although I can't give the hotel credit for this.

Room Tip: Higher is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminNesbitt, Manager at Fraser Suites Sydney, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for posting a review, although overall, I was a little disappointed to read your comments about Fraser Suites Sydney.

I was pleased you enjoyed the hotels close proximity to Darling Harbour and the sweeping views of the city that the majority of our guest suites enjoy, but I am concerned with your comments surrounding our Housekeeping and our Front Office service teams.

In an effort to ensure your review is not repeated, I have shared your review with the entire Operations Team at Fraser Suites Sydney, for our collective discussion and learning, and we will spend some time assessing what we can do better to ensure this does not reoccur. The team share my disappointment, as we all strive for outstanding guest service and cleanliness at all times.

I am happy to discuss any aspect of you stay in person, or should you wish to give us another opportunity to truly showcase the Fraser Suites levels of service, then I would love you to contact me directly next time you require accommodation in the Sydney CBD. Please contact me directly on +61 2 8823 8866 or via benjamin.nesbitt@frasershospitality.com

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back,

Kind regards,

Ben Nesbitt
Operations Manager
Fraser Suites Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and absolutely loved it! We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. It was spacious, clean and very modern. There was a large living room and even a little balcony. The view was amazing! The full height glass walls offer a view from every room! The location is also very convenient..only about a 10min walk from darling harbour. Great value for money! And parking was cheaper than many other 5* hotels. I would definitely stay here again, it is my favourite hotel in sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminNesbitt, Manager at Fraser Suites Sydney, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thanks for posting a review!

"Spacious, Clean, and Modern""..."Location is great"..."Great value for money"..."The view is amazing"...

We couldn't have put it better ourselves! Thanks for posting such a fantastic review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Suites Sydney again sometime soon,

See you then,

Ben Nesbitt
Operations Manager
Fraser Suites Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Europe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Small but very well appointed room (Standard King) had free wifi with the room. Ok rate around $200 which for that spot in Sydney is pretty good. Quite central.

Only beef was that the glasses in the bathroom were dirty. Dried toothpaste! Minor really but a put off.
Otherwise than that I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminNesbitt, Manager at Fraser Suites Sydney, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks for posting a review!

We are so pleased you enjoyed our well appointed rooms, and took advantage of our complimentary internet for every in house guest.

I have shared your comments regarding our cleanliness standards with the Housekeeping Team during our daily morning briefing this morning, and our supervisory team is currently assessing our procedures to ensure this does not reoccur. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Suites Sydney soon, whether you are travelling on Business or Leisure.

See you then,

Ben Nesbitt
Operations Manager
Fraser Suites Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraser Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Sydney

Address: 488 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#29 Family Hotel in Sydney
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fraser Suites Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fraser Suites Sydney ~ deluxe 5 star rated and multi-award winning serviced apartments located in Sydney's central business district and next to Darling Harbour. Accommodation ranges from studios, one bedroom suites, two bedroom suites or stunning duplex penthouses, embodied in a striking glass tower. The building is complemented by modern design elements, with decor and furnishings that evoke a sense of Manhattan style. Guests enjoy complimentary access to an inspiring leisure centre featuring a fully equipped gymnasium, spa, sauna and heated pool. Breakfast is served daily on the Mezzanine level and room service is available in the evening. Guests may stay overnight, a week or even longer, as many of our suites offer a full galley kitchen (incl stove top, oven, microwave, dishwasher, cutlery and crockery), washing machine, dryer, dining table and lounge area.Guests can immerse themselves in a kaleidoscope of shopping, cinemas, entertainment, restaurants, bars, banks, corporate headquarters, supermarkets, picturesque walks, theatres and children's activities all within walking distance from the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fraser Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Fraser Hotel Sydney
Sydney Fraser Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Suites Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.