We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, clean and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Suites Sydney

Save Saved
You added Fraser Suites Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fraser Suites Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Park Package
Ranked #33 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“good location, clean and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

located in the heart of the Sydney CBD, this hotel is very conveniently located. the rooms are a decent size (not huge but big enough for a couple visiting for the weekend). the hotel itself is quite new and has all the basic facilities required for a pleasant stay. the gym is also surprisingly big for a business hotel. the price is also reasonable for sydney standards and for what you get. this is the place i will continue to stay at during my visits to sydney.

Room Tip: west facing rooms on level 34 or higher will give you views to the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    185
    59
    23
    9
See reviews for
75
164
24
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I think this arrangement suits better than staying in a hotel for a longer stay for the same price if only because you have option of making your meals inhouse and doing laundry.

I think it is very well located, most of the areas of interst seem to be in the part of town where this is siutated these days. There are a couple of good spanish restaurants close by which do good Tapas, captain Torres is one i can recommend.

Its not cheap, but nothing is in the city anymore. But staying in the city allows you to dispense with car hire or taxi fares ( which are expensive in Sydney as in other Australian cities) if most of your destinations are nearby.

I've stayed here twice and been happy both times.

As long as you don't expect hotel style service- because its not a hotel, and are self reliant, it compares favourably with its sister properties in other countries.

I think the fraser suites offer good value for the money in general, one can always look for specials at other locations depending on their occupancy rates, but you can get value for money , albeit, relatively expensive at Fraser suites.

Room Tip: They're all about the same, but as usual, higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights over Easter. A one bedroom premier suite on 18th floor. Easy to access, secure parking. Close to Darling Harbour and city centre,all an easy walk. Unit very clean and functional. No balcony or view to speak of. Disturbed sleep one night by guests coming home at 3.00am and screaming, but you get that no matter where you stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My partner and I have just sadly had to come back home to reality after spending an incredible night at the Fraser Suites Sydney. He had booked a premier room for us with the 'romance package' (which included the room, champagne & chocolates on arrival, plus buffet breakfast and late check out) to celebrate our eight year anniversary. We were previously tossing up between Fraser Suites and another hotel in Sydney, but decided to go with Fraser Suites as I had stayed there twice before, and absolutely LOVED it. This time was no exception - in fact it even exceeded my already high expectations.

We had both been at work all day, but as I got caught up at the office, my boyfriend checked in first and I met him at the hotel. I ran in after work, frazzled and sweaty, stressed about making our dinner reservations. He came down to the lobby to collect me and I asked what level we were on. He grinned a cheeky grin and said 'just wait & see!'

It turned out that the lovely staff at reception had kindly and thoughtfully upgraded us to the two bedroom penthouse! I walked in and was absolutely stoked, looking around in wonder and amazement. The double-storey penthouse suite was spectacular, featuring two bedrooms & two bathrooms, and a spacious living room, dining room, study area, fully stocked kitchen, toilet and laundry facilities upstairs - not to mention breath-taking sweeping views of the city (everything from Haymarket, to the Anzac Bridge, and the Harbour) through the floor to ceiling windows. The place was very spacious, well lit, and overall extremely well designed. Furniture was modern and clean.

In the kitchen/dining room we found a box of Max Brenner Pralines (which were beautiful & delicious), a bottle of chilled Chardonnay, a fancy bottle of shower/bath gel in a gift bag, and a beautiful card waiting for us on arrival.

I was enjoying exploring our new place so much that we ended up a bit late to dinner! SO worth it though lol!

Bathrooms were awesome. Bathtub is amazing & shower was great too. Beds were super comfy - and waking up to that view wasn't too shabby either! (We slept with the blinds open and a few times during the night I woke up and just marvelled at the twinkling city lights).

The pool/spa/sauna facilities were excellent. We didn't get to use the gym as neither of us had brought our gear but we did have a look around and it was new, clean, and had a fair bit of equipment/machines for a hotel gym!

Breakfast was okay, not bad, but not anything amazing. Some of the food seemed a bit old. The girl there was friendly, however did not clear our plates at any point so we had to keep stacking them up ourselves.

Late check out was great. The team at the front desk were extremely helpful, efficient and friendly.

All in all I had an absolutely PERFECT stay at the Fraser Suites Sydney. Only problem was that it was much too short - will definitely be back for a longer stay soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up - the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Convenient hotel for business and tourists who want to be very central. The rooms were a good size for travellers with a comfortable king bed and good bathroom. Given we were on the 34th floor, it was a nice surprise to be open the window slightly to get some fresh air. Also great pool and gym facilities.
Only gripe would be the old furniture which was quite warn.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've stayed at Fraser suites Sydney several times now and find them great value with cheerful and helpful staff. The self-contained rooms are wonderfully spacious, well located and high enough above the street to be quiet. Access to everything is good - about the same distance from Central and Town Hall stations and walkable with light luggage. Dining is available nearby in Chinatown or any of the street corner cafes. Parking is reasonably priced (as opposed to the mainstream hotels who gouge). The indoor lap pool and sauna is also an asset. If you wanted to spend a weekend in Sydney or stay over after an Entertainment Centre show, this place is it.

Room Tip: Get a one bedroom for a bit of extra space and versatility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moe, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Modern and close to the train line this was a good property. The rooms had two bedrooms and large living areas. Very suitable for our large group. My only complaint was the cooking and crockery were not as extensive as I had hoped. Checkin was also a little tiresome as they couldn't find my booking.
The pool and gym were well used by some of our number (not me).

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fraser Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Sydney

Address: 488 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#29 Family Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fraser Suites Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fraser Suites Sydney ~ deluxe 5 star rated and multi-award winning serviced apartments located in Sydney's central business district and next to Darling Harbour. Accommodation ranges from studios, one bedroom suites, two bedroom suites or stunning duplex penthouses, embodied in a striking glass tower. Designed by Foster + Partner's architects the building is complimented by modern design elements, with decor and furnishings that evoke a sense of Manhattan style. Guests enjoy complimentary access to an inspiring leisure centre featuring a fully equipped gymnasium, spa, sauna and heated pool. Breakfast is served daily on the Mezzanine level and room service is available in the evening. Guests may stay overnight, a week or even longer, as many of our suites offer a full galley kitchen (incl stove top, oven, microwave, dishwasher, cutlery and crockery), washing machine, dryer, dining table and lounge area.Guests can immerse themselves in a kaleidoscope of shopping, cinemas, entertainment, restaurants, bars, banks, corporate headquarters, supermarkets, picturesque walks, theatres and children's activities all within walking distance from the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fraser Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Fraser Hotel Sydney
Sydney Fraser Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Suites Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.