We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Theatre

Capitol Theatre
13 Campbell Street | Haymarket, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9320 5000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 614 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: GRAEME MURPHY'S SWAN LAKE 20-28 Feb, OCTONAUTS LIVE 6-8 March and LES MISERABLES from March. Sydney's beautiful historic Capitol Theatre is host to world class musicals, theatre, ballet, concerts and performers.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have managed to watch the Addams family musical at the Capitol theatre. This theatre is an old building with well-preserved architecture. It is interesting to be immersed in the Australian way of watching a musical.

Thus, I would strongly recommend to catch a musical at this historical building if you have the chance.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    62
    13
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I love this theatre, the atmosphere is fantastic. Seats are comfortable. There is so much to look at inside. The decor is truly remarkable. I try to see a show here each time I'm in Sydney.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Knowledge will save money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a beautiful venue for theatre but some things cost a lot, row F is more expensive than row E in stall, so book E and save money. Piña coladas are great at the theatre so remember to bring your martini cup from last time and just get the top up. Sunday matinee is good, parking is cheap and there are less people around.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Wow - incredible inside. Saw a show here and the old style theatre seats were pretty comfortable but it was the interior of which really blew me away. Worth going just to have a look at it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAIRNS
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Addams Family - great night out at the Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A truly amazingly entertaining production....wonderful staging, lighting and sound.
It may not be a high-brow theatrical choice, but it was professional on every level and I loved every minute of it - lots of laughs too...! John Waters is superb...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Theatre also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Capitol Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.