We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag for balcony room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Macleay Lodge Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Macleay Lodge Sydney to your Saves list
Macleay Lodge Sydney
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   71 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Mixed bag for balcony room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The good:
Friendly and helpful staff
Good location 'in the thick of things'- a walk away from Kings Cross train station
Room clean, with linen supplied. Comfy beds.
Good kitchenette inclusions - plates/bowls/cutlery/toaster/kettle/microwave/bar fridge/tea+coffee/sink
The actual balcony was useful and cooler and good for eating meals at an outdoor table
Rooms not 'made up' each day so no-one is coming into your room (I think this is a pro rather than con)
Shared bathrooms were fine.
Plenty of restaurants/bars/cafes nearby.
Woolworths REALLY close for cheaper meal options/groceries.

The not so good:
Room was quite hot in summer with only a ceiling fan to alleviate the heat - had it on all night
Macleay St was a lot busier with traffic noise than I'd anticipated - meant we had to close the door to the balcony and the window to get to sleep, making everything hotter. I expect if you didn't have a room on the street this wouldn't be an issue.

Overall depends what you're looking for in accommodation. If comfort is key then look somewhere else. If value for money (in Sydney!) and location matter more then go for it.

Room Tip: Don't get the balcony room onto Macleay St if noise is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website, by far the most affordable and easiest way to book!

We're glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Guest feedback is so important to us and future travellers, we appreciate you making the effort to leave your comments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    90
    52
    8
    10
See reviews for
14
68
46
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked there and regretted it! Walked in, looked around, walked out. Staff was not friendly AT ALL. The place is dirty and very drab looking from the outside. Ended up at the Macleay Hotel Apartments directly across the street. Their staff was amazing! For the same money, got a bathroom inside our room instead of "sharing" with the entire floor AND free Internet! Seriously, Don't waste your money!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for leaving your comments.

Unfortunately as we had to have you removed from the property you were unable to stay with us.

We're unable to accommodate you in the future, but wish you well with your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Macleay Lodge has an excellent location in Potts Point. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are small but clean. I would definitly recommend others to stay there and if I go to Sydney again and want to save money on accomodation then I would definitly chose to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay lodge, and for booking direct through our Sydney Lodges website.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about our team, they really are stars!

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we very much appreciate guest feedback that helps us continually improve ourselves. Your sharing of your experience also helps future travellers to make good travel decisions.

We hope you had a chance to take a Guests with Benefits card with you on check out, so that when you return to a Sydney Lodges property and book direct through the Sydney Lodges website, you can receive a discounted rate and free late check out.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I and my young children stayed at Macleay Lodge in early January. The room was small but clean and had all necessary facilities . The shared bathroom was clean and accessible. The street was fairly quiet and many cafe's and shops nearby. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It was an easy half hour walk through Botanical Gardens to the Opera House or 5 - 10 walk to Kings Cross Station. I would highly recommend the Macleay Lodge.if you are after friendly, good value for money accommodation in Pottspoint.

Room Tip: The room we had faced Macleay Street and did not get much sun and it also had a small balcony, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay lodge, and for booking direct through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location convenient!

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we very much appreciate guest feedback that helps us continually improve ourselves. Your sharing of your experience also helps future travellers to make good travel decisions.

We hope you had a chance to take a Guests with Benefits card with you on check out, so that when you return to a Sydney Lodges property and book direct through the Sydney Lodges website, you can receive a discounted rate and free late check out.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for 20 nights in a twin room on 2nd floor complete with balcony. Room was spacious and balcony was a plus, shared bathroom was OK but not ideal and requires an update as the smell of damp due to lack of ventilation. For staying for the duration of time we did the bed sheets were only changed once a week which in a warm environment is not exactly practical. With the room we had facing on to the main street the noise from the traffic even into the early hours was ridiculous from motor bikes/ cars to garbage trucks emptying the bins. There are no laundry facilities within the building although there is near by to be used. The staff for the duration of our stay we received a hello/Hi when seen entering the building from being out and about but other than that didn't have much contact with them. On checking out we were able to store our luggage at reception under the stairs while we went for breakfast on return when asked if reception could call a taxi and we were very disappointed with the response we got which was rudely given as you can get one from the street - the principal of the matter being we had about 9 bags which we would have carry to the street until we did 'flag' one down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us over the phone, certainly one of the most hassle free ways to book.

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy parts of your stay with us. At Macleay Lodge we only change the linen on the beds once a week. if you're staying longer than 7 days. We think this is a reasonable period and no less than how often you would change the sheets on your own bed at home. Most guests don't have an issue with this.

When you visit a big city like Sydney, it's just easier to hail a cab, I'm sorry but there is no other way to put it. If you call a cab in the city, the cab has nowhere to pull over because there are no free parking spaces, so then the cab is holding up traffic, beeping horns while guests sit inside waiting for a driver to come in and collect them, which just doesn't happen in Sydney. I'm sorry you didn't think this was reasonable.

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we and future travellers get a lot of hearing from past guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Macleay lodge but our room was really warm and stuffy. There was no AC and only a ceiling fan and the open window had minimal airflow. It was ok while the weather was below 30 degrees but I would've have wanted to be there when the temperature pushed 40 the following week!

The room and bathroom were clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Would recommend as a cheap hotel in colder months.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge and for booking direct with through our Sydney Lodges website.

Sorry to hear you found Macleay Lodge a bit hot during your stay. We did have some very hot days in December last year. One of the ways we're able to offer such low rates at Macleay Lodge is because we don't have extras such as air-conditioning that most of our other lodges nearby do. So, if you're definitely after air-conditioning, I would recommend booking Springfield Lodge nearby which also has ensuite rooms.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Guest feedback is very important to us and helps us to continually improve ourselves, as well as pat ourselves on the back when we've got it right!

We hope you were able to take a Guests with Benefits card with you on check-out. This gives you discounted, free WiFi and free late check-out when you book direct with us to stay again in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Me and my grandson stayed two nights at Macleay Lodge, I am getting on in age and it was a long way to the top of the stairs as there is no lift. Our room got afternoon sun even with the blind down it was very hot, we found it very hard to sleep as there was no aircon. We didnt have a propblem with shared bathroom. The Lodge is very handy to restaurants, bus stops and a supermarket just up the road.

Room Tip: Hi me and my grandson had two nights at Macleay Lodge, it was anice old hotel, but I am getting on n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge and for booking direct with through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're sorry to hear you found the stairs a bit challenging. Unfortunately as Macleay Lodge is a heritage listed building we're unable to install an elevator. I hope this didn't detract too much from your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Guest feedback is very important to us and helps us to continually improve ourselves, as well as pat ourselves on the back when we've got it right!

We hope you were able to take a Guests with Benefits card with you on check-out. This gives you discounted and free late check-out when you book direct with us to stay again in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macleay Lodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Lodge Sydney

Address: 71 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Macleay Lodge Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macleay Lodge is a clean and comfortable guest house in Potts Point, Sydney. The lodge is well known for its clean and comfortable rooms for great value rates.With famous Sydney icons such as the Harbour Bridge and the Sydney Opera House within walking distance, Macleay Lodge is the perfect budget hotel from which to enjoy the exciting and vibrant city of Sydney.Macleay Lodge is located on Macleay Street in cosmopolitan Potts Point. With cafes, restaurants and boutique stores filling the sidewalk, there could not be a more exciting and unique place to spend your time while visiting Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Macleay Lodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Lodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Macleay Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macleay Lodge Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.