We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Lodge Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cambridge Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Cambridge Lodge Guest House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 Cambridge Street | Stanmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2048, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Navi Mumbai, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is good enough for a short stay. Clean rooms and friendly staff. Only 10 minutes walk to Stanmore Station. We don't get our own private bathroom as all are shared. The cupboards and wardrobe could do with being updated, along with the desks and room decor.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
9
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been here last week and the place , the staff , the environment, the accomodation everything was lovely and fantastic!!! Meet some nice people overthere. So my first week in australia is began good of them!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We stayed at this lodge for sometime when we were in Sydney. The location is quite good, very near the train station and close to Enmore Rd and shops.
It was clean but sometimes the cleaning lady would wear the same gloves she used when cleaning the toilet and packing up the dishes in the kitchen. The staff were friendly and helpful, Zorica and Bradislav were good. There was another receptionist who wasn't very friendly though. Sometimes when it rains they would put a note on the dryer saying out of order when they used it to dry their own things. At times it felt unsafe particularly at night when going to the toilet as all the lights were switched off by 10pm and the corridors were dark.Staff were also getting too over friendly with certain long term residents and sat in the lounge area all the time making you feel uncomfortable when you go to the kitchen or want to sit in the sitting area. There was a dog that was being brought to the kitchen which belonged to one of the staff, whilst cooking and I thought that was a bit unhygienic. Sometimes I wondered what sort of clientele this backpackers targeted. At times there was homeless people and people who were mentally unwell and this made me feel very unsafe Overall not sure its an actual backpackers or a place for homeless people.

Room Tip: It was close to public transport and city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeLodgeSydney, Owner at Cambridge Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for such a detailed response, it is a rather mixed review.
Our staff are friendly, they try to be informative and helpful to all guests ,but too friendly can only be a backhanded compliment.
Several times you felt unsafe but offer no incident or valid reason to explain why ????
Our lounge seats 35 people and our daily staff of two people sit only at a morning coffee break made you feel uncomfortable ? (but friendly)
Lights switch off at 10.30pm, and corridors are not dark being lit by exit signs.
We do pride ourselves on cleanliness in our lodge which you confirm, but that you would follow our cleaner through their cleaning routine. ??
I take offence at your comment "homeless shelter", what qualification do you have to determine mental health and I can assure you all guests pay the same accommodation rates.
Dorm rooms attract a variety of travellers and had you come across any friction in the room our staff would no doubt relocated you had you asked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This place is nice enough. Clean rooms and friendly staff.

You don't get your own bathroom as all bathrooms are shared. The cupboard and wardrobes could do with being updated, along with the desks and room decor.

For the money you pay here you can get just as nice place a little nearer to the city.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

I absolutely loved the location, so lovely and quiet, but only 15 minute walk to Enmore and Newtown.
My single room had great facilities -fridge, sink, TV. And was nice and clean.

It can be a little bit noisy in the morning staying near reception, so if you can request a room further down the hall.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

After a horrible experience at another hostel, I searched for another which would be easy for me to attend a festival. I was so happy to be somewhere clean. The lady at the reception was helpful and friendly. Overall great experience even though it was only for a night.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

This Hostel is by far the best in Sydney, Having stayed here twice in my Gap year in Australia. The first time for 6 weeks and the second time for 3 Months!! Its perfectly situated near to the train station and a short walk from Newtown ( Good night life, pubs , food etc..). Its a very clean Hostel, with plenty of space and a large enough Kitchen to function in! Everybody in this Hostel is friendly and welcoming but what really makes the place is the Staff!! Zorica, Alexis and Branislav ! All of them work exceptionally hard to make sure that each guest is Happy!
The prices at this Hostel are well worth the Money!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambridge Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Lodge Guest House

Address: 109 Cambridge Street | Stanmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2048, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cambridge Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.