We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That's better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Springfield Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Springfield Lodge to your Saves list
Springfield Lodge
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   9 Springfield Avenue | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 65 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“That's better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I knew about the Springfield Lodge having stayed for one very cold night at its sister Challis Lodge also at Potts Point... I went into view a room whilst I warmed up at the Holiday Inn and I was very very pleased with what I saw: this place was like going from no starts to 6 stars! A heater, carpets, a good sized bed, a good sized TV and a newly appointed bathroom: YIPPEE! I have reviewed the Challis Lodge so you might read that to see why I am so rapturous about the Springfield Lodge. I have no hesitation in saying my stay was excellent despite having to move out for 2 nights because of the Lions match! The excellent rating was entirely based on the complete opposite rating that I have given to Challis Lodge! The front desk staff were smiley and efficient and helped reduce the number of nights that I had to move out. I was at the hotel for the best part of 3 weeks and would easily return to this hotel next time I come to Australia and Sydney!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    249
    86
    20
    20
See reviews for
41
199
88
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good location, good service, and good price. The room was clean and quite spacious. Really enjoyed our stay there. Bathroom was slightly cramped but for its price, you won't get a better place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently stayed 5 nights at this lodge in Potts point. The location is ideal ,just off the main road, close to shops and public transport. I booked the ' Do not disturb deal', a double bed room with no room service for 79$ directly from their homepage. Booking went through flawless and I received my confirmation email and a reminder a few days prior my departure. My purpose for my stay in Sydney for corrective eye surgery and I needed a quiet clean place where to recover. I could not ask for more ! The bathroom was spotless,the whole room was clean and very quiet at night. The windows face a courtyard so there is no view,but in my case the fact I could keep the room real dark helped tremendously. Another plus was the kitchen downstairs we used to prepare us toast and occasionally pasta. Reception,both day and evening shift were forthcoming and helpful. The building itself is lovely,heritage with a charming exterior and well taken care of interior. Although I did not try the food of the cafe right beside the lodge,I did indulge in their coffee. Unfortunately there is no free off street parking in Sydney city area,the hotel offers a deal with nearby parking,but we left our vehicle in the Sydney outer suburbs and took the train. Overall I would return to this lodge, because after reading about other hotels in this price range and area and after first hand experience I am a satisfied guest. And after your first stay you can access their loyalty card!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a brilliant place to stay if you want clean comfortable accommodation for great value in the city. We were apprehensive about where to stay because this was our first time in Australia and in Sydney. We didn't know where any place was so we looked up places on tripadvisor and this seemed to be the best place.

We arrive late due to our flight and had to get a taxi ($45), shuttle buses go to and from the hotel from the airport, or you can catch the train. Kings Cross station is a 2 min walk around the corner.

We were not expecting such a nice hotel for the price we paid for the room. There is a kitchen and laundry downstairs so you can cook your own food, eating out everyday is costly and it helped to have a normal breakfast eg. nice cereal we got in the shops.

The rooms are lovely and spacious, clean and comfortable. Our friends stayed at another hotel and found the rooms alot smaller and they had paid more.

As for all this business about the red light district, there is nothing to worry about. The district is basically alot of bars, nightclubs and a few strip clubs, what you normally find in any city. The hotel is located at the bottom of the district, we didn't hear any noise, only the normal you would on any Saturday night in any town or city.

The supermarket and all the shops are a 2 min walk from the hotel, there really is nothing you can fault about this accommodation.

We will definitely be back to stay here again when we return to Australia.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the 3rd floor because we had just arrived from Ireland, it was a very long fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were looking for reasonably priced accommodation in Sydney that was not too far out of the city, handy to transport and conveniently located.
Springfield Lodge ticked all the right boxes.
The front desk staff were not only very welcoming, but extremely helpful and seemed really happy, with lots of genuine smiles. First impressions of an establishment do count for a lot!
Room was modestly proportioned and equipped with all the basic necessities.
A reasonably equipped kitchen area is provided for guests in the basement, as is a guest laundry, both pluses, especially for a hotel in this price-range.
In addition to no lift access to the third floor we have to agree with other reviews concerning the compact size of the shower and toilet. Having said that, I'm 6 foot (1.8m) tall and managed. The plentiful supply of hot water in the shower, and good pressure too, made up for the limited space. However, to be reasonable, we did not pay a fortune for our accommodation, so this is an observation rather than a complaint!
Would we stay here again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper like me ask for a quiet room at the time of booking. Third floor rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at Springfield Lodge. I was massively impressed that when I arrived at 9am, they had the room ready for me to check into. The room itself was nice, well presented, admittedly a small bathroom but one of the best showers I have ever had. The location is absolutely fine and for those who are a bit open minded, it is actually a really fun area and walking distance to Sydney Opera House. The only reason I dont give it full marks is that I dont think that the sheets on the bed were changed for a few days and also the internet that I paid for cut out a couple of times and I had to pay again. Other than that, a really great choice for anyone staying for business and leisure and trying to keep in budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Springfield Lodge is a value for money accommodation at King's Cross. Its very close to the train station and easy to locate, in the middle of the bustling suburb of Potts Point. Within walking distance, you have pretty much everything you need. There are good food and bars everywhere. Room is spacious and clean, with AC or heater. Big TV screen too. Bondi Junction with its big mall is just 2 train stops away. All your shopping can be done there if you want to avoid the crowded and packed central.

Downside: It can get a little noisy especially on Saturday nights as you would expect as bars are pretty close by. But after an entire day of shopping and sight-seeing, I guess you would probably fall asleep pretty fast.

p.s You got to try the restaurant/café that shares the same building as Springfield Lodge. Its called Petrol. The food is AMAZING. Coffee is wonderful too.

Room Tip: Book way in advance. They have very good deals for early birds. And do get the "insurance"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Lodge

Address: 9 Springfield Avenue | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Springfield Lodge, a unique and affordable hotel in the trendy, chic area of Potts Point in Sydney. The lodge is just 1 train stop from major Sydney attractions, including stunning Sydney Harbour. Bondi Beach is easy to get to on public transport as well.With modern facilities such as wireless broadband internet access and cable television channels, Springfield Lodge is fast becoming one of Sydney’s favourite, more affordable hotels, rivalled by no other hotel on value and price.A unique designer cafe welcomes you on entry to the hotel lobby, serving delicious breakfast and lunch daily. At night, our own Pink lounge opens close to the lobby where you can enjoy award winning wines to soft background music.Walk the trendy alleyways, shop in the boutique clothing stores, or spend the day at the beach. The streets surrounding Springfield Lodge are buzzing with cafes, restaurants, bistros and fabulous night spots. Experience the real Sydney, at Springfield Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Springfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springfield Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.