We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a bit expensive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Challis Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Challis Lodge to your Saves list
Challis Lodge
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   21-23 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 65 Sydney B&B and Inns
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good location but a bit expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Challis Lodge is located in a great area. It's convenient to get around and close to restaurants, convenient stores, supermarkets, etc. The staff were friendly and the service was good in general. However, the room is a bit small compared to the rate and the shared toilet downstairs was sometimes not clean. I usually used the one upstairs. It's cleaner.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    42
    60
    36
    71
See reviews for
42
72
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

The good things about this hotel were: <10 minute walk to Kings Cross train station, reasonable price, quiet.
However, our room was a dump. It was small and cramped, had a towel hanging out of the ceiling to stop a leak, the bathroom was made for a person under 5 foot tall. Additionally, the hotel is outdated in this technologic age. The TV had an antennae and the pay phone was rediculously expensive. However, the worst of these issues was that internet was not available. At ALL. Not even if you pay.... There was an internet cafe around the corner, and several others within walking distance.
The other disappointing factor was that there is no information about available parking on their website. In fact, after I reserved the room, I emailed to ask about parking and they never responded. THERE IS NO PARKING! You can park in a garage about 5 blocks away for $20 per day. No wonder they didn't tell me that ahead of time!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

The rooms were very small but it was ok. Service was good thou.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Our room was just above the reception area at the front of the building. Prettier on the outside than the inside. We had a huge balcony with a great view of the bustling people below and a great distant view of the water and the fruit bats at sunset. Our own Micro, frige and kitchenette. I spent more time on that balcony. If you stay here definitely opt for the front units as they are bigger. The place can use some updating inside. No AC but fan ok. The bathroom had the smallest sink I have ever seen. The guy in reception was gracious, helpful and tried all he could to satisfy us. It was our last night in Australia before our flight and it worked out fine. Plan for an hour by shuttle ($12) to get to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

I stayed at Challis Lodge for one night this past week.I needed to be close to a business appointment and the location in central Potts Point is unbeatable.My room was under the stairs so not a great ambiance or air flow and having to keep the curtain closed to stop others peering in was a little disconcerting.However.......the room was clean,cheap and quiet.The staff were extremely kind and welcoming and as I was actually in the room for all of about 6 hours to sleep and change it was great value.Remembering I was in the heart of Sydney where any accomodation is expensive.But there are some nice touches here which make it worth the stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I came to Challis from a backpackers' hostel, looking for a private, quiet, clean room. This is exactly what I found at Challis: The rooms are not fancy and the Lodge is no-frills, but the staff are friendly, the location is brilliant, the room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the shared bathrooms always in order. Do NOT come here if you are looking for the Ritz or loud all-night parties. DO come here if you want somewhere comfortable, affordable, and well-located from which to base yourself in Sydney.

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Average. I would stay there again. Nice service, good location, good views.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Challis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Challis Lodge

Address: 21-23 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Hotel Class:2 star — Challis Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Challis Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Challis Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Challis Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.