We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   140-142 Cumberland Street | The Rocks, Sydney N.S.W., Sydney, New South Wales 2000 , Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 65 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for a week. Linda was so helpful and arranged a trip to the blue mountains for us. Great staff great service lovely week. Good location 10 min walk to circular key & opera house too. Highly recommended for a place to stay in sydney

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Secretstarfinch
Thanks for taking time to review Sydney Harbour B&B. A quick and short review is always a good review. It was our pleasure to have arranged your Blue mountains trip for you - we do care that our guests see as much as they can in the time they stay with us. Your high recommendation is much appreciated.
Warmest regards
James and Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    91
    21
    8
    8
See reviews for
59
149
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a listed building so no lift or other similar amenities. The rooms are a good size and quaint with lots of character. There is no en suite but this was not a problem as only two rooms were sharing and we never found 'our facilities' busy. The owners were former accountants and they run the place in a well ordered manner, that said there is a friendly, homely, feel to the place. Wifi is free all over the B&B but a better signal is to be had in the comfy lounge. Breakfast is limited but excellent. The location is close to Circular Quay which is the gateway to Sydney and beyond. This is an excellent place to stay and good value. No safe or other security for cash, passports etc would be my only real concern although they have apparently never had an 'incident' to warrant this facility and perhaps the prblem with this lies with me.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Clive
Thanks for taking time to review Sydney Harbour B&B. Please don't hold it against us as former accountants - its pleasing to see by your review that we have successfully made the transition into "great" Inn Keepers. We always try to improve upon every review and welcome your points to be considered for future guests. Most of all we are please you enjoyed your stay with us.
All the best and warmest regards

James & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is the best B&B I've stayed in. The owners are friendly, helpful and go that extra mile to assist. The rooms are beautiful, clean, tidy and breakfast you are spoilt for choice.
Location is perfecto!!
The only thing is you must be able to climb up or down the steps to enter the B&B so its not good for wheelchairs or prams.
Location you are close to everything its the perfect location, perfect staff, perfect nights sleep. We stayed two nights arrived very early and they stored our items not only on arrival but held them for us for after check out as are flight wasn't til late afternoon which freed us up to sight see all day until 3pm when we returned to collect our bags and catch a cab.
Can't wait to stay again.

Room Tip: taxi rank directly outside!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Deb
Thanks so much for taking time to write such a nice review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us. We always store peoples luggage for as long as they need as we realise what an imposition it can be for or guests and our aim is to make the journey as pleasant as possible. A real compliment to be labelled a 'Gem'!
Best regards
James and Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We chose this B&B because of positive comments. We found the hosts to be very friendly, service excellent and they served a wonderful fresh cooked breakfast and served it in their secluded garden. The room was large with a very large attached bathroom. As we only had one day between flights, we wanted to be close to Sydney Quay, and this was it. We could walk and take the ferries very easily from here. We booked the room with a partial view of the Opera House.

Would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for service and value for money in a good location in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Sandiewm,

I agree with you wholeheartedly. Our aim is to always provide our best making sure guests have a memorable stay. Please do visit us again whenever you return to Sydney. We remember and know who everyone is so maybe next visit it can be for a bit longer!
Cheers and best regards
James and Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here for one night so my partner and I could have a night out in The Rocks while we were in Sydney. The bed and breakfast is perfectly located for enjoying Sydney and is beautiful. An old building with a small number of rooms but each one seemed to be individual and full of character. We were greeted warmly by the hosts and shown around the bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Philips Room which had a lovely view of the city and the Opera House. We had an ensuite bathroom which was spotless as was the room itself. The bedroom was well equipped with a hairdryer, aircon, complimentary toiletries and had an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. Very comfy bed with lovely fresh sheets. The price included breakfast which was a choice of pancakes or bacon and eggs, both were delicious. There was also a good selection of cereals, yoghurt and fruit, tea, coffee etc. We loved our stay here wished we had booked to stay another night. I will be recommending this bed and breakfast to friends and family when they travel to Sydney and will hopefully be back again to stay next time we are in Australia.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Luckystar08
Wow we are humbled by your kind and complimentary words and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Sydney Harbour B&B.
Best regards
James and Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a nice Bed and Breakfast, owners are friendly and helpful, we arrived early they stored our bags and then took them to our room for us. Situated right in the Rocks, we are in our seventy's but we managed the steps to the Sydney Harbour Bridge/Opera House without problem. Breakfast was good and there was a courtyard area which we found fine. The internet reception was excellent in our room, we were in the Macquarie Room, we found the location of the bathroom in the hall opposite our room worked well for us. It was hot while we were in Sydney the air conditioning worked well. The only small negative would be that this is an old building and you will have to expect a little dust etc. The Bed and Breakfast had a very pleasant lounge area which we used several times. Whilst you must expect the price for the New Year period to be higher it was extremely reasonable compared with Hotels in the same area. We would stay at this Bed and Breakfast again if we were in Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Jeanne
We are really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Such a refreshing, funny group of guests is what makes running Sydney B&B an absolute pleasure. We hope you return whenever youre in Sydney.
Best Regards
James and Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This really is in a great location and is a small place so need to book in advance. On the downside the room we stayed in (Bligh) was on small side; simply not enough room for our modest travel bags. Nice old property, but standalone air con unit not up to the job. No hair dryer which was a surprise and shared bathroom, bigger surprise. However, nice that breakfast is included and the family who run the place are friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Geraldine,

Thank you for taking time to review Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast and we appreciate your comments so that we can stride to provide a more complete and personal guest experience.
It is important also however to address the issues raised. In many instances if the issues were raised during the stay then we could simply address them straight away and remedy them.

In this instance we are being reviewed on your failure to properly read the room you had booked through a third party website. It is the responsibility to completely read the room description before booking. So whilst a surprise to you, that is the room you booked and the description was properly described on the 3rd party website.
Secondly each individuals idea of modest luggage varies from person to person. My idea of modest luggage for 2 people is 2-3 bags. Other people's idea may be 5-7 bags for 2 people. Naturally it's not only our B&B that may struggle if you bring excess luggage. That being said i do carry all people's luggage regardless the number.
In relation to the hairdryer, all rooms have hairdryers even though we are a B&B. The one to your room was under the black fireplace unit. But once again I wouldve been happy to show you or bring you another.
Finally we are a 110 year old building where each room is air-conditioned. The unit in your room is less than 3 months old and cools down space much larger than the room. From our experience, it is 90% of the time the users inability to adjust the temperature downwards or the other 10% fail to have it plugged in. Again we would've been most happy and willing to adjust it for you if you had let us know 'it was not upto the job'
Once again thank you for your review and hope you one day return to Sydney Harbour B&B.
Best regards
James and Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Address: 140-142 Cumberland Street | The Rocks, Sydney N.S.W., Sydney, New South Wales 2000 , Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast offers visitors an opportunity to experience world class hospitality and unique accommodation in the heart of Australia's birthplace, The Rocks.Upon entering our fully restored heritage mansion our guests become our main focus with no request too big or small. Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast offers boutique rooms each named after figures synonymous with Australian history. All rooms have been furnished in hand crafted colonial furniture and offer all the comforts of home.Finally as our name suggests, a stay at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast would not be complete without a delicious hot or cold breakfast served in either our dining room or our serene courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Sydney Harbour Hotel Sydney
b&b Sydney Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.