We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and welcoming in a fabulous location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   140-142 Cumberland Street | The Rocks, Sydney N.S.W., Sydney, New South Wales 2000 , Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 65 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“friendly and welcoming in a fabulous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful, historic B&B for 3 nights. James and Linda were so welcoming, we stayed with them for 2 nights (then off for a few days) then back for our last night. They stored our luggage when we were gone and again during our last day when we had a late flight out. Breakfast was wonderful, egg choices as well as a variety of fruits and cereals. There is a lovely garden area for sitting, eating breakfast or just relaxing. The location is perfect--can walk everywhere within 10 minutes--The Rocks, Circular Quay, Opera House, buses, trains. Lots of eateries nearby. Room was comfy and clean, sharing a bath with only one other room was certainly not a problem. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We always appreciate comments like yours and try to go the extra mile for guests. We hope someday you do return to Sydney and stay with us again.
All the very best
James and Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    91
    21
    8
    8
See reviews for
59
149
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We are in Australia for the first time for 7 weeks. It was on our bucket list. James and Linda are excellent hosts and very accommodating. We stayed 12 nights and James was very helpful in both be hospitable and giving information. Breakfast each morning was like being at home and delicious. We highly recommend this comfortable and convenient location. Sorry I took so long to review but sometimes Tripadvisors search engine stifles me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Doug and Cath
Great to hear from you. We hope the rest of your trip around OZ went well. We loved hosting you and you both currently hold the Sydney Harbour B&B record for the longest stay so youve made it to our Hall of Fame. We even took your advice and visited the Apprentice as well! We really enjoyed the chats we had and youre always welcome back here anytime.
Take care and see you around ...maybe in Rome soon

Cheers
James &Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Sydney. I booked this B&B online without knowing much about it. It was in the gorgeous Rocks district, at the base of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. James and Linda, the owners, were very welcoming and friendly. It was an older-style hotel, but very charming and felt quite "historic". Narrow staircase led to our room, which was charming, clean and comfortable. Only about a 5 to 10 minute walk to Circular Quay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Katrina
It was our please to host you on your stay and appreciate your kind words. We hope you return in the future and stay with us again. We're glad you liked the location which is what so many guests love about the place.
All the best!
James & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I received a very friendly welcome at the B&B Sydney Harbour for my one night stay. Linda was warm and welcoming and gave me a tour and top tip for a pedicure even though I arrived well before the advertised check in time. Linda kindly let me leave my bag at the hotel whilst I went off to explore. The room was spacious, clean and warm and the breakfast hearty and tasty - it set me up for my next flight on to Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Beeples
Thanks very much for your kind words and appreciate your stay with us. It is a pleasure to host guests like you and direct them to the nearest pedicure where need be. All the best and we hope you come back to Sydney soon.
Best Regards
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Traveled to Sydney with my wife and son (9yrs old), and stayed in the family room. Greeted warmly by James and Linda, who provided storage for our baggage as we had arrived early on the morning. We stayed 4 nights, enjoying a hearty breakfast every morning. We loved the wonderfully convenient location in The Rocks, views of the bridge and Opera house just outside the B&B. So much was within easy walking distance, from the visitor information and shops, to plentiful food choices within minutes. Accommodations were nice, like staying with family. Thank you for a wonderful visit!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Dwight
We were very happy to host yourself and your family. We always try to be guest's family away from their homes so we appreciate your comments very much. We're glad your enjoyed Sydney and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in oz as well.
All the best
James&Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our nights in Sydney last January as we started our long trip through part of Australia. The bed was very comfortable, AC worked well as it was very warm. The breakfasts were delicious and very substantial. The best part was the great information we received from James. We were able to walk or take public transportation for all of our trip and he arranged for a very early cab to take us to the airport for the next leg of our trip. The price was very reasonable for the kind of accommodation we experienced. Thank you for a great start to our trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Sue
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we always try to make our guests feel welcomed and comfortable. We loved you all staying with us and hope you see you one day in the future perhaps when you return to Australia.
Best Regards

James&Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Recommend by our Australian friends. Stayed because we were having a night at the opera. lovely place walked to the opera house. very comfy room and great breakfast the next morning .Shame we only had one night. Would recommend it highly,.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Penny
Thank you very much for your kind words and next time you want to visit the Opera House again please do drop us a line and we would love for you to stay with us again.
Best Regards
James&Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Address: 140-142 Cumberland Street | The Rocks, Sydney N.S.W., Sydney, New South Wales 2000 , Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast offers visitors an opportunity to experience world class hospitality and unique accommodation in the heart of Australia's birthplace, The Rocks.Upon entering our fully restored heritage mansion our guests become our main focus with no request too big or small. Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast offers boutique rooms each named after figures synonymous with Australian history. All rooms have been furnished in hand crafted colonial furniture and offer all the comforts of home.Finally as our name suggests, a stay at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast would not be complete without a delicious hot or cold breakfast served in either our dining room or our serene courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Sydney Harbour
Bed And Breakfast Sydney Harbour Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.