We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medusa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Medusa to your Saves list
Medusa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   267 Darlinghurst Road | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed at a boutique hotel for a very affordable price. The room was perfect and clean. Very big in size with excellent service. Overall it was a very good experience staying at there. Everything that you need is at your feet and it is in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    37
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
56
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at the Medusa this weekend. The front office manager was very helpful - we had noticed the review about difficult car parking on the website, but I was quickly informed about the $35 valet parking at the Star carwash less than 100 metres down the road - it pays to ask obviously! We asked for a recommendation for a restaurant and had a wonderful meal at Fish Face (about 100 metres in the other direction from the car park). The room was fun - I loved the chaise longue and as well as being modern and colourful it was fabulously comfy for the short while we watched the TV. We enjoyed exploring the close neighbourhood which is filled with small cafes and bars and eclectic 2nd hand goods stores - every type of cuisine seems to be represented.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A great place to stay as an alternative to corporate city hotels. You can't beat the location. The hotel is getting a bit tired but the service was really good. Favourite restaurant was Fishface. Birra Birra was also great food. A Fun Cocktail Bar Was The Victoria Room and The Lotus Pod Is A Fabulous clothing Shop. All within A block Of the Hotel. Would've gone To Bills For Brunch Too If We Were There Longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Medusa is a lovely little haven of a hotel in a lively, central part of Sydney surrounded by great shops and restaurants (I loved Onde, Almond Bar and the coffee at Holm Cafe is the best I've had). The staff at the Medusa are wonderful, warm and very helpful. The rooms are very clean, and the Aesop toiletry products are a treat. My only criticism is that the rooms could benefit from some minor refurbishment. The bathroom in my room was looking a bit tired, and the room decor is a bit dated now. If the owner removed the dark carpeting and just kept clean, wood floors and renovated the bathrooms, the hotel would be absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice boutique hotel with pleasant efficient front desk staff. Great location, quiet room. The room we stayed in was huge and well appointed. I'll definitely choose to stay here again on my next trip to Sydney.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very hip boutique hotel. Perfect quiet location with a nice neighborhood and easy walking distance to everything. Lots of tasty restaurants, coffee houses, and fun bars, etc nearby. The pictures are a bit more polished than reality, but none the less, this is a very worthwhile place to stay and a really good value. Many thanks to the guys that run this place. Their wit and wisdom are certainly appreciated. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the Medusa. It was my first trip to Australia. I had emailed the hotel prior to arrival to request an early check-in. As it happened, my flight was late and when I arrived at the hotel the clerk was waiting, wondering where I was and if anything had gone wrong. It was just the first of countless above-and-beyond pleasantries that were extended to me during my stay. To say the staff was friendly and helpful would be a huge understatement. They indulged my endless questions about the area and gave me fantastic suggestions for dining, shopping, and sight-seeing. But more important than that -- I was traveling alone, very far from home and they truly made me feel like I was among friends. As for my room, it was beautifully decorated and very comfortable, with an amazing bed, superb wi-fi, a large bathroom, and great view of the neighborhood. I loved everything about the Medusa. Newspapers and pastries every morning, a peaceful reflecting pool, all within the setting of a gloriously restored Australian mansion. And the location cannot be topped. Within easy walking distance to relaxing daytime activities and Sydney's most famous landmarks, as well as exciting nightlife. It was one of the most incredible trips of my life and I still think about the Medusa often. I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Medusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa

Address: 267 Darlinghurst Road | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medusa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Splendia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Medusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medusa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.