We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in Sydney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Kent to your Saves list
Mantra on Kent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #29 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A great find in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Found this hotel by chance after an internet search for affordable self contained accommodation near Darling Harbour. Stayed in a deluxe one bedroom appt and was delighted with the size, and the facilities. Even better, there was a small balcony and sliding doors to let in fresh air - a rare find in a CBD hotel. On one of the less busy Sydney streets, and only a 5 min walk to Darling Harbour to the west, or to Town Hall station to the east. Nearest taxi rank just around the corner in Sussex St. Staff were helpful, and the whole place very clean. I will stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Lower floors have small balconies, admittedly only with a view of buildings across the street, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Polly255344,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback from your recent stay at Mantra on Kent.

I was great to hear you found our One Bedroom Deluxe rooms roomy, well appointed and we agree the balcony that a selected number of these rooms feature is a real plus.

We will be sure to pass on your comments to our housekeeping team with thanks for a job well done.

Once again, thanks for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Paul Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    209
    46
    14
    2
See reviews for
94
151
26
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geraldton, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

great hotel if you are going on a cruise as it is in easy walking distance of the overseas cruise terminal and a very nice place to be able to have a stroll about the night before the cruise.
The Hotel café serves up a great meal and is a nice quiet place to relax and have a drink.
Plenty of cafes & bar close by

Room Tip: choose a room on upper floor less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Rodger J,

Thank you for your review of Mantra in Sydney.

Pleased to hear that you found our location convenient and enjoyed your time in our great city.

Regards,

Paul Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Finding great hotel accommodation for a family with 3 kids can be quite a challenge, but we came up trumps with Mantra on Kent. The accommodation comprised two connected apartments so the kids had their own space and so did we. The apartments were very well equipped and very comfortable. Mantra on Kent is in a great location; only a short stroll to Darling Harbour and a very pleasant walk to The Rocks and Circular Key. There is an excellent noodle bar (Menya) just around the corner if you need good food in a hurry.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Tim K,

Thank you for your review on Mantra on Kent. We agree, finding great family accommodation can be challenging and it was pleasing to hear you found our two bedroom apartments fulfilled your needs and had room for everyone!

Our location in the heart of the CBD is indeed central to all that Sydney has to offer.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Being only about 5 mins walk from Town Hall station & Darling Harbour the Mantra is very convenient to most transport .
The room , 1 bedroom deluxe , was comfortable & having a washer & dryer was useful for our 4 night stay . Tea ,coffee , & bathroom products supplied & replaced when nescessary .
There were a couple of minor problems in the shower area which when brought to the attention of staff were rectified .
Overall good experience for our Sydney stay .

Room Tip: Asked for higher floor & got good view of Darling Harbour .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear David W,

Thank you for your recent review of Mantra on Kent. It was great to read you found our rooms comfortable and well appointed for your needs.

Our location in the heart of the CBD and close to all that Darling Harbour and Sydney has to offer is very convenient and it was pleasing to hear you took advantage of this.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Seaman
General Manager
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I have just had a 10 day stay. Great location. Staff on reception deserve top marks. They always greeted us with a smile when we returned fom outings. On the negative we found banging of doors from rooms either side of us very annoying (all hours), cooking smells, Two bedside lamps, but, only one could be plugged in.. If we return to Sydney we would choose to return to Mantra on Kent

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Elizabeth B,

We appreciate you taking the time to pass on your feedback from your stay at Manta on Kent recently. It was fantastic to read you found our team welcoming and engaging throughout your stay with us.

Thanks for identifying the non-functioning bedside lamp - we will be sure to have our maintenance team attend to this.

Once again thanks for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Paul Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorn, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in a deluxe one bedroom. At only $165 it was a real bargain. We had a view of Darling Harbour which was a bonus.The room was very clean, with the bed and pillows probably some of the most comfortable I've ever experienced. The room had the normal facilities provided in a serviced apartment and everything worked well. Tea, coffee etc and bathroom products provided and replaced when used. Dishwashing liquid and washing powder also provided which was great.
TV was a great size but did not get any digital channels. I asked at reception and was told that it was because of their contract (?). We only had ABC, SBS, 7, 9 and 10. There were also 6 Foxtel channels but they only consisted of 3 sports, 1 news, 1 Disney channel and Fox 8 with reruns of Simpsons, Futurama etc. Hardly worth the establishment paying for them. Also the screen ratio was wrong which meant that it was stretched, cutting off the edge and making everything distorted.
Anyway, apart from that small, but annoying criticism, I'd stay again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Travelled61

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback from your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to hear you found our rooms comfortable and well appointed for your needs. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our houskeeping team for a job well done throughout your stay.

The hotel is currently reviewing its line-up of digital free to air channels with the view to upgrading this service this year.

Once again, thanks for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Paul Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great location.
I had a deluxe room nice view and all you needed in room.
Excellent food with room service. Bed was nice and comfy
And front of house staff always helpful and friendly.
Will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear 30Teresa,

Thanks for taking the time to pass on your feedback from your stay at Mantra on Kent.

Fantastic to hear you found the team friendly and our room service offering excellent, I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Paul Seaman
General Manager
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney’s CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, Star City Casino and the Sydney Convention and Entertainment Centres, The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine.The hotel’s in-house restaurant, Cascade Restaurant & Bar, is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel, guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary 4 star hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Kent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.