We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central for everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Kent to your Saves list
Mantra on Kent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #37 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nowra
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Central for everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our room was surprisingly ready when we arrived at about 1030am and was very clean but looked like it was ready for a refurb, a bit shabby round the edges. The staff were friendly and the breakfasts we had were excellent value with properly cooked bacon not the undercooked stuff that is the norm in so many hotels and all of it was hot too. The reason I've given it only 4 stars is because of the fact it looked ready for the refurb but for what we paid for two nights it was great value for money. Very central for everywhere too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Richard G,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments from your recent visit to the hotel. It was pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay and we were able to accommodate your early arrival.

It was also great to hear your feedback on our breakfast product and service - I will ensure this is passed on to our team in the restaurant.

Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Paul Seaman
General Manager
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    233
    56
    16
    4
See reviews for
103
168
31
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Valley NSW
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A one bedroom, top floor apartment was my treat this time. Clean, quiet, comfortable ... and for Sydney on a 3 night stay - good value too. The staff were efficient, friendly and good. Close to most Sydney downtown stuff, close to Town Hall station as well as Star City, the Maritime Museum and a host of other attractions. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear WestyTweedValley,

Many thanks for your review and positive comments about your experience at Mantra on Kent. It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed the comfortable rooms and location.

We look forwrad to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Sally
Sally Phipps
Relief Manager
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed for about a week in this property, on the 7th floor. Flying into Sydney from the Northamerican East coast I arrived after about 32 hours of travel. The check-in agent didn't care one way or another and advised me of their 2pm check-in time. So I wandered about town like a zombie for half a day. Had I arrived a day later, other check-in agents would have permitted me an early check-in. The internet charges are the standard rip-off that you'd expect and are, in their own right, a good reason not to book this place. There's free internet in the lobby, but it's dispensed in 15 min voucher type timeframes. Goes without saying my 'helpful' check-in agent didn't bother advising me of this option.

Because these are serviced apartments, you can - as I did - end up with folks cooking their own food. I ended up having to smell pretty much every night whatever it was my neighbour decided to cook. He or she then dumped plastic bags with left-over's into the hall, ensuring so that the whole floor stank terribly.

The cable TV selection is worse than basic.

On the plus side: great location, spacious rooms (as others' mentioned, including laundry facilities in the room!), the lil restaurant in the lobby makes some great espresso based coffees.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear udo_schuklenk,

We thank you for your review and sharing your experience at Mantra on Kent. We were glad to see that you enjoyed our room facilities and espresso's from Cascades Restaurant. However, we do apologise in regards to the service provided on check in. This is certainly not our usual standard of service and we are ensuring that this does not occur again in the future.

Kind regards
Sally

Sally Phipps
Relief Manager
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I spent 10 days in Sydney. The Mantra was my second hotel. I had a deluxe one bedroom apartment that I booked through a travel agent. I was pleasantly surprised about the accommodations, I did not expect a washer and dryer including soap and a room that could be closed off from the living area with a view of Darling Harbor. I did not eat in the restaurant as I found less expensive places within blocks of the hotel. They give you 30 minutes on a computer in the lobby for free per day. My only complaint is that I had difficulty regulating the room temperature. The location is wonderful - with a public transport pass, we could get to everything, although as I became more familiar with the city, I walked most everywhere. Shop around for rates.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have washers, dryers, cooktop and ovens in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear lee510,

Thank you for your review and feedback of your experience at Mantra on Kent. We are glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the internet faclities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Sally Phipps
Relief Manager
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewantin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed 5 nights and we were very happy with everything. Asked for high floor with view and got both, 27th floor. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a 1 bedroom apartment which had been recently renovated and had everything we needed. Very clean and comfortable. Rooms serviced daily. Close to Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Sydney Entertainment Centre and the city, perfect location. Would recommend to everyone, excellent, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Ruth C,

We thank you for your review and positive comments in regards to your apartment, our location and service team. Your feedback is certainly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great customer service! We were on our first holiday with our 7 month old son, I was worried about everything! They helped with absolutely everything and helped us out with directions special requests and were so friendly about it! Loved that its so close to everything and the train station is only a 5 minute walk. Would definitely recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Teresa Vilches,

Many thanks for your feedback and review of your experience at Mantra on Kent. We certainly appreciate your comments about the location of the hotel, along with the service provided by our team.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Sally Phipps
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for a girls week-end great location 5min walk to darling harbor,we stayed on floor 9 the room was clean the bathroom could do with a make over not good lighting or beach space.The staff went out there way help nothing was to much would stay there again great for girls weekend away

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Kate M,

Myself and the team thank you for your review in regards to your recent girls weekend away, along with your positive comments about our team.

We look forward to welcoming you again for the next girls weekend.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney's CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium and Star City Casino. The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine. The hotel's in-house restaurant, Cascade Restaurant & Bar, is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel, guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Kent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.