We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, shame about the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Kent

Save Saved
You added Mantra on Kent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice room, shame about the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Spent 1 night here in a studio apartment. The room was very comfortable and spacious with good cooking facilities, view towards Darling Harbour. Nice and quiet. Good bathroom including washing machine and dryer if I had needed them.

Room service let it down. Restaurant is not open in the evening so I ordered room service dinner. A 30 minute wait became 1 hour before it arrived. When it arrived the food was so overcooked it was completely dried up and some of it was burnt. My colleague had a similar experience the same evening.

Breakfast buffet was standard fare, but the hot food had clearly been sitting there for a couple of hours with little left, all looking rather tired.

Staff generally helpful and obliging.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Many thanks for your review and positive comments in regards to your apartment and the service our team provided, they are certainly appreciated.

We do however, apologise for the food and beverage experience you received. We realise these areas of service are crucial to our operation and we are working hard to improve this area.

We do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sally Phipps
Relief Hotel Manager
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    190
    38
    12
    3
See reviews for
89
143
26
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My family and I arrived in Sydney earlier than planned but were able to leave our bags with the helpful reception staff. The apartment had been made up exactly to our requirements and was very clean, roomy and well equipped. Our rooms on the 10th floor had cracking views across Darling Harbour and despite being so central was very quiet at night. The location couldnt be more central if it tried, just minutes from Darling Harbour and all its waterside restaurants and attractions, and a few blocks away from the main shopping district. The Rocks district is ten minutes walk away at the end of the street.
We did a lot of travel by rail and Town Hall station is 5 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We thank you for your positive review and kind words about your experience at Mantra on Kent. It is very pleasing to hear that the hotel was perfect for your requirements and we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Sally Phipps
Relief Hotel Manager
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here in May after a South Pacific cruise. We arrived early and the front desk staff were more than happy to store our bags until our room was ready at 2pm. They were friendly and helpful. The room (1715) was perfect for our stay - spacious, comfortable, modern and quiet. The hotel is in a great location about 5 minutes walk to Town Hall Station and the QV Building and is well priced. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Many thanks for your positive comments in regards to your experience at Mantra on Kent, your feedback is certainly appreciated. We were pleased to read that the location was suitable for your requirements and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Relief Hotel Manager
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bathurst
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just read the review Unimpressed and agree with some of their maintenance issues also the managers comment on if you stay four night you would have a bigger wardrobe, well we stayed SEVEN nights and had a broom cupboard for our wardrobe, and yeas I agree this Mantra is very tired

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We thank you for your review and certainly appreciate your feedback. The location of the hotel is certainly a benefit for us and convenient for so many people. Our apologies in regards to the size of the wardrobe in your apartment. As stated previously, we do endeavour to provide rooms with larger wardrobes to guests who stay longer, in order to appeal to those needs, however, in this case, we were not able to achieve this due to room availability. In regards to the hotel maintenance, this is an area that we certainly take seriously and strive to be proactive as possible. We do realise that there are some areas that we are not able to proactive in, so any feedback in this area is greatly appreciated.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Relief Hotel Manager
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As we arrived eary morning from an early international flight, the staff was super nice and accomodated us with a room that was ready so that we could take a shower. The staff was also very helpful for indicating us good spots for restaurants and on-going events in Sydney. The room was clean and quite large. 5min walks to Darling Harbour and maybe 10-15min from the Rocks.
The only down point was the internet that was not free...but that's a problem for most hotels in Sydney. We would recommand this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We thank you for your review of Mantra on Kent, along with your recommendation, it is pleasing to hear of your experience. Apologies however for the internet costs, I can assure you that this area is in constant review with our supplier to ensure we can offer the best deal we can to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Relief Hotel Manager
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I've been to Australia a couple of times, every time using the hotels the travel agent recommended. This time, being a single parent with two daughters, I decided to find my own hotel. The reason being all the hotels recommended called for two rooms instead of one. My daughters are 12 and 8 so staying in one room was the only option. Not to mention being very near to the kiddie attractions, and majority are at Darling Harbor. So after hours and hours on tripadvisor/booking.com and even google maps I found Mantra on Kent.

Location? Five minute walk to Darling Harbor's Madame Tussaud's/Sydney Aquarium/Sydney Zoo. Ten minute walk to the Maritime museum.
Amenities? One main bed (for the kids) and one sofa bed (for me).
Nearby convenience stores for supplies like water, milk and junk food? Two 24/7 stores both also 5 minutes walk.
Nearby restaurants? One is a mere 30 second walk, the rest are about 10 minutes away, either at Darling Harbor or QVB area.
Amenities? Aside from a quaint restaurant at the second floor, the rooms have their own washer and dryer, sink and even plates/tableware. Not to mention the usual fridge and TV.

How about friendliness of staff? Very accommodating, very helpful in every way from helping you use their free computer to giving you directions to the staff at reception personally going to your room to bring extra pillows you requested.
Value for money? There are cheaper and more expensive places. This, in my opinion, is the perfect balance of affordability without sacrificing quality.

Any regrets? Well free wifi in the room would have been great. They have but it's at a fee. And the one free computer at the lobby is rather slow, and we're talking speeds like it's a dial up from the 90's.

Other than that, my only other regret is that I didn't stay here sooner.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view to Darling Harbor. At least you can see the amount of people, what the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Many thanks for your review and positive comments about your expierience - it is greatly appreciated. I can assure you that I will be passing on your comments to our team and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Relief Hotel Manager
Manrta on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for a week and can highly recommend the hotel. Rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed and the staff were friendly and helpful. The Mantra on Kent is just behind Darling Harbour where there's a really good choice of restaurants and bars. It's an easy walk along to the Bridge or into the Park or City Centre and the main bus terminus is only a couple of streets away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear SamMo7,
Thank for your review.
It sounds like you had a great week in Sydney and im glad that the team were able to play a part in that. Our location and size of apartments is a key feature of the hotel and guests find it easy to get around the CBD from our location.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney’s CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, Star City Casino and the Sydney Convention and Entertainment Centres, The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine.The hotel’s in-house restaurant, Cascade Restaurant & Bar, is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel, guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary 4 star hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Kent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.