We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right all good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Kent to your Saves list
Mantra on Kent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #28 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just right all good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Mantra on Kent for 3 nights and to enjoy what Sydney has to offer .We had requested a harbour veiw room and that is what we got an ok view of darling harbour from the 25th floor between other buildings but that is what you expect .The room was quite good all that you need for a couple as you are out most of the time enjoying the sights of sydney .As with all Mantra places it was spotlessly clean ,if you want your room serviced every day stay at a Mantra because its always done .The staff were good ,we didn;t need them but they were always available 24/7 ..The location is 2mins to darling harbour 5mins to CBD and 10mins to the Rocks circular quayand syd.harbour ,you can walk to most tourist places .All in all an ok place to stay and very quiet.a good nights sleep.The buffet breakfast was very good .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Cherryle,
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.
As with so many other reviews, our central location really is a standout for travelling around the city, but its great to see that you found the room spotlessly clean and that the buffet breakfast was a winner.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    203
    43
    14
    2
See reviews for
91
149
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at the Mantra on Kent with a family of 4 adults in a two bedroom apartment over the Australia Day long weekend. It was great. The two bedrooms were adjoining hotel rooms, each having their own bathroom and kitchen facilities. It was very spacious, very private and very quiet. The hotel rooms have modern furnishings and are very clean. The hotel is located in a great area - easy walking distance to both Darling Harbour and Circular Quay. We got nice views of Darling Harbour and all the activities that were happening over that long weekend. Great hotel, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Kadda79,
Thanks a million for your positive review.
Our 2 bedroom apartments are ideal as they offer 2 bathrooms, along with the option of closing off the doors for privacy.
I hope you had a great Australia Day weekend, you would have been able to see the Darling Harbour fireworks from your apartment window.
We hope to see you next Australia Day, or even sooner.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We loved this unit. spacious, clean and comfortable. Good to have a kitchenette. Great location, so easy to get to most places in the CBD. Just a short walk to Darling Harbour or the QVB. Loved our room, which had a view of Darling Harbour. Short distance to Town Hall train station, so we were able to catch the train from the airport. Reception staff were helpful and eager to please. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room was on 23rd floor and there was no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear jonclo,
Thank you for such a positive review.
It looks as though you really enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy to hear the feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Sydney.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle NSW
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I were given two nights accommodation here by our children, along with tickets to the Bryan Adams concert, which was held at the Entertainment Centre. We were very happy with the location of the hotel, and were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We chose to have breakfast in the hotel restaurant one of the mornings, and found it to be lovely! Our one bedroom delux apartment was spacious and had everything we could want. My only negative about this experience was the cleanliness. The bathroom was a little moldy and overall not up to scratch. I would definately stay here again, however! We had a beautiful view of Darling Harbour!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Maxypug,
Thanks for the recent review.
Its great to see so many positive breakfast reviews of late as we have been really trying to have some wow factor with our offerings and its great to see some more happy customers.
I hope you had a great night out at Bryan Adams and hope you will chose to book with us again when the next big night out comes around.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The 18$ breakfast buffet is well worth it, good selection of food. Big bonus is availability of Bond street Mantra for gym facility there, which are reasonable with great city views. Lovely studio apartment but our clothes dryer didn't work and no compensation offered for inconvenience. We specifically wanted a hotel where we could wash some clothes. Nice and quiet road so good nights sleep in city centre.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Bamboozla,
Thank you for your recent review.
Our $18 discounted breakfast has been a big hit and we have added plenty to it to keep it interesting each day, thanks for the comment.
Bond St is only a short stroll away and they are happy to allow access to their facilities to Kent St guests.
I do aplogize in regards to the clothes dryer not working. Had we been informed at the time, my team would have been happy to have the clothes dried in another apartment until maintenance could have looked at the drier.
Thanks again for the review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Super location, close to lots of amenities, clean, spacious lounge,adequate bathroom, but the bedroom, although separate, was a bit small. Bonus was washing machine and drier in the apartment, breakfast offer was also a big plus and was of a good standard. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Andrew V,
Thank you for your review of Mantra on Kent.
Its pleasing to see that you found the hotel clean and comfortable and that the breakfast was an added bonus. We have been doing a lot to wow guests at breakfast so I will be sure to pass on the feedback to the chef.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A great choice of hotel with fantastic facilities and in a superb location. The reception staff were all so helpful and pleasant and on leaving they even accompanied us out to the taxi and waved us off. Room service was an added bonus to self catering and when ordered it arrived hot and very quickly. Public transport links were very easy to get around the city and to Bondi ,etc. Reception booked us a tour to the Blue Mountains . This was great and very well organised. We stayed in the hotel for eight nights and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear DCH52,
Its great to see you had an enjoyable 8 nights with us and we thank you for your positive review.
Having an apartment over 8 days sure does have its benefits over a normal hotel room and the team are always there to help with directions, tours etc.
Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to Mantra on kent in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney’s CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, Star City Casino and the Sydney Convention and Entertainment Centres, The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine.The hotel’s in-house restaurant, Cascade Restaurant & Bar, is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel, guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary 4 star hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Kent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.