We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for cute boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Kent to your Saves list
Mantra on Kent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #30 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great location for cute boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Located walking distance from Darling Harbor as well as shopping along George St and Chinatown, this hotel is centrally located for tourists on foot. The room decor and lobby has a boutique hotel feel. Room was very spacious and had a full kitchen. Triangle-shaped tub has enough space for a two-person bubble bath. Wi-Fi available for charge.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear CheChoul,
We really appreciate your recent feedback and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and time in Sydney.
Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    213
    52
    14
    2
See reviews for
97
154
27
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

One bedroom deluxe apartment, lovely view. Clean, spacious and everything we needed in a holiday apartment. Great location with easy, easy access to Darling Harbour. Convenient to buses, shopping and supermarkets for supplies. Lovely clean, comfy pillows and beds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear TinTintheTraveller,
Thank you kindly for the great review.
Our proximity to Darling Harbour and the CBD is a major bonus for guests and I'm pleased to see that you found the apartment clean and spacious.
All beds have been replaced due to our refurbishment in July, pillows included.
We hope to see you again at mantra on Kent in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were on a road trip with an infant and had so much stuff. Staff couldn't have been more helpful with unloading and loading the car! It made a huge difference to our stay and is noteworthy as a competitor's hotel in Melbourne was the exact opposite. The room was great value and had a laundry in the bathroom. Another fantastic thing when on a roadtrip with a child :) Fabulous location and excellent price!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear adventurechiq,

Thank you for your recent review.

Its great to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team helpful and the apartment suited your needs.
The space of an apartment and a laundry in each room is always a plus when travelling with children.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra on kent soon.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I could not believe how close we were to EVERYTHING! This hotel was perfect! Not only was the street we were on very quiet, but we could walk to all of the bars/clubs/restaurants/shops/harbor/transportation in less than 5 minutes. We had a 1 bedroom apartment on the 25th floor and it was amazing! It came with a huge jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, a washer/dryer, and a full kitchen. The bed was very comfortable and the views from every window in the room were gorgeous!

The only issue I have is the Wifi is not free, but if you go to the Westfield mall in the Queen Victoria building (maybe a 3 minute walk) you can get free Wifi access.

I loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Christine C,
Many thanks for the great review.
Its great to get such positive feedback and I will be sure to share it with the tea.
Our location is one of our best features and you can walk to all parts of the city from the property.
Unfortunately we do need to charge for wifi but hope to change this in the future.
Thank you again and we hope to see you back at kent St in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spent 5 days in a one bedroom deluxe on the 9th floor.
We had a small balcony and the apartment had everything you needed. A real bonus was the room was serviced every day, which in most apartments you don’t get service at all. The A/C was freezing which was great as one day it was 43.
Their cafe had a breakfast buffet special which was great value for $15, (great mushrooms). The location is 5 minutes maybe less to the Town Hall train station, which from the airport took about 20 minutes, it cost $16, but just so convenient.
They Pyrmont footbridge over Darling Harbour empties into Kent Street and takes 1 minute to walk to it. Myers is about 3 minutes walk.
In summary: the best location, very neat and tidy, room service was really good, reception would do anything to help you, breakfast was excellent, overall great value for money.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't forget the location is in the CBD so you are surrounded by offices and high rises. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Andrewww,
Thank you for the positive review, we really appreciate the feedback and I will be sure to share it with the team.
It sounds as if you had a great holiday and we hope you chose Mantra on Kent for your next holiday in Sydney.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for a week and loved it. Very well located, lots to walk to and very close to train stations, buses and monorail. Beautifully renovated hotel, very comfortable and attractive. Kitchen is well appointed and having a washer and dryer in the bathroom was great. The room was spotless and nicely serviced every day. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Simon S,

Thank you for your recent review.
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel comfortable and attractive.
I will be sharing your feedback with the team as we really appreciate you taking the time to review the property.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights just after New Year with my boyfriend.

From the time I booked I was expecting average and on arrival that's exactly what it was. The rooms are very basic but also large. You have a large living/dining room, a well equipped kitchen, large bathroom with bath and a small laundry with washing machine and dryer.
Some of the most basic things are missing. The towel rails had fallen off the wall and had not been replaced. The air conditioner was broken so it rattled all night, and the shower curtain was mouldy.....not much attention to detail is taken.

One thing I dislike when traveling is hearing my neighbors tv and their conversations. Mantra unfortunately had this problem.

If you are in Sydney for a week or more and you are not too fussy then I think this would be a good option with washing facilities and a kitchen. Location is also very good.
I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear pinkpeonie,
Thank you for your recent post. We appreciate the feedback as this allows us to address any issues and ensure that we are foucusing on our apartments at all times.
Please accept my apologies for the maintenance issues in your apartment. I have addressed these with maintenance and they have since been rectified.
I was surprised to hear that you could hear the neighbours conversations as we often get comments on how quiet and peaceful the apartments are.
I am pleased that you found the apartment spacious and well equipped.
Please feel free to contact me directly for your next trip to Sydney and I will personally look after your booking.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney's CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium and Star City Casino. The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine.The hotel's in-house restaurant, Cascade Restaurant & Bar, is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel, guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary 4 star hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Kent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.