We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Lovely Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Kent to your Saves list
Mantra on Kent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #30 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location - Lovely Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spent 5 days in a one bedroom deluxe on the 9th floor.
We had a small balcony and the apartment had everything you needed. A real bonus was the room was serviced every day, which in most apartments you don’t get service at all. The A/C was freezing which was great as one day it was 43.
Their cafe had a breakfast buffet special which was great value for $15, (great mushrooms). The location is 5 minutes maybe less to the Town Hall train station, which from the airport took about 20 minutes, it cost $16, but just so convenient.
They Pyrmont footbridge over Darling Harbour empties into Kent Street and takes 1 minute to walk to it. Myers is about 3 minutes walk.
In summary: the best location, very neat and tidy, room service was really good, reception would do anything to help you, breakfast was excellent, overall great value for money.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't forget the location is in the CBD so you are surrounded by offices and high rises. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Andrewww,
Thank you for the positive review, we really appreciate the feedback and I will be sure to share it with the team.
It sounds as if you had a great holiday and we hope you chose Mantra on Kent for your next holiday in Sydney.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    209
    46
    14
    2
See reviews for
94
151
26
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for a week and loved it. Very well located, lots to walk to and very close to train stations, buses and monorail. Beautifully renovated hotel, very comfortable and attractive. Kitchen is well appointed and having a washer and dryer in the bathroom was great. The room was spotless and nicely serviced every day. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Simon S,

Thank you for your recent review.
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel comfortable and attractive.
I will be sharing your feedback with the team as we really appreciate you taking the time to review the property.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights just after New Year with my boyfriend.

From the time I booked I was expecting average and on arrival that's exactly what it was. The rooms are very basic but also large. You have a large living/dining room, a well equipped kitchen, large bathroom with bath and a small laundry with washing machine and dryer.
Some of the most basic things are missing. The towel rails had fallen off the wall and had not been replaced. The air conditioner was broken so it rattled all night, and the shower curtain was mouldy.....not much attention to detail is taken.

One thing I dislike when traveling is hearing my neighbors tv and their conversations. Mantra unfortunately had this problem.

If you are in Sydney for a week or more and you are not too fussy then I think this would be a good option with washing facilities and a kitchen. Location is also very good.
I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear pinkpeonie,
Thank you for your recent post. We appreciate the feedback as this allows us to address any issues and ensure that we are foucusing on our apartments at all times.
Please accept my apologies for the maintenance issues in your apartment. I have addressed these with maintenance and they have since been rectified.
I was surprised to hear that you could hear the neighbours conversations as we often get comments on how quiet and peaceful the apartments are.
I am pleased that you found the apartment spacious and well equipped.
Please feel free to contact me directly for your next trip to Sydney and I will personally look after your booking.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

If a bed, is a bed, is a bed and you are there for a one night stay then this hotel is good value - not great, not excellent, but good. Rooms are clean and tidy, somewhat nicely outfitted with mod cons but overall the layout is awkward – once again good for an overnighter. I unfortunately spent a full week there and by I had, had enough. The room service menu is as boring as hell. A trip to the dining room provides no improvement on fare or service. As for breakfast, it’s more or less the same every morning Ad nauseam, and I might add, it was the first time in my life that I’m able to give McDonalds a higher rating for a morning serve. Fortunately there is an array of good places within in striking distance. Treat this as your bedroom on-suite with a slightly longer walk to any conveniences and you’ll have nothing to complain about. (Thank God for location.)

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same so go with the flow
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Hamilton H,
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.
I take on your feedback on the breakfast offerings and have spoken to the breakfast chefs. I often visit the restaurant in the mornings and there are quite a few items on rotation to ensure that it is not the same offerings each day.
A large number of our bookings are for 2 weeks to 3 months and most guests find the accommodation very comfortable and spacious for extended stays due to the oversized apartments and full kitchens and laundries.
I am happy to see that you found the apartment clean and tidy during your week stay.
Thank you again for your feedback. It allows us to constantly improve our product.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Ki nd regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our apartment was on 15th floor in room 1504/1505 and overlooked Darling Harbour (there was a building between us). George streeet was 2 blocks away, and QVB Shopping centre was practically next door. Excellent location and walked almost everywhere. The 2 bedroomed apartment had an adjoining door between us and the children, and was ideal as they had their own lounge area, bathroom and kitchen. Our room had a kingsize bed behind sliding glass doors to corner it off from the rest of the apartment. It was cleaned every day and seemed newly decorated in silver grey and lime green. The sofa was very comfortable, television huge with lots of channels, the kitchen area well designed and fitted with everything you could possibly need. The cleaning staff were friendly, smiley and helpful. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends

Room Tip: High rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Dee F,
Many thanks for the recent positive review.
Its great to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our 2 bedroom apartments suitable for your family. The benefits of a dual key 2 bedroom apartment is that it still gives you the privacy of 2 seperate apartments but easily serves as a 2 bedroom when required.
The hotel has been newly refurbished with all rooms receiving new carpet, paint, TV, bed and furniture package so its pleasing to see that you enjoyed the work put in.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was just a one night stay as we had a function on at Darling Harbour. The hotel was easy to find, although parking is expensive as it is in most inner city hotels. The location was so close to Darling Harbour and the room was very modern, big and clean. We had a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival which was nice and good views. Great value for money and plenty of places to eat dinner/breakfast nearby. Definately would stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Booked on the Mantra website when they had a special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We found the Mantra on Kent to be the perfect location, only a short distance to the Queen Victoria Building and shopping on one side and Darling Harbour and Cockle Bay restaurants on the other side. Also not far from Town Hall station which was handy for getting around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney’s CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, Star City Casino and the Sydney Convention and Entertainment Centres, The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine.The hotel’s in-house restaurant, Cascade Restaurant & Bar, is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel, guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary 4 star hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Kent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.