We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Kent

Save Saved
You added Mantra on Kent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
7 Day Sale
Ranked #23 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great apartment hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for a week and loved it. Very well located, lots to walk to and very close to train stations, buses and monorail. Beautifully renovated hotel, very comfortable and attractive. Kitchen is well appointed and having a washer and dryer in the bathroom was great. The room was spotless and nicely serviced every day. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Simon S,

Thank you for your recent review.
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel comfortable and attractive.
I will be sharing your feedback with the team as we really appreciate you taking the time to review the property.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    181
    35
    12
    3
See reviews for
87
137
25
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights just after New Year with my boyfriend.

From the time I booked I was expecting average and on arrival that's exactly what it was. The rooms are very basic but also large. You have a large living/dining room, a well equipped kitchen, large bathroom with bath and a small laundry with washing machine and dryer.
Some of the most basic things are missing. The towel rails had fallen off the wall and had not been replaced. The air conditioner was broken so it rattled all night, and the shower curtain was mouldy.....not much attention to detail is taken.

One thing I dislike when traveling is hearing my neighbors tv and their conversations. Mantra unfortunately had this problem.

If you are in Sydney for a week or more and you are not too fussy then I think this would be a good option with washing facilities and a kitchen. Location is also very good.
I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear pinkpeonie,
Thank you for your recent post. We appreciate the feedback as this allows us to address any issues and ensure that we are foucusing on our apartments at all times.
Please accept my apologies for the maintenance issues in your apartment. I have addressed these with maintenance and they have since been rectified.
I was surprised to hear that you could hear the neighbours conversations as we often get comments on how quiet and peaceful the apartments are.
I am pleased that you found the apartment spacious and well equipped.
Please feel free to contact me directly for your next trip to Sydney and I will personally look after your booking.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

If a bed, is a bed, is a bed and you are there for a one night stay then this hotel is good value - not great, not excellent, but good. Rooms are clean and tidy, somewhat nicely outfitted with mod cons but overall the layout is awkward – once again good for an overnighter. I unfortunately spent a full week there and by I had, had enough. The room service menu is as boring as hell. A trip to the dining room provides no improvement on fare or service. As for breakfast, it’s more or less the same every morning Ad nauseam, and I might add, it was the first time in my life that I’m able to give McDonalds a higher rating for a morning serve. Fortunately there is an array of good places within in striking distance. Treat this as your bedroom on-suite with a slightly longer walk to any conveniences and you’ll have nothing to complain about. (Thank God for location.)

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same so go with the flow
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Hamilton H,
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.
I take on your feedback on the breakfast offerings and have spoken to the breakfast chefs. I often visit the restaurant in the mornings and there are quite a few items on rotation to ensure that it is not the same offerings each day.
A large number of our bookings are for 2 weeks to 3 months and most guests find the accommodation very comfortable and spacious for extended stays due to the oversized apartments and full kitchens and laundries.
I am happy to see that you found the apartment clean and tidy during your week stay.
Thank you again for your feedback. It allows us to constantly improve our product.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Ki nd regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our apartment was on 15th floor in room 1504/1505 and overlooked Darling Harbour (there was a building between us). George streeet was 2 blocks away, and QVB Shopping centre was practically next door. Excellent location and walked almost everywhere. The 2 bedroomed apartment had an adjoining door between us and the children, and was ideal as they had their own lounge area, bathroom and kitchen. Our room had a kingsize bed behind sliding glass doors to corner it off from the rest of the apartment. It was cleaned every day and seemed newly decorated in silver grey and lime green. The sofa was very comfortable, television huge with lots of channels, the kitchen area well designed and fitted with everything you could possibly need. The cleaning staff were friendly, smiley and helpful. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends

Room Tip: High rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Dee F,
Many thanks for the recent positive review.
Its great to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our 2 bedroom apartments suitable for your family. The benefits of a dual key 2 bedroom apartment is that it still gives you the privacy of 2 seperate apartments but easily serves as a 2 bedroom when required.
The hotel has been newly refurbished with all rooms receiving new carpet, paint, TV, bed and furniture package so its pleasing to see that you enjoyed the work put in.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was just a one night stay as we had a function on at Darling Harbour. The hotel was easy to find, although parking is expensive as it is in most inner city hotels. The location was so close to Darling Harbour and the room was very modern, big and clean. We had a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival which was nice and good views. Great value for money and plenty of places to eat dinner/breakfast nearby. Definately would stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Booked on the Mantra website when they had a special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We found the Mantra on Kent to be the perfect location, only a short distance to the Queen Victoria Building and shopping on one side and Darling Harbour and Cockle Bay restaurants on the other side. Also not far from Town Hall station which was handy for getting around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Don't expect help or understanding from the desk staff. If your child accidentally hits the remote and orders a days worth of movies you'll still pay for it. 25$! Sheets for the foldout couch. That'll be another 45$ a night. Hint: buy sheets from Woolies up the street for 20$. And if you want a late checkout that'll be another 20$ an hour. So, while this is a nice enough hotel they will nickel and dime you for everything. I suppose that's how they keep their advertised rates so low. Bait and switch.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Pool, Restauran...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
Free internet...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quiet, Free int...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
City Center, Qu...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#63 of 182 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney’s CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, Star City Casino and the Sydney Convention and Entertainment Centres, The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine.The hotel’s in-house restaurant, Cascade Restaurant & Bar, is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel, guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary 4 star hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Kent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.