We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Sydney visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Kent

Save Saved
You added Mantra on Kent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Sydney visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We found the Mantra on Kent to be the perfect location, only a short distance to the Queen Victoria Building and shopping on one side and Darling Harbour and Cockle Bay restaurants on the other side. Also not far from Town Hall station which was handy for getting around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    193
    39
    12
    3
See reviews for
89
146
26
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Don't expect help or understanding from the desk staff. If your child accidentally hits the remote and orders a days worth of movies you'll still pay for it. 25$! Sheets for the foldout couch. That'll be another 45$ a night. Hint: buy sheets from Woolies up the street for 20$. And if you want a late checkout that'll be another 20$ an hour. So, while this is a nice enough hotel they will nickel and dime you for everything. I suppose that's how they keep their advertised rates so low. Bait and switch.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I was in a 2bedrooms apartment on level 17. Rooms are nice and clean. Great time to catch up with old friends. Quick and friendly staff on checked in by Jin and Daniel (hotel manager) /helpful staff on checked out by Freddy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great place to stay, we had two x two-room apartments newly refurbished rooms 1904 & 1905. Both had good views of Darling Harbour. The rooms had everything we needed and were relatively quite. There was a little noise from the revelers in Darling Harbor on one of the nights but not a problem.
You couldn't beat the location, very close to the train station, and as we used public transport for the four days it was so convenient.
We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food.
Front desk were helpful and polite and we left our luggage there for the day after checking out before our 6pm flight.
The only issue we had was our friends in 2004 had a bed base that was so squeaky they couldn't sleep on it. Hopefully they've replaced it now.
All apartments were very clean, it's nice to stay somewhere where you can actually walk on the carpet in bare feet and not feel yucky.
Definitely would recommend it and will stay there again next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The positives was the location, rooms were good size, staff were really friendly, check in super fast. The negatives rooms was the servicing of the room was average (didnt clean the dishes), the neighbours both nights were noisy - one with kids screaming the other with a person coming home late - unfortunately either the walls were thin or they were especially noisy - and lastly no bath tub.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbank, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

found the staff very helpful and attentive and the cleaners always made sure everything was clean for us when we returned from our expo. however I do need to be a bit nit picky in regards to the service upon arrival they where notified that we would like early check in and they said that was ok but when we arrived at 12 we where told the room was not ready and to come back in an hour so we did that and housekeeping had not finished the room so we had to.continue to wait. wasn't a horrible experience to say that it was a little disappointing. also the WiFi was a little bit of a let down as it was quiet expensive where as at most places it is free. overall however the room was spacious and clean no real problems would happily stay there again...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Mantra on Kent from 14th to 18th December.

The room was was clean and was nicely furnished.

The staff provided excellent customer service and went out of their way to make my stay a comfortable one.

The location of the hotel was fantastic, right in the heart of Sydney CBD, not far from popular night spots and attractions.

I would highly recommend Mantra on Kent to others!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney’s CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, Star City Casino and the Sydney Convention and Entertainment Centres, The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine.The hotel’s in-house restaurant, Cascade Restaurant & Bar, is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel, guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary 4 star hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Kent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.