We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Kent

Save Saved
You added Mantra on Kent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loved our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed 11 days and felt like home. The staff was great and very helpful. the room was nicely appointed and very clean. the small kitchenette helped us save money on dining out. and the washer/dryer was great. I will stay here again if i ever get back to Sydney.

Room Tip: we were on the 24th floor, corner unit. it had a bit of a view, Beds were screened off so it felt mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    188
    35
    12
    3
See reviews for
87
142
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My first room, a studio, had with no desk, no table to work (or eat) and no space. Whilst it had a pleasant appearance it was completely useless for a business traveller. I'm not sure why you want to cook anything when there is no room to eat it!

They upgraded me to a one-bed deluxe apartment which was actually one slightly bigger room with a couple of sliding doors to delineate the bed area but at least it came with a small square table and four chairs.

The staff were pleasant and helpful and the property was well located but I will probably look elsewhere next time - or at least make sure the room has a working area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The moment we entered our room its was like...WOW! The room was very nice and welcoming and felt like an instant getaway. The staff were very friendly and very accommodating. Ever since that weekend away, we have gone on to stay at the Mantra on little Bourke in Melbourne and also Mantra Legends in Surfers Paradise. The Mantra hotels all across Australia are most definitely recommendable, because they will go the extra mile to make you feel special and welcome. The Mantra hotel is always reliable, and sure to make your holiday stay a memory you will speak highly of.

Room Tip: You can never go room with a deluxe studio. They are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The friendliest staff I have encountered for some time are the first impression when arriving at the hotel. The rooms have recently been refurbished and are very comfortable.

Great place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wow! what a great central place to stay in Sydney. It was so easy to catch a train from the airport to Townhall station then walk to the Mantra. Close to St Andrews House and Australian Red Cross along with the Queen Vic building where one can walk through the underground shopping arcades into central Sydney and Myers and Pitt Street. The oven and hot plates, washing machine and dryer along with the wonderful view of the church out my window made this self contained accommodation a wonderful choice. Attention to detail and friendly service was refreshing. this comment comes from an owner of two four and a half star boutique accommodation self contained cottages in Albury. Well done Mantra staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife chose the Mantra on Kent after extensive research. We wanted a comfortable base with two bedrooms from which we could explore Sydney on foot - the Mantra proved to be the perfect choice for this. The apartment style accommodation with kitchenette and laundry facilities were an added bonus.

We could easily explore Darling Harbour, the main shopping areas, Chinatown, The Rocks and Circular Key are all within easy reach. The view from the hotel is a mixture of Darling Harbour, office buildings and apartment blocks. We followed the Tripadvisor advice and asked for a high floor (27th - the top floor) and we were pleased we did.

The staff were helpful, attentive and the rooms were serviced efficiently every day. The price at USD 500 per day was high but probably fair for the quality of the accommodation and the location of The Mantra. Also we found most things in Sydney to be expensive because of the high AUD exchange rate.

We did not eat in the hotel's restaurant. For breakfast we tried Plato's and Bona Fides cafes - both within two minutes walk and both served a great breakfast. For dinner there are plenty of dining choices around Darling Harbour.

We would stay at the Mantra on Kent again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Overlooking Darling Harbour from the twentieth floor, the accommodation is exquisite. The folks at the front desk are some of the loveliest people in town. Great place to rest up after a three month cruise!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney’s CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, Star City Casino and the Sydney Convention and Entertainment Centres, The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine.The hotel’s in-house restaurant, Cascade Restaurant & Bar, is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel, guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary 4 star hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Kent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.