We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and great room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Kent

Save Saved
You added Mantra on Kent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service and great room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The friendliest staff I have encountered for some time are the first impression when arriving at the hotel. The rooms have recently been refurbished and are very comfortable.

Great place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    190
    38
    12
    3
See reviews for
89
145
26
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albury
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wow! what a great central place to stay in Sydney. It was so easy to catch a train from the airport to Townhall station then walk to the Mantra. Close to St Andrews House and Australian Red Cross along with the Queen Vic building where one can walk through the underground shopping arcades into central Sydney and Myers and Pitt Street. The oven and hot plates, washing machine and dryer along with the wonderful view of the church out my window made this self contained accommodation a wonderful choice. Attention to detail and friendly service was refreshing. this comment comes from an owner of two four and a half star boutique accommodation self contained cottages in Albury. Well done Mantra staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife chose the Mantra on Kent after extensive research. We wanted a comfortable base with two bedrooms from which we could explore Sydney on foot - the Mantra proved to be the perfect choice for this. The apartment style accommodation with kitchenette and laundry facilities were an added bonus.

We could easily explore Darling Harbour, the main shopping areas, Chinatown, The Rocks and Circular Key are all within easy reach. The view from the hotel is a mixture of Darling Harbour, office buildings and apartment blocks. We followed the Tripadvisor advice and asked for a high floor (27th - the top floor) and we were pleased we did.

The staff were helpful, attentive and the rooms were serviced efficiently every day. The price at USD 500 per day was high but probably fair for the quality of the accommodation and the location of The Mantra. Also we found most things in Sydney to be expensive because of the high AUD exchange rate.

We did not eat in the hotel's restaurant. For breakfast we tried Plato's and Bona Fides cafes - both within two minutes walk and both served a great breakfast. For dinner there are plenty of dining choices around Darling Harbour.

We would stay at the Mantra on Kent again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Overlooking Darling Harbour from the twentieth floor, the accommodation is exquisite. The folks at the front desk are some of the loveliest people in town. Great place to rest up after a three month cruise!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at Mantra On Kent in September. I booked this hotel due to its closeness to Darling Harbour & it proved to be ideally placed. Its literally only around the corner from the pedestrian overpass which takes you into the heart of Darling Harbor. We arrived early & the staff were very helpful in booking us in and storing our luggage whilst we went of to explore Sydney. We stayed in an executive room and found it fantastic, very modern, clean & well appointed. The room had a kitchen for those contemplating a longer stay & a Wilson’s car park right next door making parking very accessible. I would stay at this property again & strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Mantra on Kent for two nights in a deluxe apartment. Got an amazing deal on wotif - $150 a night for a deluxe apartment, free bottle of wine and 1pm checkout. For Sydney, we were pretty stoked to have nabbed that deal! We were given a great modern room on the 21st floor with a view of darling harbour. Semi blocked by a hotel, who cares, we weren't expecting a view at all so it was pretty amazing! The apartment had a washing machine, dryer, oven, microwave, all the essentials! Super comfy bed and massive shower with awesome water pressure. The location was perfect. A five minute walk to darling harbour and five minute walk to the QVB and woolies. Only one very minor negative, the apartment didn't have any windows or a balcony so there was no fresh air. Although I would say this is quite common for the city. Would stay here again though in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Recently stayed at Mantra on Kent. I stay exclusively at Mantra properties all over Australia. The outstanding feature here, was the friendliness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they seemed to take a genuine interest in what we were doing and where we had been. Well done !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney’s CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, Star City Casino and the Sydney Convention and Entertainment Centres, The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine.The hotel’s in-house restaurant, Cascade Restaurant & Bar, is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel, guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary 4 star hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Kent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.