We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Big Hostel to your Saves list
Big Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   212 Elizabeth St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Place and Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend as we toured around Sydney. I have never stayed in a hostel, so I was a little scared to be doing so, However, the location of this hostel was out of this world. The cleanliness of it was also so remarkable. I was very impressed! Everyone was so nice! You have GOT to have the gelatto on the Harbour! It was so great!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    113
    46
    11
    3
See reviews for
24
66
65
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Yet to actually stay overnight, but this place has a great vibe, premium location on the edge of Chinatown, and near Darlinghurst/Oxford Street. $85.00 per single room - not cheap by SE Asian standards, but trust me that's cheap for Sydney. I will be using for occasional convenient stays, late nights/early mornings close to work, rather than chewing up hours travelling home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Clean rooms, friendly staff, free wifi, breakfast included.
The only things not going for this hostel are the slow elevator (take the stairs instead) and paper thin mattresses, woke with a severe case of spring in back!
Everything else was great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellenshouse, Manager at Big Hostel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
we have nearly finished replacing all mattresses in the hostel, in mid June EVERY mattress will be a brand new commercial quality mattress for a comfortable nights sleep.. thankyou for the feedback :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed in an air conditioned en-suite twin bunk room with my mum during our travels around Australia, we were here for 3 nights and were happy with the facilities/accommodation, There was free wifi - however very difficult to access during peak times & you had to be in communal area, breakfast was included - a continental variety, however availability of mugs was an issue. The hostel was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly & helpful. We did experience a couple of issues - the lifts were out of action twice, which is not fun with a 20kg suitcase, and the window was broken therefore wouldn't shut properly. The hostel is ideally situated 5 minutes bus journey from the Circular Quay. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The best thing about this hostel is the location, very central. It's close to almost eveything. Many cheap and good restaurants nearby. I stayed in a 4-person ensuite dorm. AC, Small lockers (bring your own padlock), free wifi, free breakfast, the price is ok for the location (Sydney is expensive) and it's reasonably clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in a 4 people mix dorm for 5 nights, and it seems no one will clean the floor of the dorm, the only thing they do is take out the rubbish in the rubbish bin. So, we felt our dorm is never being clean.
AC was always not working, and the window design in this hostel is bad, you can't open it, so the room was quite stuffy every night when 4 people all back to the dorm. Kitchen is not clean, can saw cockroaches. Share bathroom was pretty clean. Wi-Fi only available for 1st floor guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellenshouse, Manager at Big Hostel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi, i just wanted to respond to this - unfortunately nearly all hotels and hostels do not have opening windows due to legislation not permitting this for safety- (built after 1998)
we are a hostel and not a hotel so housekeeping inside rooms on a 5 night stay is minimal($34 per person rates with free breaKfast and wifi) will not bring the same services as a hotel unfortunately.
Wifi is FREE in communal areas ONLY (usually $4 per hour in hotels and hostels) it is designed to only work on our ground floor.
we are an air-conditioned building.we take note of your concerns and will address any issues we can, thankyou for your feedback.

regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindau, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in the 4bed ensuite dorm, $34/night, yep, Sydney isn't cheap. The room was quite small, the bunk beds were made of metal and had seen better days, made squeaking sound even when somebody just walked past them without actually touching it. The mattresses were covered in plastic, anti-bedbugs but very annoying to sleep on. There were lockers but not too sturdy, forcing a little you could open them.
The wifi worked only at times (impossible to connect between 7 and 11pm), 1 free computer always occupied.
The bathroom was clean and the location is great, free breakfast is also very good, staff quite nice. Overall it is not a bad value considering it is right next to the Central station, but it is nothing special either

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Hostel

Address: 212 Elizabeth St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
boutique hostel in a great location.clean,budget and open age friendlywifi is only FREE in our communal areasplease remember we are a hostel and not a hotel- no turndown services or beds made daily sorry.happy to assist with job hunting, apartment hunting,tours and all information needed for exploring Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Big Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.