We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip to Sydney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo to your Saves list
Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Danks Street | Waterloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Coolum Beach, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Weekend trip to Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was the second time we had stayed in the apartments in Dank Street, and once again we would say we were very happy with the apartment, very modern and sparkling clean - this time we did hire a car and was pleased that the car parking facility was fine for a large car, sometimes we have found parking very tight, this was perfect. Great location , handy to have the supermarket and cafes around the corner, and the buses running in the city every 20 minutes or so - would definitely recommend these apartments to anyone visiting Sydney - even though our bedroom was on the main road, we didn't hear the traffic at all.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter - we didn't get a view, but that's okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSADanksStWaterloo, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you for your 5 star review! It’s fantastic to know that you found our apartments to be exceptional. Our housekeeping team works hard to make sure that rooms are spotless when you check in, and I’ll be sure to pass your kind words on to them. We are lucky to have so many shops and restaurants surrounding the apartments, and I’m glad to hear that you found everything convenient.

Thank you again for your review; it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Meriton!

Kind Regards,

Birender C
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    200
    41
    8
    16
See reviews for
173
123
40
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This wasn't our first stay with Meriton Waterloo. It is an ideal location and is good value for money. an initial problem we encountered when booking in was overcome extremely quickly and without fuss. another good stay as a consequence.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSADanksStWaterloo, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Ian,

Thank you for your 5 star review, we’re flattered to hear that you have chosen us as your regular family accommodation! We receive a lot of positive feedback about our location- it’s great to be in a peaceful area of Sydney that’s only a few bus stops away from the city. I’m glad to hear that our team was able to solve that initial problem, and I apologise for the mishap!

Ian, thank you again for your wonderful review, and we hope to see you at Meriton Waterloo again soon!

Kind Regards,

Birender C
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

These rooms are in fact small apartments with daily maid service. They range from 1BR to 2BR and have cooking facilities. The 1BR we had looked over a busy street and had an in-tub shower. Two negatives. Overall, however, the rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Beware the Friday and Saturday night drunks, however. They roam the area and compete with the busy street to see who can make more noise. I'm not sure who won!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSADanksStWaterloo, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear allidoistravel,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Waterloo, we are grateful for your feedback. Our apartments come fully equipped with kitchen, study and laundry facilities, as well as the convenience of regular cleaning, to make sure our guests have all that they need no matter the length of their stay. I’m sorry to hear that noisy residents disrupted you on the weekend, as our No-Party Policy strictly prohibits such behaviour and our reception and security team is always on call to resolve any complaints. I hope that should you stay with us in the future we can provide a quieter environment for you and your family.

Thank you again for your review, we greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Birender C
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just wanted to say that I think this is an excellent establishment. When I wasn't happy with my first apartment, I was moved to another. But even more importantly they have great staff including one of the reception staff Elvis who literally ran to a local supermarket to purchase painkillers for my daughter. Then he wouldn't accept any payment. Also, t Aquatic Centre and Gym which is just down the road is excellent and membership is free for Meriton guests. Catherine

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSADanksStWaterloo, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Catherine,

Thank you for this amazing review, we are so glad to hear that you had an excellent stay! Our reception team try to accommodate all requests to the best of their ability, and I'm pleased to hear that we were able to found a room well suited for your needs. I’ll pass your comments on to Elvis, I am sure that he will really appreciate your kind feedback! We’re lucky to have such a well equipped aquatic centre for guest use; especially with the Sydney Summer ahead of us.

Catherine, thanks again for your 5 star review, we would love to welcome your family back to Meriton Danks St soon!

Kind Regards,

Birender C
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Meriton Waterloo. We arrived at 9am after 20 hours of flying overseas. I had prewarned the staff that this was the case and we had no problem getting into an apartment immediately.
The location was perfect as it was easy to catch a bus or train to the CBD. We even walked it a couple of times. Coles grocery and plenty of wine stores were close by, as well as great little coffee shops.
The 1 bedroom was a good size for two people but might have been difficult for a family of 4. Everything we needed was there. We really appreciated the ensuite laundry facilities.
Only downside was that we had this great expansive balcony on the top floor but couldn't use it because of the traffic noise from the highway below. the noise was continuous 24 hours a day but as we were on the top floor it did not keep us awake at night. That might not be the case for lower floors.
would definitely stay there again if I'm fortunate enough to visit Sydney again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSADanksStWaterloo, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear mj_needs_to_travel

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for providing a detailed review of our property.

Please take note that we do have other options to accommodate larger groups of families such as our 2 or 3 Bedroom Parkview Apartments and they are generously sized!

We do hope to welcome you back soon and we hope to hear from you again.

Kind Regards,
Eric T
Acting Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Meriton Danks Street recently for 3 nights while in Sydney visiting friends. The hotel is in a great location. Opposite Allianz Stadium and the Sydney Cricket Ground. Its about 10mins drive to the airport and the same to the city. A really great location. The rooms at the hotel and lovely and clean and very spacious. We had a one bedroom and it was huge. Very functional kitchen, nice clean bathrooms and even an office. The staff were friendly and helpful which was great. The only downside is they charge for parking which is pretty extortionate. I am not a big fan of hotels that charge so much to park your car!

There is a Coles within 200m of the hotel which is handy and a pool across the road that you can use. Note that the pool is not within the hotel which I thought but across the road. Its a public aquatic centre.

All in all, we would definitely stay at the Meriton Danks Street again. Was overall a really pleasing stay! Thanks Meriton :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSADanksStWaterloo, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Vanessa,

Thank you for taking the time in detailing our Serviced Apartments. We are very lucky to be in close proximity with a number of points of interest, yet not too far from the CBD.

Please note that the Aquatic Centre & Gym is not for the general public, but it is shared among Meriton Serviced Apartment Guests and Residents of Meriton owned and operated apartment buildings. The combined facility allow us to offer a greater range and quantity of equipment in our gym and also several pools for guest use.

Vanessa thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments soon.

Kind Regards,

Eric T
Acting Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Apartments were handy to other facilities and very well maintained. The service was excellent and pricing represented good value. On site car parking was also an advantage as parking in the area is difficult to obtain at times.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSADanksStWaterloo, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Vincent B,

Welcome to TripAdvisor!

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences here on TripAdvisor. We look forward in welcoming you back here soon.

Kind Regards,

Eric T
Acting Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo

Address: 30 Danks Street | Waterloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#30 Business Hotel in Sydney
#40 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising of 184 fully self-contained furnished apartments with studio, one, two and three bedroom configurations, nicely nestled amongst the residential precinct know as Crown Square. The property is just minutes from the trendy Danks Street cafes, restaurants, markets and the popular Hillsong Church. Only a 10-minute taxi ride from Sydney international and domestic airports the location of Meriton Serviced Apartments – Danks Street, Waterloo is ideal for both short stopovers and longer stays. Within the Waterloo complex is a resort style swimming pool, spa and gym as well as gardens and grass areas for basking in the sun and enjoying the Sydney weather. Plus a full sized Coles Supermarket and numerous specialty stores including Subway and many take-away food options all for your convenience. Positioned minutes from the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), Sydney Football Stadium, The Entertainment Quarter (Hoyts and IMAX), Royal Randwick Racecourse and Moore Park Golf Course the location is unmatched by any other accommodation provider in the area. Also a short distance from the wide-open spaces of Centennial Park which offers everything from cycling to horse riding, roller blading, tennis, golf and cricket. Centennial Park is also ideal for picnics with many areas set aside with barbeques for family gatherings. Designed for both business and leisure travellers these fully self-contained oversized apartments (most split-level) will have you feeling right at home. All apartments have fully equipped kitchen, separate laundry, which includes clothes washer, dryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Meriton, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo Hotel Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.