We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo

Save Saved
You added Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Danks Street | Waterloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi*
Ranked #14 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at the Meriton on Saturday 30th March (long weekend) and it was a pleasant stay. I liked the studio apartment (it was only a "studio" because the bedroom has a large rectangular hole in the wall that opens into the living area. It was a quiet apartment, until I opened the balcony door and was then surprised at the amount of road noise that I was totally unaware of previously. With the door closed the noisiest part of the studio apartment was the hum of the bar fridge. I was also on the 11th floor, that may have helped, and I did have a nice view.

Given the long weekend I had an extra tight budget due to not receiving my wage on time. I didn't have enough for the $100 security deposit and the reception staff were nice enough to let me pay $80 instead. Since I booked via my mobile phone, this $100 charge was not made clear to me on their mobile booking system, causing me to be even more frugal.

I found the kitchen layout a bit weird - the cutlery is in a draw at ground level, and some other kitchen implements were so high I had to drag the heavy dining table chair across the tiles to reach them - I am 176cm tall.

The place had a high level of cleanliness, despite some wall scuffs, fine dust on the bedside tables, dust on power points behind furniture, the corrosion/calcium deposit on the corner of the shower screen, and some dark portions of the white tile grout. All minor things, but it's the little things that count ;) As someone else reported, the towels do smell slightly like bleach. I also found them a tad rough, but not enough to hinder my enjoyment at Meriton (I'm not a princess after all).

Check out was quick and easy, with pleasant staff.

I didn't use any other facilities at the Meriton, so I cannot comment on them.

Based on the above, I would stay here again, but if you do not want to drive around, the nearest train station (Green Square) is 1.5km away.

Room Tip: As others - The higher up the better the view and the further away you are from the road noise. It d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Michael P,

Thank you for taking the time to write your first review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us at Waterloo. Such detailed, informative reviews and tinged with humor certainly help add to the broad array of opinions found throughout this site.

We are always pleased to read that our guests will return to visit us again and just as importantly being provided with quality feedback to help enable us to concentrate on “the little things” as it the finer touches that make the biggest difference.

Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and welcome to the TripAdvisor community.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    171
    36
    7
    16
See reviews for
147
98
33
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at the Waterloo appartments as part of a business trip, the room has plenty of space, clean, a bit tired and worn but nothing to complain about. The apartments are within a short walk to Coles and Aldi, perfect for groceries and there are a few restaurants also within a short walk. Staff are very friendly, I had an issue with the washing machine/dryer and it was late at night, I was helped by the security guard and the maintenance guys, they were terrific. I have stayed at the Zetland apartments and found them horrible, there is no comparison between Zetland and Waterloo, if you are looking for good value Waterloo is it, there is still street noise but no where near as bad as Zetland. Taxi's are still a bit of a problem if you need to go a short distance but unfortunately that is Sydney, they do have the worse taxi drivers in the world.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from South Dowling Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Traveller_Chelly10,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Meriton Waterloo.

We certainly pride ourselves on providing a premium product at a great price to make certain our guests receive excellent value for their hard earned dollars.

Thank you also for your kind words about our team. Each department works hard to ensure that all facets of your stay are enjoyable and it pleases me that as a Senior Contributor this was your impression. Unfortunately we have no control over the “infamous” taxi service that Sydney is notorious for.

The staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to Waterloo on your next business trip.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

At the end of a 3 week vacation along the south east coast of Australia, Sydney was the last stop.
The Meriton serviced apartments was an excellent choice, Two wonderful bedrooms with own bathroom. A fantastic kitchen with all you need for a short stay even up to 6 guests. All was clean and well maintained. Parking and Internet (Wifi) was available and free of charge. Bus stop in the direct vicinity of the apartments with a direct line to the city centre. Coles super market next to the apartment, with extended opening hours

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear AriedeBruyne,

We are excited to read that you found Meriton Waterloo to be an “excellent choice” for your last stop on a 3 week South East Australian holiday.

Meriton Apartments do pride ourselves on providing everything you need in convenient locations and it seems that this was your impression.

Thank you for taking the time to not only write but also post a photo of your recent visit for all to see and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future on your next Australian expedition.


Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

comfortable, new and fully equipped apartment. Nice area and nice service! At a walking distance you'll find a shopping center, you basically live meters away from surry hills, one of the best neighbourhoods in sydney, full of restaurants, pubs, shops... you are close to moore park, just across the street, and redfern station. There are busses close to the apartment that bring you anywhere you don't feel like walking to. Nice!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear lalinadp,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

I am always pleased to read reviews highlighting how conveniently we are located to vibrant areas around Sydney as well as having shopping and transport options on our doorstep.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

These apartments are great value for money. Our apartment was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating, especially Justin on the front desk. We had a problem with one of our TVs and it was fixed very promptly. We will certainly stay again. The location is a bit out of the central city but there is a super market and cafes nearby. We were a bit surprised that the pool and gym are in another building a block away but overall for the price this is not a complaint

Room Tip: We paid extra for the view of Moore Park but won't do so next time as the traffic noise was loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Carol J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Meriton Waterloo.

I am grateful for your mention of our hardworking staff and that in particular Justin was able to leave such a positive impression. Out team are always trying to go the extra mile and being able to see their name online shows that their efforts are truly appreciated.

Once again thank you for your kind words and the team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,


AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Meriton Apartments Danks Street for five nights. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Initially we wanted to book at Zetland but the staff advised us that we might be better off staying at Danks street due to work being done at Zetland, and what was even better they gave us Danks street for the same rate as Zetland. We stayed in a 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom apartment. Plenty of room. Full kitchen, with oven, gas stove top, microwave, full size fridge and dishwasher. Check in was easy, as was check out.
We used the train from the airport and walked from Green Square station to the hotel (about half an hour walk). Train cost about $30 for two adults and three kids. When we travelled into Sydney we used the bus which is about a five minute walk from the apartment. Buses run about every 20min and take about 30 - 40 mins to reach Circular Quay. We purchased a five day ticket that we could use on the ferries, buses and some trains for about $120 for all of us.
There is a Coles supermarket near by and a couple of pizza places, subway and a take away chicken and chip shop / cafe.
The apartments are also serviced daily, however we didn't need this service.
Airconditioning wall units are in the main living area and each bedroom. We were away from the road and I didn't notice any traffic noise in the bedrooms at night.
The only one disadvantage to these apartments is that the pool was not in the same building as us.
If we visit Sydney again these apartments will be our first choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Maggott,

Thank you for sharing such an in depth insight into your most recent trip to Sydney as well as your stay with us.

This is the type of feedback that is helping TripAdvisor to become the leading source of independent traveler information. I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that “everything went to plan”.

I am overjoyed to read that Meriton Waterloo will be your first choice of accommodation and the team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We only had 2 nights here, but the aprtment was very roomy for the money we paid. Regular buses run into town from just up the street (about 20 minutes).Sydney is pretty pricey, but we were delighted with the price. Unfortunately we didn't get to eat locally (jet lag kicked in).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear NeilLanning,

It is always a pleasure to read a review from a TripAdvisor Senior Contributor.

As a seasoned traveler I am please to know you found our apartments to be “great” and “roomy” and to represent good value. We can’t wait for you to return to Waterloo so that you can spend more time exploring our surroundings.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo

Address: 30 Danks Street | Waterloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#30 Business Hotel in Sydney
#40 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising of 184 fully self-contained furnished apartments with studio, one, two and three bedroom configurations, nicely nestled amongst the residential precinct know as Crown Square. The property is just minutes from the trendy Danks Street cafes, restaurants, markets and the popular Hillsong Church. Only a 10-minute taxi ride from Sydney international and domestic airports the location of Meriton Serviced Apartments – Danks Street, Waterloo is ideal for both short stopovers and longer stays. Within the Waterloo complex is a resort style swimming pool, spa and gym as well as gardens and grass areas for basking in the sun and enjoying the Sydney weather. Plus a full sized Coles Supermarket and numerous specialty stores including Subway and many take-away food options all for your convenience. Positioned minutes from the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), Sydney Football Stadium, The Entertainment Quarter (Hoyts and IMAX), Royal Randwick Racecourse and Moore Park Golf Course the location is unmatched by any other accommodation provider in the area. Also a short distance from the wide-open spaces of Centennial Park which offers everything from cycling to horse riding, roller blading, tennis, golf and cricket. Centennial Park is also ideal for picnics with many areas set aside with barbeques for family gatherings. Designed for both business and leisure travellers these fully self-contained oversized apartments (most split-level) will have you feeling right at home. All apartments have fully equipped kitchen, separate laundry, which includes clothes washer, dryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Meriton, Tingo, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo Hotel Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;