We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartments but very noisy area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo

Save Saved
You added Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Danks Street | Waterloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi*
Ranked #18 of 183 hotels in Sydney
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice apartments but very noisy area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The apartment we stayed in was very nice with good quality furnishings, lots of space and a well appointed kitchen. Unfortunately there is a lot of external noise from foot and vehicular traffic and the apartments are not double-glazed so all the noise comes straight in. On a Saturday night we were woken up numerous times by revving cars and drunk noisy people walking past. Sunday night was better but still noisy. If you have a car you will need to pay the $20 a night to use the garage as parking in the local area is impossible.

Room Tip: If your room is not suitable, ask at reception for a different room as there are several that are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    156
    31
    7
    16
See reviews for
128
86
27
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed here with our two adult children. Spacious two bedroom apartment , modern facilities and enormous kitchen. Split level which meant we all had plenty of space. Yes you are right on the freeway but windows are double glazed and its not a problem. Great location for the city. We were able to walk to the SCG for the AFL. There is a shopping complex with some restaurants half a block away and you also have use of shared facilities like a gym. Easy to catch buses or taxis into town. Front desk staff not all that friendly and corridors can be noisy but generally we felt it was good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed here recently for a night with a group of 8 friends. We booked 2 x 2 bedroom apartments. Having 2 bathrooms in each apartment is really handy when a bunch of ladies are rooming together! The apartments are well equipped in the kitchen area and spacious. Full size fridge, stove, dishwashers, microwave and all the cutlery, crockery etc you could need to self cater. We stay here at least once a year to attend annual events and cannot find a better option for our needs - reasonable price, handy to restaurants, supermarket just arond the corner and quiet. Only downside I can think of is there is only one lift in the lobby and it gets very busy during check-in/checkout times.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011 via mobile

It's an ok place to stay if you don't mind drunk people all around the complex returning from their nights out. Singing, peeing and dragging themselves slowly thru the corridors. All this is quite an entertaining show I guess.
However the worst part of the hotel is absolutely incompetent staff. Rude, untrained and extremely lazy. Reception desk service is that of a backpacker hotel. I guess that's the reason it's more of a place for Chinese tourists renting 10+ people in a room or young, drunk and loud locals. Wouldn't stay here again.
Lovation is good, close to everything. However the experience with stuff in the hotel itself is a terrible one.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Have stayed at many different Meriton properties. This one is is quite like the others, it have a very Meriton feel to it - same sort of furnishings and quality of fit out. Danks St was newish, and the rooms were clean & comfortable, if a bit smaller than other Meriton's I've stayed at. Service was OK.

The location is OK, opposite Moore Park. The development containing the hotel and 1000's of other residential apartment blocks is a reclaimed industrial site. It has a weird 'cookie cutter' vibe to it, which we felt was very un-Sydney like. There are a handful of dining options, but you would be better off jumping in a cab & heading up the road to the city.

The downsides to the property were the proximity to South Dowling St. Many apartments directly overlook it. Which, if you are a heavy sleeper (as I am) will not be a problem. If not, I would imagine that sleeping would be difficult. Even though there is double glazing, the traffic noise is very noticeable. The other thing I didn't like was that the Gym and Pool are in a separate shared facility, about a five minute walk away. The pool was quite nice. The gym was run down with much of the equipment either broken or in dis-repair, but this seems pretty standard for hotel gyms these days.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum, QLD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Originally from Sydney, we now return every Christmas to visit family and friends and generally have a great time. We want to be comfortable, conventiently located and not pay a huge amount for what is essentially somewhere to sleep. This is it!

Our unit overlooked the SCG lights and Southern Cross Drive, it's not the place to sit on the balcony and let the world go by, although we had a really large balcony. You can, however, walk five mins to the other end of Danks Street and be spoilt for choice for really great coffee and cafes, pizza, Thai and a few others. My hubby and I started each day with a lovely stroll down there for coffee and/or breakfast while the teenagers slept in. The back streets are pretty quiet, and most of the area is well loved. Trendy Crown Street is really close and it's loaded with great places to eat.

A shiny new Coles is one minute away, there's also a bread shop, great fruit and veg and more. At the other end is a health food shop and even better fruit and veg. Combined with the fantastic kitchen, you can eat in really well and cheaply if you want to relax at home. The teenagers even hired DVDs for $3.

We had a car, which spent most of its time in the security parking ($20 a day) and caught the bus everywhere. The bus stop is an easy walk, even if you have little kids. We bought a ten ride ticket and were always in the city in 15 mins, getting off near David Jones and Hyde Park. You can also go stay on until Circular Quay or get another directly to Bondi Junction.

We didn't have anything to do with Reception except for check in and out. We bought our accomm. eleven months prior and still had no problem with getting our room.The staff we mainly saw were the cleaners, who were friendly and respectful.

Our apartment was fantastic, clean and well fitted out. The laundry was super convenient, as were the two bathrooms. We had a full size fridge, ample utensils and there was also loads of storage space - we didn't spend two weeks tripping over our suitcases.

We had a dining table for four, big lounge as well as a desk. There was plenty of room for all of us to spread out and it was always neat. We were told we'd get only get one full service but the beds were still made daily and rooms tidied.

Other reviewers have said it's noisy and that is true when the doors are open. Our bedrooms, however, had double glass and we never had a problem with noise when they were shut. We slept like logs on the really comfy, huge beds.

I doubt we will stay anywhere else after making this great discovery. It exceeded our expectations and met all our needs. One word to the fitness freaks, the gym is not in good repair and unless most items have been fixed you'll be disappointed. Better to go for a long walk instead.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

We’ve stayed here a few times and it’s one of our first choices near Sydney airport. It’s close to shops, take out and casual restaurants. The parking is cheap too compared to other Sydney hotels (only $20 per night). The two-bedroom apartments are comfortable for two couples – the living area separates the two bedrooms and each one has its own bathroom. The apartment has a full-sized kitchen. The laundry is also handy for any quick washing between trips. It also comes at a good value tariff. A few reviews have mentioned the traffic noise. These apartments are on one of Sydney’s busiest roads and there’s no way you could sleep with the windows/doors open if you were in a front room. However, we were upgraded to a two bedroom apartment and stayed in the ‘back bedroom’ which looks over the back of the hotel instead of the road. So noise wasn’t a problem for us. I noticed that the front bedroom has two sliding doors (double glazing) so I’m guessing this might cut down the noise to an OK level. All, in all, we will definitely stay here again. Also, if you’re after a great breakfast, wander down the road to Wah Wah Lounge at 1 Danks St – genuinely friendly service, lovely food and a sunny spot.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo

Address: 30 Danks Street | Waterloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#30 Business Hotel in Sydney
#40 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising of 184 fully self-contained furnished apartments with studio, one, two and three bedroom configurations, nicely nestled amongst the residential precinct know as Crown Square. The property is just minutes from the trendy Danks Street cafes, restaurants, markets and the popular Hillsong Church. Only a 10-minute taxi ride from Sydney international and domestic airports the location of Meriton Serviced Apartments – Danks Street, Waterloo is ideal for both short stopovers and longer stays. Within the Waterloo complex is a resort style swimming pool, spa and gym as well as gardens and grass areas for basking in the sun and enjoying the Sydney weather. Plus a full sized Coles Supermarket and numerous specialty stores including Subway and many take-away food options all for your convenience. Positioned minutes from the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), Sydney Football Stadium, The Entertainment Quarter (Hoyts and IMAX), Royal Randwick Racecourse and Moore Park Golf Course the location is unmatched by any other accommodation provider in the area. Also a short distance from the wide-open spaces of Centennial Park which offers everything from cycling to horse riding, roller blading, tennis, golf and cricket. Centennial Park is also ideal for picnics with many areas set aside with barbeques for family gatherings. Designed for both business and leisure travellers these fully self-contained oversized apartments (most split-level) will have you feeling right at home. All apartments have fully equipped kitchen, separate laundry, which includes clothes washer, dryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Meriton, Tingo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo Hotel Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.